Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1994 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 97 Ratings for the 1994 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Pristine Automobile

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of 1760 cars built that year."

This is one dependable vehicle.

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 480,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "You can't go wrong with MB dependability"

Cons: "lacks cupholders. (but you can always add them)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a Mercedes from when Mercedes built the cars correctly - before the japanese competition caused Mercedes to cheapen them up. These cars are solid and well built. They get great gas mileage for the weight of them - typically mid to high 20 depending on how you drive and where (Hi-way is around 30 MPG). AND they don't break. Just do regular maintenance and it will live forever. Still a good looking car after all these years. It does lack the modern gizmos - navigation system, and other newer electronic gadgetry - but how often do you really have to have those things? Lots of those are marketing gimics to "wow" a new buyer."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

A classy excellent 4-passenger convertible.

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A pleasure to drive especially in warm weather."

Cons: "No cup holder or dash glove compartment."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was a Texas car. It has been garaged in winter since taken to Wisconsin. It is in flawless original condition. Everything including heated seats, seat belt retractors, radio, CD and cassette player, A/C, cruise, wipers on head lights, cosmetic lights on sun visors, et.al. all work flawlessly. The convertible mechanism works perfectly as it folds away the top out of sight."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car Pure Luxury

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, style, luxury, features"

Cons: "electrical issues, maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car when everything is working properly. Purely luxurious ride and feels like you're riding on air. This is my 3rd Mercedes and 1 other had electrical issues like this one. Lights come on at night while parked my themselves but I think it't the light button. When it rains it runs very rough, smokes and sucks down gas like its water but that's only when it rains. Otherwise its great on the road and fast. Will probably buy another in the future."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

strong vehicle i will die before her

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"engine with the best german engineering concept very reliable but her grand sister 240d 4 cylinder will still the best for ever"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

strong vehicle i will die before her

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"engine with the best german engineering concept very reliable but her grand sister 240d 4 cylinder will still the best for ever"

Beautiful vehicle, Is actually a 1985 280CE

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Really eye pleasing vehicle, in GREAT shape"

Cons: "Its 28 years young"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"2 door 5 seater I imported from Germany. Just great shape, a/c,auto,sunroof, Blue/green ext, Black Leather int."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Runs ok needs tune-up and adjustments.

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Runs fast."

Cons: "Noise when in low speed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Fails smog test due to unstable idling, needs a master Mercedes Benz technician to fix other problems. Make an offer."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

1995 E 300 Diesel Mercedes

By on Tuesday, December 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "No Cup Holders ...... Worst non-feature."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new. FANTASTIC car! Extremely reliable. Have owned many other cars since purchasing this car, all in the luxury class level from Rolls Royce to S Class Benz and Lexus 460LS. This little fellow will stay "in the stable!""

This car is a keeper, I just love this car

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just great to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for more than 3 and a half years put in a new battery oil change I take the car to a dealer when and was told this car is in a very sound condition the car is green and just turns heads I have no complaints as I said before I love this car with only 77000 miles I have Ben to New York and back not one problem."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car is a keeper, I just love this car

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just great to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for more than 3 and a half years put in a new battery oil change I take the car to a dealer when and was told this car is in a very sound condition the car is green and just turns heads I have no complaints as I said before I love this car with only 77000 miles I have Ben to New York and back not one problem."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

These are the BEST OF THE BEST

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 425,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great travel car- quality manufacturing-"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned 3 300D's. First one was 1984- which was totaled by a gent who ran a red light- with me in it. The car saved my life as he was going so fast- he hit me in the drivers door spun me and hit and pushed me again. We then bought a 1987- with 137,000. WE STILL HAVE THAT CAR. Original engine- then I bought this auto- and still have it also. What a GREAT GREAT auto. We travel for a living and both autos take us all over the eastern coast. No other way to say it but these OLDER cars are by fair the best for exterior and interior. Service them regularly like we do and they last a life time. 1987 has about 485,000 ORIGINAL engine."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best 4 seat convertible ever.

By on Tuesday, February 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Legit 4 seat convert, v. safe, great looks & drive"

Cons: "Use console as cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Great Car

"We've owned for 12 years, great 4 seat convertible, vehicle cost per year = $2,000. Made to run 200,000 miles. Maintenance is reasonable at an independent and the 1995 and prior EClass parts and technology are everywhere. The only major repair - well known - was the head gasket, I had the head milled at the same time so it would never happen again."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great Car

Still running strong (94 Benz E320)

By on Monday, October 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very smooth, good gas miles, looks good, reliable"

Cons: "Repairs are expensive, when/if needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After one year I am back writing my 2nd review about my 1994 E320 Benz now with 47000 miles (only) yes these are original miles, I bought the car with 32k miles last year and since then drive it daily. Besides the standard/usual maintenance (oil change, Tiers, Breaks) nothing I had to do to the car and it's still running strong."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Expensive repairs, and lots of them.

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "handling, acceleration"

Cons: "expensive to repair, major repairs often needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I originally bought an E320 about a year ago in 2011 used, it was a 1994 with 111000 miles. The car was great on the test drive with the exception of it needing new tires. I needed something better on gas than what i was driving at the time and this car fit the bill. It was a great car at first (during the first 4 months) but once it needed repairs, they were very costly. 1st thing to go was the water pump ($1100), 3 months later, the belt tensioner ($830), 4 months later, it's leaking oil and power steering fluid, another $1000 repair. Also, during the time, something in the electrical system shorts out a fuse that starts the car, so I had to disconnect the moonroof to avoid that (not sure how all of that ties in, but somehow it does). Pros: It handles amazing, the accelleration is fantastic (supposed to have 200 horsepower, but feels like much more) and it's still a good looking car after 17 years. I planned on giving it to my daughter once she got her license, but she'll never be able to afford the repairs on it so I'm going to trade it in."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best Mercedes I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,044

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Mercedes I've ever owned, I would never sell it. Great gas mileage for a powerful V8, 32 miles per gal on Hwy. Can't say enough, and if you can find one buy it!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Reliabe Good MPG = Great deal

By on Sunday, February 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Roomy"

Cons: "More cupholders (I know- that's taboo in Germany)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The straight 6 is a real powerhouse yet I never did anything but change the plugs (have over 200k miles). I average approx 23mpg with 27 on the highway. Only complaint is that the seat controls are on the door, while the window controls are on the center console. Don't know what they were thinking there! But hey- I got rid of a Dodge to buy this... so I really can't complain!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is a dream car. looks,drives,handles like a dream. everywhere i go know matter where i end up weather its at the beach,super market,downtown boston, or just driven on the road someone will always give me the thums up. or if i'm stopped at a light, parked,or at the car wash will ask is it for sale and if it is how much will you sell it for. people follow me all the time just to say wow that car is the most buatifull car. please tell me what year is it. it looks brand new. wow where did you get that ummmmm car from. ect,ect,ect"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best convertible ever!

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has amazing quality of finishes and has never let me down. It drives like a true Mercedes and feels very safe. Good power and response, brakes, and handling."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A collectors car

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is a Mercedes."

Cons: "no cup holder. Don't drink and drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has had every service done since 60,000. The only thing not working is sun roof. It could be fixed but after getting a melanoma, I did not. All the parts touching the serpentine belt have been replaces as well as double distributor. THis is a mans car to drive forever. I get 20 mpg in town and 24 on the hwy using non ethanol gas. There is mechanically nothing wrong with it. I am selling to go 'green.' Probably will regret it but want to try. At 71 why not! CAR IS GOLD EXTERIOR AND TAN INTERIOR. WILL GET PHOTOS IF ASKED..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car I ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 286,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very little maintence needed great fuel economy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"never breaks just keeps running getting 30 MPG"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This thing keeps on going and going...

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great fuel milage for a V8..17.5 cty, 24-25 hwy"

Cons: "Expensive parts, but when you'll only do it once."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for quite sometime now and other than a few items like a radiator, starter, alternator and the usual maintenance items like brakes and a belt, it's perfectly fine. Runs and drives as good as the day I bought it. I have put on 100k out of the 192,000 currently on the car and it's been a pure pleasure to drive and own. How many Ford, Chevy, and Mopar owners and claim that their vehicle has almost 200k miles on the odometer and their car runs like new? Not many that's for sure. I bought the car as a salvage, Lord knows why it was salvaged, but it's never let me down and I drive it everywhere, in any weather. This is absolutely the best car I've ever owned and with proper maintenance will be the last car I ever own...period. I love it and if you find one you like...you will too. No disappointments here =)......"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This is a great car

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has snap and is very fast. It has great turning radius. You can do a u tun on a 2 lane road with room to spare. It has a smooth ride and is quite. My only problem is that I am a big guy and I would prefer a bigger seat. But most people are not 6-4 at 300lbs. Still I drive it whenever I can. There is pride in Mercedes ownership."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The ever lasting young classics

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A TRUE E-class with Economy"

Cons: "Gear change can be pretty rough sometimes!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Instead of paying so much maintaining a car, this E-class is a true economical plus practical car. I love the big interior space, big windows with nice and clear views, great mileage figure mine E220 is running on a 23mpg on combine cycle. In sum, this is a car that would last forever, and it's low cost to most people, at the same time, the timeless design of a practical car, and considered to be young classic car according to the BENZ museum."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This Benz is to last forever!!

By on Wednesday, October 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Benz, and with only 37000 original miles, it runs like new. I've had this for almost six months now and I love it every day. Everything in this car works and was built with practical use in mind. I am planning on handing this car over to my daughter one day and she is only 10 right now, but I have no doubts that this car will not last for another 20 years."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals