Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1999 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 11 Ratings for the 1998 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best vehicle I have own.

By on Tuesday, May 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car only problem I have experience was ac control. Also having big problem finding parts if any out there can help It will be greatly appreciate. Email me at above email address ."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

they don't make them like this any more

By on Friday, April 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Exudes class, confidence and style"

Cons: "Do a PPi before you buy - or risk major $$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The 1999 CL500 is the last year of the 140 chassis S class coupe. It still out classes any CL or S class since then. Since my PPI when I bought it almost nothing has gone wrong, save a window switch and a trunk handle. Very good for 30,000 hard miles north of 100,000. It is built better than anything today. Find a good one for less than $12k, put another 10k into it and you have a $110,000 car for 22k that will last forever. You do the math. Nothing comes close for the price this side of a Maybach, which incidentally was based on the W140 chassis, as it is the W240."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nothing like it

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Immense engineering, appreciated by few."

Cons: "They don't make them any more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"There is no other car made before or since that combines the following qualities as well as the 1997 - 99 CL 500: silence, comfort, weight, speed and attention to detail. They simply do not make cars like this any more. Everything is dumbed down. Maybe the Maybach, but not everyone wants 4 doors and you can get a good CL for under 10k, often less - and a Maybach will cost you your house! Reliability means you need to know what you are doing with MB S / CL class. Not therefore for the first time MB S class buyer, unless you do your research. But if you do, you can get one for peanuts - I did, way less than you imagine. And there is nothing like it on the road, a silent, pillarless coupe, with incredible durability and immense safety."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Mercedes at its best

By on Wednesday, October 27, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car bulletproof if well maintained. Still a headturner and has a lot of grunt for an "old lady". Can still bight the tail of most sports cars. Belongs to the over engineering era at Mercedes when money constraint did not exist! Built to last forever."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Incredible!

By on Wednesday, December 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car about two years ago for $12,000 (about 1/12 of the price when new). It had just under 100,000 miles on it. This car is just amazing! It rides very smoothly and handles very well. Watch the heads turn as you cruise by-- it's still one of the most stylish vehicles ever made. Slightly bigger than other cars I've owned (it's heavy!), but the performance is second-to-none. You can find them for under $10,000 now, and they are WORTH EVERY PENNY! Jump on one if you can find a deal-- you will not regret it! Blowing out the carbon on a long, flat, secluded road is truly exhilarating!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Huge Coope

By on Wednesday, August 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love this car! It handles great and has a huge trunk. I have taken it up to 135 MHP a few times, and it hold the road like a champ. Great Car!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, December 19, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Awsome

By on Friday, March 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Solid luxury ride and super coup performance and handling. Classic, "Old Mercedes" quality & styling. A real bargin on the pre-owned market."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, September 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car i've ever owned

By on Sunday, September 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car I've ever owned. Got it used four years ago with 50K miles, now has 125,000. Runs flawlessly. Thougt about selling until I drove one of the newer CL 600's and didn't like it as much as mine. Amazing power and it gets great freeway milage 22 to 25 mpg. City milage is much lower, around 15mpg. This car sold for $145,000 in 1999 and you can pick them up now for mid $20's. That's less than a new Ford Mustang."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Last of the Handmades

By on Thursday, September 06, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"A great vehicle. Comfort, style, handling, and durable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz CL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals