Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 816 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 | Next

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Enjoy the ride

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Awesome comfort and peppy sport setting. Only drawback was the lack of leg room for my taller friends (6' and over). Trunk space is not as big as I am used to and I felt like I was gassing up the car too often."

Fantastic car

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is one of the best car I have ever driven. If you need a stylish, reliable, safe and comfortable vehicle, don't hesitate, buy this model. Another + point: the service is 1st Class, and our local dealearship is probably the best any car owner can wish for. First class service for a first class car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love It

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this car. The only drawback is the convience entry feature, when on it brings the drivers seat too low. It would be nice to be able to set it at the height you would like for entry and exit. Other than that it is a gem.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Exceded expectations

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This was my first Mercedes and my colleagues who had them talked about their good experiences. Having owned high-end Hondas, Subarus, and the like, I had pretty high expectations. However, the C-Class Coupe met them and more with great performance, economy, nice fit and finish, and comfort with a sporty. The only thing I added was AMG wheels that really set off the look of the car, but I got a lot of nice feedback from both old and young about the looks. The only disappointment I had was that the dealer talked very highly of the resale value on the Mercedes products. Unfortunately here, the C230 did not meet expectations -- by 4 years the car was only worth 33% of the original purchase price (not the 45+% promised by the dealer). All in all, this has been a great product and I plan to keep mine for a few years as it is holding up very well indeed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not all that

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I purchased this vehicle brand new (C230 K). It has been in the shop quite a few times for an assortment of issues ie. leaking trans oil, headlamp moisture, Check Engine light, etc etc. Note this vehicle is stored in the winter, with its weekly startup and to top it off it has ONLY 7,400 miles. I suppose I had higher standard expectations for MB, shame on me."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Looking & Handling

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is beautiful in the way handles and performs, at 32 mpg hwy and 26 mpg combined theirs no better ride for the money and insurance is unbelievebly inexpensive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car for the money

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car over a BMW for my wife and am glad I did. This car comes loaded with DVD NAV, Xenon lamps, 18" chrome w/Pilot Primacy low profile wheels, sunroof,hands free bluetooth to name a few. I love the gas mileage at 34 mpg on the highway. The drive is a little bumpy because of the low profile wheels, but it handles great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

beautiful, affordable, but lacks performance

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a very good looking ride that gives Mercedes luxury at an affordable price. Mine has had no troubles except the LCD dash panel that fades when the car is very hot. A great quality car. However, there is no excuse for the performance of this vehicle. It is a slug. When you drive it you think Ford Escort performance. It is terribly slow. The V6 168HP C240 is slower than the 4 cyl! If you want a great looking, luxurious, affordable sedan with the Benz name and don't care about performance, this is a solid choice. If performance is at all on your radar, you will hate the way it drives. Absolutely no acceleration (0-60 in over 9 seconds)."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Auto Ever

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my C-350 4-matic Luxury Sedan for 1 year. It is the finest auto I have ever riden in or drove. I am thrilled just to be in this beautiful performing auto. The Harman-Kardan system beats the Bose hands down. This is my second M/B my other is a C-220 with 125K miles and still going strong and looks new. The quality is exceptional on both autos."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Bahn Burner

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The C55 AMG is a phenomial car with gobs of torque and is faster than almost everything else on the road. Reliability is superb and the AMG comes with all the extra touches you except from this car such as drilled front rotors, sport seats with primo leather and suede with the AMG logo on the seat etc, quad exhaust with the AMG logo cast into the tips and high end Harmon/Kardon sound system. This car lacks nothing."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

c55 AMG

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Pro: V8 power in a c-class. Very fun to drive. Faster than 95% of other cars on the road with great handling and braking. Interior is very classy, everyone who gets in is impressed AMG seats and instrument cluster cant be beat. Cons: Optional manual transmission and limited slip differential would make this car much sportier. Poor leg room in rear for adults. Price is very high for a c-class. Also, I received unsatisfactory service from Mercedes Benz dealers. I had to take the car in for warranty service twice already because my xenon lights keep flickering. They started flickering again but I dont have the patience to take the car back."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Zippy Peppy Fun!

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car lives up to my high expectations. It is very fun to drive. The supercgarger is exhilirating. I have no regrets with this purchase. 40K and no maintenance issues. My wife is trying to confiscate the vehicle. One complaint, I do agree with one of the other reviews that the auto wipers are a very poor design."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

LOVE MY CAR!

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had the car for almost 3 years and I have enjoyed it immensely! I drive 600+ miles per week and it is very important to me to be comfortable and have a reliable vehicle. Love the dealership (Holloway-NH) and their great staff and service!"

TIRES WEAR TO FAST

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"I AM CURRENTLY LEASING A 2005 C230 KOMPRESSOR WHICH FOR THE MOST PART I AM HAPPY. HOWEVER, MY ONLY COMPLAINT WOULD BE THE MICHELEN PILOT TIRES THAT ARE FACTORY INSTALLED ON THE VEHICLE. THESE TIRES ARE DESIGNED TO LAST ONLY 20,000 MILES AND THE REPLACEMENT COST IS Approx. $250.00 A TIRE. ALSO, SINCE THE TIRES VARY IN SIZE FROM FRONT TO BACK YOU ARE UNABLE TO ROTATE THEM. ALTHOUGH, IN DO FAIRNESS THE CAR IS QUICK AND HANDLES WELL."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car !!

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought the C240 for my wife when she was expecting our youngest child and she loves it. She's logged 50,000+ miles on it a, yes maintenance is more expensive than a Honda or Japanese car but the ride, safety and comfory make up for it. IF YOU DO THE MAINTENANCE, THIS CAR WILL LAST FOREVER, OR SO IT SEEMS! It looks and drives just like the day we bought it, well except for a few kid related carpet stains..... Our MB dealer is great, make an appt, tell them you need a loaner and 15-30 mintes later you are in and out and your way. Had to replace MAS but that is common in almost all MB, BMW and higher end cars in this climate. Trading it for a E500, since the family needs a little more room now."

great car

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Original owner, took almost 4 years to work out the electrical and break bugs. However, after being replaced completely by benz under warranty - not a problem for almost 2 years. In fact, I own a new Honda Civic and I am selling it because the c240 is so superior in All aspects except mileage economy. Highway mpg - 28 and city is 18, still not bad. Fun car, just make sure that above items have been serviced before purchase"

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My husband just bought this car for me and I love lt a lot!"

C230 coupe is a blast

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a great car. The critics say it has a mushy 6 speed and a tach in a bad place, but for us mortals the stick is good and it makes this a pocket rocket getting 35 mpg highway. The styling is love it or hate it, but hands down its a really good car. Maintain it and it will last a very long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals