Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1999 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 276 Ratings for the 1994 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Good Performance- Expensive Service- Rust Bucket

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "inferior cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

2000 Mercedes Benz-Sport

"Nice car, good body style-Sport has great interior with two tone leather."

2000 Mercedes Benz-Sport

Great and Reliable Car

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, fun to drive, love this car"

Cons: "No rear cup holders and latest technology"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My mom bought this car brand new in 95. She handed this car down to me about 5 years ago. With minor issues (windshield wiper motor and ac/heat fan) we are still driving this car today. Great car, great gas, great room. I wish I could update the car with the new 2015 techs..... I will most likely get another 100K out of it. This car is nothing like what they make now."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

bought it used. Been a good car.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It has been a reliable car even though it was purchased used from a generic dealership.Complete Prior history unknown. in memphis by way of florida. Reliablity probably due to husband's diligence in maintaining car through reputable mercedes technicians and dealerships."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A very Hardworking and reliable Car!

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Safe, Drive Smoothly"

Cons: "Old fashion interior design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still runs like a Champ! With little maintenance and repair!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Gently Used 4-door Sedan

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have driven every mile on this car. It gets excellent gas mileage and has been garaged the entire time I've owned it. Has been maintained well and gently used. It's taupe in color with taupe leather interior. No use shows on leather."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

really fun

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: RWD

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"really fun"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

by far the best car i have ever owned,98 c230

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great cheap luxury reliable mercedes benz"

Cons: "it gets some surface rust on body nothing major"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned this mercedes c230 for 5 1/2 years and never had one single major issue with it only little wear for the age and very very very easy to work on,drives excellent and handles excellent,i have never had this car at any shop only for alignments and tire balance.excellent gas mileage and looks great,i get lots of complements about it,the more custom work i do to it the better it looks"

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Excellent car value ( 20 years )

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "C220 1995 a gem undiscovered"

Cons: "non working a/c, radio, doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car probably one of the better if not best car value MBZ made that year .Served well but like all cars that moved through time -it breaks down little by little -not major but maintenance well done and followed help this car go and drive well after almost 20 years. The only drawback from keeping this car this long is the gas -super unleaded, when parts and repair go -they go for it --cost and labor ( glad I had good honest mechanics that serviced this car all these years) , Now it is time to part. I have to retire you -Mercedes 2 -Not that I don't want to keep you further( even though I myself have retired) But cant afford to maintain and have you running on Super Unleaded anymore ( never fed you anything but except one time due to my absence mindedness ) Hate to give you up really -wish I have the finances to make you new once more(in and out) -you won't need much but imported items are expensive for us. I'll hold on till I need to let you go, I think Bonding is hard"

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Mercedes in very good condition. Always in garage

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Have to see car to appreciate. Its beautiful."

Cons: "2 door dings."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased the Mercedes new in 1998. We installed new inside roof and side liners. The car shows very well. Its glossy black. Fun to drive. We really hate to part with it. Just bought a new 2014 Mercedes."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My Mercedes was more reliable then my honda

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I already tried to sell it to my friends!"

Cons: "German cars scare peple"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

white on black, you cant go wrong.

"Car has a rear tire rim cover part scrape which i took care of with auto zone supply, little highway kinks from road pebbles."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

white on black, you cant go wrong.

LOVED THIS CAR SHOULD NEVER SOLD IT!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"ONE OF THE BEST CARS I'VE EVER OWNED, JUST A BIT PRICEY TO HAVE FIXED WHEN SOMETHING GOES WRONG"

Saved my life!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"While driving down the interstate at 70mph (OK maybe a little faster) I could not avoid a 6x6 piece of lumber and struck it with my right front tire. I held the wheel waiting for something to go bad, nothing happen! I continued for another 35 miles before arriving to work. In the parking lot, the lower control arm gave out. If this had happened at 70mph on the highway, it would have been ugly. Thank you MB. Great on gas, fun to drive....I am fixing it and getting back on the road."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellant for use and reliable good on Gas

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "grat price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car iw with me for the total years and never have any major problem Oil change regulaly exceot need front oil seak replacement"

First Car and Loving It!!!!

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great comfort, reliable, lots of space, versatile"

Cons: "Premium unleaded only, not good on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got this car as a birthday present and as a graduation gift at the same time when I graduated high school. Honestly iy is a really nice car and i enjoy driving it. My only problem was that the suspension hadn't been changed for 16 years and was still dealer stock. I love this car and i plan to keep this car all through out college and later customize it. I have taken a full load of people through mountain roads just for a fun drive, to the beach, through traffic, and almost anywhere i can imagine. I love it, the comfort the low end torque, and the stiff feeling of the steering wheel. Truly a sweet first car. Trunk space is amazing and it comes with a full sized spare tire. As long as you drive it like a Benz, it will be reliable and make you feel like you're driving a high end car, for the price of a basic clunker. Affordable luxury. I plan to buy the C43 AMG in the future if i can find one."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

one of the most reliable cars

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent car to drive around"

Cons: "zero!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent gas mileage: great economy car, comfort, secure and the real thing, no plastic car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent entry-level M-B

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: 2007 ECONOMY CRASHED

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling, safety, big-car luxury in a small pkg"

Cons: "Maintenance costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the brief time I owned this car, it was fantastic. Plenty of power, good retained build quality for its age and a lot of fun to drive. Maintenance costs and the economy forced me to return it. If I had bought the car in cash, I probably would still have it. The best feature about this car was its safety. It took a rear-end collision from a '93 Bonneville and came away with a scratched bumper. Their insurance paid $1100.00 to repaint, but that's all it needed. Solid cars, built like a bank vault."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car for small family

By on Wednesday, December 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Nice car for small family or for single person."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excelleant safety, ride, comfort,"

Cons: "only 1 cup holder, no GPS, outdated car phone"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 4 years. Good ride, comfortable, quite, full featured, safe, good style, repairs infrequent and inexpensive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "no cup holders..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great engine- never lose on highway. Comfortable huge seats-- driving is an enjoyment! Bose stereo--nothing comparable, great music! Cruise--necessary! Overall stability--as reliable as a german car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, quiet, great on long trips"

Cons: "Parts can be rare and expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the first Mercedes-Benz I have owned, and I can assure you, once you own one, you never want anything less! Comfortable, roomy, good MPG (I get about 30 overall), classy, and quality built. I only wish the genuine Mercedes parts were more affordable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My Dream Come True

By on Sunday, August 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect Handling, Everlasting Model, fully loaded"

Cons: "nothing that i can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 1999 c280 sport package, just one more step to c43 amg, I've had this car for almost two years, my dream car since i was teenager, i bought this car when it was still 99000 miles, nothing really cost me except for oil change, and tires, since i installed 18 inch AMG, I really love this car, i will keep this car and will never sale it, fully loaded with optional, powerful if we compare with BMW, Audi,Saab, I think Benz is the best car for German Technology, can't ask for more from this car... Love it"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love My Car

By on Friday, August 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,546

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable, and classy sporty style"

Cons: "No cup holders in rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Benz

"I bought this car used in 2006, regularly maintain it and follow suggested repairs and maintenance and it's never stranded me or let me down. When I take it to the dealership for yearly tune-up/oil changes, etc... they give me another C230, new, as a loaner. My vehicle handles and performs better overall than the new vehicle. The center of gravity is much lower on this C230, giving me better performance in cornering and maneuvering. The brakes on the new models are way too touchy, I have power brakes but you know you are pressing on them, it doesn't jerk you but stops on a dime. Annual maintenance ranges from 600-2000 dollars high per year - depending on what is worn or needs to be replaced. The transmission is great, doesn't burn oil, gets 30mpg on highway, 25 city and I've never run out so the indicator is spot on. I can't say enough about this car - it looks great, handles like a dream, and I know what I've got. I think I'll be driving this car forever and based on it's performance so far I know that's a true statement. Bought it for 7k used, best deal ever on a car!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My Benz

I love this car. High Mileage, but looks brand new

By on Friday, July 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just beautiful"

Cons: "Expensive parts and labor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Expensive to fix, but this car is a beauty! Extremely safe. Has been in an auto accident, it totaled the Honda, and this car came out of it without a scratch!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very good driving car and powerful

By on Tuesday, April 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good highway gas mileage"

Cons: "Gas mileage not good with city driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"However, I had to change the head gasket that I was charged quite a bit for, and I heard that they usually go quickly in those models. Considering the low mileage, I was really surprised the gasket went bad. The gasoline hose also had to be replaced because it had dried brittle that caused cracks that resulted in leaking gas. That wasn't expensive because I came across a decent mechanic that was kind enough to be fair. Price I paid for the car wasn't worth the head gasket I had to get fixed. Cost me over $2,000."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It's still going strong!!

By on Thursday, April 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "no regrets of this purchase"

Cons: "tempermental positioning of driver's seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"In 1999 I selected a 2000 C230 Kompressor off the showroom floor and it's still going strong! Opted to change from BMW to Mercedes. Yes, there's been some repairs but I'm happy overall with it's performance. My mechanic is no longer the dealership ($$$) but very reliable and reasonable charges for factory parts that are only replaced on my car. I cruise @ 80mph as often as possible and it still handles my demands. Been through a few sets of tires but expected. Only problems aesthetically is the cup holder broke, my driver-side visor has too much use and now to save money it flips towards the windshield! :) Also, finicky moments for the power positioning of the driver's seat. Otherwise, it could be worse!"

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals