Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 813 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next

This is the 3rd Mercedes that I have owned.

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, very nice looking"

Cons: "costly upkeep, 95.00 for wiper blades !!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"3rd Mercedes that I have owned. While the car has had a few issues, the ESP module was replaced 2 times at a cost of 700.00 each, the car has been very reliable for me. My husband does not care for the car as he likes speed and better handling. Also the car does have a chick look to it as well. I really love the car as it is small enough to get around town very comfortably but if I were to buy another Mercedes it would be the E Class. I currently have owned in the past a 1991 SL 500 and another C class 280."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: new car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "bad sun roof(motor)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved it!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable vehicle, enjoyable to drive

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car from a lease return. It has been very reliable, minimal maintenance and fun to drive. I only wish I had bought a larger car - probably an E class."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I really like this car, the ride is excellent

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice to drive, very comfortable."

Cons: "the cost of maintenance of vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"this is a very nice car. I always wanted a mercedes, the look of this car turns heads it is a capri blue (dark blue) It is 2007 model without the navigation system. I take really good care of this car and service when prompted. Its really like taken care of something special, don't park near other cars because they will ding your doors all the time! ahhh! The cost of service is really much more than I had anticipated when I bought the car about a 1.5 years ago. So when I am done paying for this car in a year I will trade or sell private."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable, solid as a bank vault, reasonable mpg.

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solidity, reliability, prestige, safety."

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have owned this '02 model since '05. It has not developed one single squeak or clunk since we've had it. Everything still works just like the first day we owned it. Drives really easy and good on long trips for two. Service a little pricey, but it doesn't need much besides oil changes. I'd get in it and drive to New York tomorrow with no reservations."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent Ride

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my Mercedes. I bought it used and it's been about 8 months and I have no complaints. Fun to drive and pretty classy."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Bpoght it new in 2002

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives grest"

Cons: "has some rust."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Mercedes and it still drives great. Just got a newer one and like the 2002 better."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought it w/ 90K, won't give it up with 190K !!!

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,775

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks, overall pwr, AWD, heated seats, sound syst"

Cons: "front cup holder(s), console nooks and crannies"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2003 Mercedes C240 4-Matic in 2010 with just under 90,000 miles on it. I paid $12,000 for it, which may have been a bit high, but the dealer helped me out of a car I was upside-down on. The Mercedes is just about to hit 200,000. I will own this car forever. As has been said in other reviews, you'll spend $300 to $1000 a year to have it repaired, BUT--it you're without a car payment at all (as most 2003 owners would be, one way or another), even $1,500 a year (for this car) is peanuts! This is a fantastic car. the 4-Matic all-wheel-drive system takes me where four-wheel trucks will not go, and I have a 4-wheel truck to compare it to. I get roughly 30 mpg on the highway, and 24-25 mpg in the city. It doesn't have the snappiest 6-cyl engine on the planet, but it whispers at 100 mph, and sounds, feels and drives like a much larger car at all times. If this car died today, I'd be looking for another--with 100,000 miles on it. I'm not paid to extol the virtues of this car...I'm just a guy who loves his little Mercedes sedan."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good value, fun to drive, looks good, reliable"

Cons: "acceleration a little slow, small backseat area"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my car for 3.5 years and it has been awesome. I bought a 2005 specifically because '05 and '06 had very good Consumer Reports reliability ratings. I bring it in for its annual service at a Mercedes dealer. Depending on the year I've spent $300-$1500, but that is all I spend on my car for the entire year, so I think it's worth it to get it serviced annually at the dealer. The car handles great. The pickup isn't quite as quick as I'd like but everything else has been great. Heated seats are life savers."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good value, fun to drive, looks good, reliable"

Cons: "acceleration a little slow, small backseat area"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my car for 3.5 years and it has been awesome. I bought a 2005 specifically because '05 and '06 had very good Consumer Reports reliability ratings. I bring it in for its annual service at a Mercedes dealer. Depending on the year I've spent $300-$1500, but that is all I spend on my car for the entire year, so I think it's worth it to get it serviced annually at the dealer. The car handles great. The pickup isn't quite as quick as I'd like but everything else has been great. Heated seats are life savers."

I love this car!

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good value, fun to drive, looks good, reliable"

Cons: "acceleration a little slow, small backseat area"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my car for 3.5 years and it has been awesome. I bought a 2005 specifically because '05 and '06 had very good Consumer Reports reliability ratings. I bring it in for its annual service at a Mercedes dealer. Depending on the year I've spent $300-$1500, but that is all I spend on my car for the entire year, so I think it's worth it to get it serviced annually at the dealer. The car handles great. The pickup isn't quite as quick as I'd like but everything else has been great. Heated seats are life savers."

Picked this up used, Pleasantly Surprised

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good engineering,"

Cons: "Everyone tries to rip you off for repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Mechanically pretty solid. The value depreciates pretty quickly so you can pick up one pretty cheaply. Handles well in all weather even though it's RWD. Fuel economy is good; I get about 8 l/100km city and 7 l/100km on the highway after the engine is warm. The previous owner tried to do some repairs himself and didn't do a very good job, so I had to deal with that. But other than that, the repairs have been routine stuff: battery, tires, brake pads, belts. The only downside is garages try to gouge you for repairs because of the brand. I was quoted $2800 for replacing the springs on the front axle and about $1500 for replacing a front torquing arm. I turned down those repairs."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nice looking sporty car C230 Komsport

By on Sunday, December 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great looking vehicle."

Cons: "I have no warranty and repairs costly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned for five years. Nice car. comfortable. Needs a little work. Could use some shocks. Car has new wheels and two new tires. will cell for 7,500.00."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2003 c 320

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid safe and GREAT LOOKING"

Cons: "CUP HOLDER IN THE FRONT"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got a great deal on this c320 at Spanos in Daytona Beach fl. This is by far the best car I have ever owned. SOLID I feel like I'm driving a tank. My only complaint is the cup holder in the front. Other than that I am looking forward to getting a newer one in the next year or so with more conveniences such as nav and blue tooth. AWESOME CAR GO GET ONE BTW. the mpg is better than i thought around 23 to 28 in the city. If you live in Daytona go to Spanos tell them Paula sent you lol"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've Owned

By on Sunday, December 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Expensive maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After purchasing in 2006, I added an extended warranty through 100K miles or 12/14. Haven't had to use the warranty as nothing seems to break. A lot of comfortable highway miles. It's great to drive a car without the worry of breakdowns."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fabulous car!

By on Monday, November 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "sporty, classy and fun to drive."

Cons: "poor tire wear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Slightly underpowered but a blast to drive. Manual transmission is crisp and has the perfect throws. Consistently 30+ mpg on trips.One ouchy AC compressor replacement but other than that just tires, oil and maintenance. Sport model handles better than most high end sports cars. A wolf in sheeps clothing on the twisty roads."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sexy

By on Sunday, October 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car I bought mine used in 2007. It has held up pretty well, however my car has gotten a lot louder as it has gotten up in mileage. Overall the cars design is sexy and classy. I love the pep the car has and feel great driving it. I would definitely buy another one. Maintenance is expensive but what do you expect its a benz."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice but it cost to keep this car up

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks in and out, gas milage, other people love it"

Cons: "cost of upkeep"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I should first say that we are BMW people, really like the way they handle. We bought this car because it looks good and is comfortable to drive, We do like they car BUT, The cost to maintain this car is more than any other car I have owned. For example, a brake job is $1000 to $1200. As nice and good as this car is, I wish I had not bought this car."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love my car!!

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,799

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Very safe (built strong), sound system"

Cons: "Price to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car 2yrs ago and I love it. It's just very expensive to maintain I just spent $598.62 for a new alternator. The electrical system sucks lol. But over all this car is very safe I had an accident I was hit from behind by a Jeep Cherokee the front of his truck was a wreck and I had a small dent I was very happy that I chose Mercedes Benz"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Under "9" review is only it's not a BMW.

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Heavy and safe."

Cons: "None, if one is looking for a well kept 2002 Benz."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car, certified pre-owned, in 2004. Being really good about maintaining service for all the years and mileage since...it's been a safe, heavy and reliable car for me. I still love driving a Benz, but I just want to go back to VW. Personal choice. I owned 3 of them before I got the Benz. The VW CC has turned my head. That's my next car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Friday, August 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 241,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun car to drive!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "not cheep to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is a sports car in a soccer mom's body. Handles great with plenty of get-up and go power. I love all the extras and the sound system is the best I have ever heard in a factory install. I have owned mine for almost 3 years and I plan on keeping it for years to come."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Who designed this?

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Deluxe cruiser and bank vault safety."

Cons: "No reason for cost of ownership to be this high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Electrical systems susceptable to any loose liquid, failing unknown computers in the cabin. Drive-line getting noisy on turns (AWD clutches) inexcusable. Every trip to dealer is $875 or more. No excuse. If this was once every two years (I drive very few miles each years) it MIGHT be OK. But it isn't. Up your user sensitivity. Release data for DYI types. I don't trust dealer capabilities."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

absolutely clean and beautiful..truly

By on Friday, August 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "like new in all areas and very low miles"

Cons: "none its beautiful not a scratch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"pearl white , very light grey leather .... it has low miles drives like new and not a scratch on it... drives like a sports car or a luxury car .. your choice... was shocked when i found it and love it still but i'm looking for something for my wife thats bigger. its just beautiful."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my Benz! Best car I ever owned !

By on Friday, July 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Want a newer model"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals