Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 272 Ratings for the 1994 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Very good car, except for a couple design flaws.

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, drives excellent"

Cons: "Cylinder head gasket & wiring harness design flaws"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I picked up a 1994 C280 with 105k miles. Being a couple without kids, it's an excellent car for our needs. It drives great, just what you would expect from Mercedes-Benz. Definitely a fine vehicle. I can't figure out why anybody would buy a Japanese car when you can pick a used Mercedes for a great price, and quality wise they dont even compare. There are two major design flaws after extensive research, I discovered. The first is the cylinder head gasket, from what I've read from multiple sources is that 90% of C-Classes with the M104 engine have a oil leak from the cylinder head. Mercedes has redesigned the gasket, and the replacements will not have the same problem. It is between $1500 to $2000 to replace. Luckily I was a Mercedes mechanic for a short period of time and was able to replace it myself. The head gasket itself is about $50, but is a major repair to perform. The second design flaw is the Wiring harnesses. Mercedes from about 1990-1996 were required by the German government to use bio-degradable materials for the wiring harnesses. As a result after a period of time they are very brittle and the insallation cracks and falls right off the wire. I found one on e-bay for about $270, if you were to buy a new one you would be looking at approximately $1200 just for the part. I installed mine while I had the head gasket off and it was about 5 hours labor. A bad wiring harness can cause numerous problems including gauges not functioning, loss of fuel mileage, codes to pop up on the OBD system, even unexpected acceleration, and fires! If you are planning on buying a Mercedes from the early to mid 1990's, be sure to check the state of the wiring harnesses. Other than these issues, the car is excellent, the M104 inline 6 cylinder engine is pretty much indestructible, and performs great."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great car only trade ni value should be more

By on Thursday, November 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"a 96 with only 140 thousand miles is considered low in todays cars. our car is in like new condition and trade in value is only somewhere UNDER 2 grand? not right"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2000, C-280 Excellent

By on Monday, July 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "a little cramped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just bought last month. Took on a 2000 mile vacation. 4people and gear. 27-29 MPG! A little cramped at times(I am 6'2" 215 lbs). Great Handling. Comfortable seats."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This care handles the road beauifully!

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 900,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have had this car for 10 years. I have kept this car in perfect condition while it is was in my care. It is great to handle. It is a great second hand car. The only problem with this car is that I need to move on and can't bring the car with me :)"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car ever, for my needs.

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A 20 year car, for sure. Speedy and reliable."

Cons: "Compact. Not for tall/large people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the right car for me, a singleton driving in FL. Superbly reliable, classic style, zippy in it's responsiveness in bumper to bumper traffic and a nice smooth ride for road trips. Beware, ceiling is a bit low for anyone 6'1" or above and back seat is fine, but not roomy. I have owned the car for 8 years and it has never required anything more than routine maintenance, which I urge you to always have performed at a dealership. It has proven to be a fantastic value. I purchased it certified pre-owned and never regretted it. It is a very popular car in Florida, with the old money and country club set. So it makes a nice impression and has high resale in the area."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid car with no major ploblems!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "MPG 19-28 in that range sometime better,rear drive"

Cons: "no tall cups or large diameter in holders no cd"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Driven across country like a champ"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love the reliability, drive, and overall car.

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Well built car and excellent drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new and have had it for 12 years. It is in excellent condition, looks great, and I would still drive it anywhere out of town. The drive is good and it picks up speed quickly. Not very good in the snow. I love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable can cruise all day at speed."

Cons: "Needs premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 5 MB's and this is by far the best of the bunch. It trained two teenaged drivers, did daily "Mom" duty for over 15 years, and it gets nearly 30 mpg. Who could ask for more."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This was my first Mercedes Benz and I love it.

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,645

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Excellent to drive."

Cons: "No cup holders or items that are in the newer cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It is a dependable car and roomy. I have thoroughly enjoyed it."

C43 AMG

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,890

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, Incredible Quality, Timeless look"

Cons: "I only have one C43 - two would be better!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

AMG!

"Bought this 1999 C43 with 75000 miles on it for $10,000 in 2009. Wow, what a car, here we are in 2012 and I can still smoke just about any car on the road if I want some fun, handles better than most sedans, but the age is showing in that department. Talk about a rock solid engine, it just growls and goes! Mileage around town is 19 mpg, 23 to 25 on the highway depending on how much I push it. Amazing features for a car this old, it feels better than just about every new or newer car I've driven. This car sold me on Mercedes build and quality - they've got a lifetime customer - I've had Audi, BMW, SAAB, VW and domestics - won't ever buy anything but MB again. Next one up? C63 AMG - woo hoo!. Great cars!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

AMG!

230 c m.b. kompress is the best used car even

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price. love drivein it hate to get out of th"

Cons: "very lite; climbing up the hill when it snows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car 8 months ago and only problems with it was the air cond. unit and the oxg.sensor. other then that the guy i bought it from had it sittin in the grass got rust and mold on the rim and some rust on the bottom of the car. going to fix that this week other then that it drive great like a new car. only complain is when it snow had a hard time gettin up the hill. car is very lite. love this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

You cant buy a car this god for the cost!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, fuel economy, quality"

Cons: "one cup holder, back seat space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My father owned this C220 before I bought it from him and the only thing he had to say was, "park it in a safe place." he treated this car better than his newer ones. Let me just jump into the specs. Everything up to 125k miles was original up to Jan. 1 of 2012. The only thing to go out in the car prior to this extensive repair was the air conditioning. This is a car that if taken car of will last 20 something years if you do not get tired of it. Form experience, the car get about 25 miles to the gallon city and 28-29 freeway. This is outstanding for a vehicle of its time. Overall between all the driving that I do, it comes in around 17 MPG. One downside to this mileage is the fact that it takes supreme gas, which isn't the cheapest out there."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Strong body strong engine

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "still sturdy"

Cons: "MB no longer makes this body type."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the 2000 C sedan in 2003 when it had 40k miles. I loved the sturdy drive and sense of 'weight' to the car. A few years later, I gave the car to my step-son and bought a 2003 C sedan - I have had phantom electrical problems since day one w/ the newer car. I doesn't have the style or 'weight' of the 2000. I still love to drive my son's 2000 MB and could kick myself for buying the newer C series."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Disappointed

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, fun to drive"

Cons: "Beyond reasonable repair bills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Had always wanted a Mercedes due to legacy of long life and dependability, purchased used and then began the quest of beyond reasonable repair costs. The comfort and look of this vehicle is superb, fun to drive and reasonably dependable. For the last 6 years this vehicle has cost in excess of over $1,000 EA YEAR in repair costs... ridiculous, I'll take my JEEP anyday that has same mileage and only ONE major repair of $500. I love driving that Mercedes, not a car meant for people who have limited income, leave this car alone if you can't invest in regular expensive repair bills on this one."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I Love My 1995 Mercedes Benz C220

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, fun to drive, stylish."

Cons: "Expensive repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

At 16 years old, still looks great.

"Bought this car a year ago, for my wife. Most people don't believe it's a 1995 model. Great car to drive. Luxury appointments. Highly recommend, if you don't mind more than average repair costs."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

At 16 years old, still looks great.

Great car

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, price"

Cons: "One wiper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My first Mercedes, and what a great experience. From purchase in North Carolina to service in Ohio, great service at three different dealerships. As a brand I love it. As a car it has never let me down."

Almost 14 Years Old and Still Going Strong.

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Timeless Mercedes at 14 looks like new."

Cons: "Cup holder. Little noisy, a little rough ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new in 1998. Solid car. No major repairs. Maintenance has been very routine. It is now my son's college car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Tight reliable vehicle. Highly recommended.

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Upgraded

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, gas mileage."

Cons: "Not enough power. Expensive to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First Mercedes I have owned. Really enjoyed it. More comfortable than BMW. The main drawback is that local dealerships are not very resourceful in helping to maintain 12 year old Mercedes. Buy from reputable dealerships only!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I really enjoy this C-Class, vry cmftble

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, reliability, enjoyable"

Cons: "needs more power, would like back up sensors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I puchased my C-class new, and have kept it up since 1997. Then it jst departed the Dbl OHC 24 valve for a Single OHC 18 valve engine. I think it was a great choice then, they since have gone back to the Dbl. I like the engine, but would like more puch and pwr from the 194HP. It is smooth and quiet. It also gets ok gas mileage. Not the best by tdays' stndards though. Plenty of room and very well appointed for it's time. The leather and real wood are of top quality. I've noticed newer S-class models w/w cheaper quality inside. I placed 17in tires/rims for sharper handling and performance. Wise choice. It is as many say quite expensive after all warrenties expire. Now I can't get much for the car so I drive it on weekends to spare mileage and repair costs. Sweet car, I defintely reccomend it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Only car that lasted 13 years. Just needing an SUV

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Turns on a dime, great gas mileage, minimal repair"

Cons: "All repairs are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Little cosmetic things are finally breaking and are too costly to replace. Can't believe the reliability. Incredibly impressed. Wish I could afford to buy another Mercedes."

Very reliable car. Loved owning it!

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Smooth ride"

Cons: "Expensive maintanance, premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1995 C280 in 2005, when it was already 10 years old with 98,000 miles. I had just moved to Florida from NYC, where I didn't need a car, and decided to buy a used car because I wasn't sure if I would stay in Florida. I did, and what a great friend this car has been. The car now has 148,000 miles on it and, and with regular oil changes and tune ups, it's performed beyond my expectations. The only thing that has gone is the suction-powered locks. I now have to open the car by unlocking the trunk. Since I live in a safe area, I just leave it unlocked these days. Friends were surprised when I recently mentioned I wanted to buy a new car and they were even more surprised to find out I'd been driving a 1995 model. They thought it was a much more recent model. I always thought MBs needed premium gas but have found out some owners use regular gas. I used premium gas for a smoother ride but I did try the medium grade gas once but didn't care for the "pull" the car had, compared to how it smooth it drove with premium gas. Aside from paying higher gas prices, maintenance and minor repairs can be expensive simply because it's a MB. More than American or Japanese models, from what I understand. All in all, I'd buy this car all over again. I hope the new owner will enjoy it as much as I have."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great value for a lower end luxury car

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very smooth ride, even at old age"

Cons: "More expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family bought our C230 1999 in 2002 (used) and it's been great. Now at 203,000 it's only 'broken down' twice. We take very good care of it and as a result, it takes very good care of us. I get so many compliments on how well my 200,000 mile car rides. Along with the smoothness most riders think this is a fairly new car, and are shocked when I say it's a '99. Maintenance and repairs are more expensive but it's 'luxury'. You spend a little more and in return get something that is very smooth and fun."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car for small family and single

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price for used car, reliable and comfortable"

Cons: "Expensive maintenance, small for family."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Real German performance and quality. Driving this car is pleasure. Reliable and comfortable. Maintenance is a little bit expensive, but as well as it luxury car it's understandable. This car is very comfortable for single student or small family with 1 kid, but as soon as your family growing up, you fill that you need bigger car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"enjoy it."

mint condition

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"mint condition everything new second owner"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals