Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 276 Ratings for the 1994 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

Good Performance- Expensive Service- Rust Bucket

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "inferior cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

2000 Mercedes Benz-Sport

"Nice car, good body style-Sport has great interior with two tone leather."

2000 Mercedes Benz-Sport

Great and Reliable Car

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, fun to drive, love this car"

Cons: "No rear cup holders and latest technology"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My mom bought this car brand new in 95. She handed this car down to me about 5 years ago. With minor issues (windshield wiper motor and ac/heat fan) we are still driving this car today. Great car, great gas, great room. I wish I could update the car with the new 2015 techs..... I will most likely get another 100K out of it. This car is nothing like what they make now."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

bought it used. Been a good car.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It has been a reliable car even though it was purchased used from a generic dealership.Complete Prior history unknown. in memphis by way of florida. Reliablity probably due to husband's diligence in maintaining car through reputable mercedes technicians and dealerships."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A very Hardworking and reliable Car!

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Safe, Drive Smoothly"

Cons: "Old fashion interior design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still runs like a Champ! With little maintenance and repair!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Gently Used 4-door Sedan

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have driven every mile on this car. It gets excellent gas mileage and has been garaged the entire time I've owned it. Has been maintained well and gently used. It's taupe in color with taupe leather interior. No use shows on leather."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

really fun

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: RWD

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"really fun"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

by far the best car i have ever owned,98 c230

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great cheap luxury reliable mercedes benz"

Cons: "it gets some surface rust on body nothing major"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned this mercedes c230 for 5 1/2 years and never had one single major issue with it only little wear for the age and very very very easy to work on,drives excellent and handles excellent,i have never had this car at any shop only for alignments and tire balance.excellent gas mileage and looks great,i get lots of complements about it,the more custom work i do to it the better it looks"

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Excellent car value ( 20 years )

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "C220 1995 a gem undiscovered"

Cons: "non working a/c, radio, doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car probably one of the better if not best car value MBZ made that year .Served well but like all cars that moved through time -it breaks down little by little -not major but maintenance well done and followed help this car go and drive well after almost 20 years. The only drawback from keeping this car this long is the gas -super unleaded, when parts and repair go -they go for it --cost and labor ( glad I had good honest mechanics that serviced this car all these years) , Now it is time to part. I have to retire you -Mercedes 2 -Not that I don't want to keep you further( even though I myself have retired) But cant afford to maintain and have you running on Super Unleaded anymore ( never fed you anything but except one time due to my absence mindedness ) Hate to give you up really -wish I have the finances to make you new once more(in and out) -you won't need much but imported items are expensive for us. I'll hold on till I need to let you go, I think Bonding is hard"

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Mercedes in very good condition. Always in garage

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Have to see car to appreciate. Its beautiful."

Cons: "2 door dings."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased the Mercedes new in 1998. We installed new inside roof and side liners. The car shows very well. Its glossy black. Fun to drive. We really hate to part with it. Just bought a new 2014 Mercedes."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My Mercedes was more reliable then my honda

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I already tried to sell it to my friends!"

Cons: "German cars scare peple"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

white on black, you cant go wrong.

"Car has a rear tire rim cover part scrape which i took care of with auto zone supply, little highway kinks from road pebbles."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

white on black, you cant go wrong.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals