Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 272 Ratings for the 1994 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Its even great for the winter time.

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very very Reliable,at any time."

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car drives like a champ,the miles aren't bad and the interior is supreme i must say."

Nice safe fast car

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good car if taken care of. Great engine. Heavy.Gas mileage could be better, but feel very safe."

love my CLK Coupe 134,000 miles

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling. MPG."

Cons: "CD changer in trunk. No real cup holder. Rust."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving this coupe. Handles well (except in snow). 134,000 miles so it's starting to show rust in several spots. But still gets 20 mpg in town; 29 on highway Fold-down rear seats"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fast and reliable!

By on Saturday, October 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mercedes Benz quality"

Cons: "Rear wheel drive doesn't do well in the snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for seven years and it has never had a major problem. With the Supercharger, the 2.3L engine provides plenty of power. The Sport package makes turning and bumps a minor inconvenience."

Great car

By on Monday, October 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "horrible in the snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a race car"

really the best...never failed me!

By on Thursday, September 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handles well, "hugs" the road"

Cons: "small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 13 years and not once has it failed to give us top-notch performance!"

Solid Vehicle!

By on Wednesday, September 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well Built"

Cons: "metal and Paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a college student and drives the same as new Mercedes!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I like my car.

By on Sunday, September 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "smooth ride, great road balance and durible"

Cons: "Color fades, nicks rust fast and headliner comes aloose. :0(("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm checking around to get a paint job. I want to keep it a bit longer. I had it 6yrs paid cash."

Rust bucket

By on Friday, September 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Solid car, no serious mechanical problems"

Cons: "Rust bucket"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Bought car used 10 years ago. Car is very reliable, no major repairs. Nice handling, solid feel. My wife is primary driver. Biggest downside is the sheet metal and trim. Rust seems to be a serious problem for this model run. A MB salesman had the audacity to tell me that quality slipped during the Chrysler years. Look the metal over very closely before buying."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

dependable

By on Saturday, September 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is nice and at a 112000 miles, the engine is still running good with out any trouble"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

IT,S A GREAT MACHINE NO PROBLEMS SO FAR

By on Monday, August 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LEATHER INTERIOR USB,CD,AMFM,SUNROOF,"

Quality and performace hidden in a simple chasis!

By on Friday, August 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very very fast! Fun to drive! Extremely comfortable. AMG did a great job."

Cons: "Gas guzzler. No cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still an amazing car after 13 years. The car is extremely comfortable yet has the torque of the modern day sports vehicles. Quality ride, handles amazingly well for a sedan. This car looks quite unassuming but AMG made it a performance beast! My two caveats are 1)The car burns through oil like crazy, but what do you expect from a V8. 2)No cup holders is a bit inconvenient on a day to day level."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Friday, August 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Sturdy, lasts"

Cons: "flimsy cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car at 35,000 miles and drove it through 158,000 miles. I never had any problems with it. Nothing broke .. I serviced it when it was due. MBZ parts prices are steep but they last forever! The compact size is great for parking in tight corners. It's sturdy and reliable and drives very well. I have an ML 320 MBZ as well and passed my C230 to my high school son because I trust it a lot."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Poor execution

By on Thursday, July 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Its transportation."

Cons: "Poor quality, poor comfort. A city car, noisy and uncomfortable on long trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This was my mother's car and is now mine to get rid of. I have known the car since new and use the same mechanic for my cars as hers. Within the last 20 years, there's been 3 MB's, 2 Audi's, 5 BMW's and 2 Porsche's in the family. I say that because in many aspects they should be comparable. As in any German car, its high maintenance at a high cost. On any of the cars I'd suggest $1,000/year in maintenance and another $1,000/year in fixing stuff that does not work. This particular car, while better than an Audi at 65,000, is basically falling apart. Its been falling apart for 30,000 miles now and at this point needs about $2,500 to $3,000 for cosmetic repairs alone. Mostly the interior which, similar to the other two MB's we've owned simply falls apart. Since new the car has been one mechanical problem after another. Mostly covered by warranty (MB service is superb, far more than I can say about BMW). After the warranty period was over, figure we would spend about $1,000/yr on repairs. Compared to any of the other German cars we've owned, I would say this MB has far more reliable electronics (the bane of the other three) and far worst mechanicals. I could live with this as its cheaper to fix the mechanicals. However, the interior is nothing but sagging upholstery, worn interior parts, rattles, inoperative switchgear and just looks like garbage. Its always been garaged."

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Worst car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, June 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "to many"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I will agree with Bucky, my car is a single owner and i have done everything to keep this car in excellent condition but the manufacturer made it very difficult for me!!!! Everything has fallen apart on this car. The roof interior fell on me, the a/c stopped working the radiator blew and they said it was cheap tubing, the radio stopped working and the buttons are melting off and it is falling apart the gas gage stopped working and the electrical went out. The cup holder fell apart, The SBS light is on which has to do with the airbags not working and the oil light comes on all the time even though there is nothing wrong. Literally everything is cheap junk about this car and it was a $50,000 car! I will NEVER buy MB again"

Not So Good

By on Monday, June 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I purchased this car brand new in 1998, so it's been 13 years since I've owned it. I've done just basic driving with this car and now it has over 100K miles. Almost every part of the car has fallen apart at a high cost of maintenence. The radio is busted, the roofing has fallen off and I can no longer open the sun roof, the wood detailing, the door fixtures, the materials on the radio buttons all have worn off/ fallen off. When left in the sun, the paint almost completely comes off and the leather gets worn. Car has a loud idling sound reminiscent of the diesel cars. Cupholders are a joke. This is not what I'd expect from a MB. Really the only good thing about this car is performance. It's built for higher speeds, handling is good, turning radius is great, and horsepower is above average. Styling is a bit cheaper looking on this model. I never liked this triangular rear lights. MB did their best in the 80's- early 90s. Overall, I wouldn't purchase again. It's a very expensive car to maintain and fuel plus basic parts wear very quickly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great value!

By on Thursday, May 12, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a '99 C230 Komp in 2004 for my daughter's 16th B'day. She drove it to HS and then across the state to college for 4 years. I felt safe when she would drive 3 hrs on the interstate each way all those years because the car is safe and reliable. Now at 22, she has a great job and is looking to buy herself the 2008-2009 C300 as a replacement. I changed the oil and put brakes on it....little things go wrong but not to amount to much $. By the way, I bought it for $13,000 and am now selling it for $6,000. So if you do the math, it is was a great decision six years ago!"

Great car with a caveat

By on Tuesday, April 26, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"1995 Mercedes C280 6-cylinder. I bought this car used a year ago with 234,000 miles on it, but the engine still runs great. The comfort inside is great. The Bose sound system is outstanding, but the antenna does get stuck extended sometimes. This car is made for the German highways so its not quick at the starting line but picks up steadily later on at highway speeds. They are expensive to fix unless you can do it yourself. These models up to 1997 have bad factory wire harnesses that are very expensive to replace, look for these bad wires when buying one. The control arms are known to rust pretty bad, so get them inspected before your wheel gets damaged. If you can buy one for cheap because of the high miles, do it if the seller provides the service history also."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Saturday, April 23, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Owned for 10 years. No problems other than brakes, tires, and oil changes. Great fuel economy. Design looks a little dated as the model has changed twice since mine. Overall great car."

Excellent Car

By on Friday, April 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Fun to drive, comfortable, solid ride, great mid-size car."

By on Wednesday, April 20, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great car!

By on Friday, April 15, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car runs like a sherman tank... German built tough..... repairs are quite costly when they need to be done, but they are few and far between. Overall, a great car, stylish and with 140,000 miles, still runs like it was just driven off the showroom floor."

By on Saturday, March 26, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, March 24, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, March 21, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals