Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1999 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 11 Ratings for the 1998 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Nothing like it

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Immense engineering, appreciated by few."

Cons: "They don't make them any more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"There is no other car made before or since that combines the following qualities as well as the 1997 - 99 CL 500: silence, comfort, weight, speed and attention to detail. They simply do not make cars like this any more. Everything is dumbed down. Maybe the Maybach, but not everyone wants 4 doors and you can get a good CL for under 10k, often less - and a Maybach will cost you your house! Reliability means you need to know what you are doing with MB S / CL class. Not therefore for the first time MB S class buyer, unless you do your research. But if you do, you can get one for peanuts - I did, way less than you imagine. And there is nothing like it on the road, a silent, pillarless coupe, with incredible durability and immense safety."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awsome

By on Friday, March 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Solid luxury ride and super coup performance and handling. Classic, "Old Mercedes" quality & styling. A real bargin on the pre-owned market."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car i've ever owned

By on Sunday, September 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car I've ever owned. Got it used four years ago with 50K miles, now has 125,000. Runs flawlessly. Thougt about selling until I drove one of the newer CL 600's and didn't like it as much as mine. Amazing power and it gets great freeway milage 22 to 25 mpg. City milage is much lower, around 15mpg. This car sold for $145,000 in 1999 and you can pick them up now for mid $20's. That's less than a new Ford Mustang."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

they don't make them like this any more

By on Friday, April 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Exudes class, confidence and style"

Cons: "Do a PPi before you buy - or risk major $$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The 1999 CL500 is the last year of the 140 chassis S class coupe. It still out classes any CL or S class since then. Since my PPI when I bought it almost nothing has gone wrong, save a window switch and a trunk handle. Very good for 30,000 hard miles north of 100,000. It is built better than anything today. Find a good one for less than $12k, put another 10k into it and you have a $110,000 car for 22k that will last forever. You do the math. Nothing comes close for the price this side of a Maybach, which incidentally was based on the W140 chassis, as it is the W240."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, September 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz CL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals