Go

1997 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 282 Ratings for the 1994 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 57 | Next

Great car for the $$

By on Wednesday, February 6, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my '97 C-230 used in 2000 and have had no major (non wear) issues since. After driving Caddys and Jags I can attest that while it is more expensive to maintain than a Ford, it comes nowhere close to the Jag or Caddy! Even though the C-230 doesn't deliver the same zip and style as the aforementioned vehicles, it does deliver a great deal of class and security for the money. If you have the chance for a decent price, I'd say "buy it"."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, December 15, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car about eight months ago and loved it since day one. This car got great gas millage, drove amazingly, and had pretty good power for a 4 cyl. I recently lost it though when a truck blew a red light at hit me going highway speeds. The front was crushed verry badly but i walked away with only a brused shin and hurt hand. Besides the fact that this is a nice looking and driving car, it handled a crash amazingly well and i think if i were in any other car i wouldnt have been as lucky. Great car though expecially for the money and i would recomend it to anyone expecially younger drivers who want a nice car but still would like safety involved as well."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Friday, July 6, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 1997 C230 has been a great car. I love the way it looks, drives and handles. The c230 has a bit less get up and go than the c280 (6 cyl) or the c230 Kompressor (4 cyl w/turbo). However, it still has pleanty of power around town or to pass on the freeway and I get 20- 30 mpg with this 4 cyl. The longer I drive it the more aware I become of the quality and comfort this car offers. Great trunk space too. Also, friends often comment on the comfort of the ride and the ease to enter and exit the vehicle as a rear passenger. It would be five stars for value except for the high cost of dealer maintenance. Based on my experience, only the pro's at MB seem to know how to properly work on these cars."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Rugged and Reliable

By on Monday, July 18, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,865

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Solid, reliable, durable, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Interior materials flimsy, expensive maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 17 years, and the only required repair has been replacement of the mass air flow sensor. It has had a few Mercedes specific parts replaced, and it still looks and runs like new. The supercharged engine provides plenty of usable power, and the transmission is of the old school variety: not a lot of gears, but they shift at the right spots. The interior has nice wood grain and leather appointments, although the seats are firm rather than that soft, sink into-type leather. The gauges are the simple analog style, and no menu systems to distract the driver. The car is made like a tank, and the durability has been amazing."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent entry-level M-B

By on Monday, January 6, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: 2007 ECONOMY CRASHED

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling, safety, big-car luxury in a small pkg"

Cons: "Maintenance costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the brief time I owned this car, it was fantastic. Plenty of power, good retained build quality for its age and a lot of fun to drive. Maintenance costs and the economy forced me to return it. If I had bought the car in cash, I probably would still have it. The best feature about this car was its safety. It took a rear-end collision from a '93 Bonneville and came away with a scratched bumper. Their insurance paid $1100.00 to repaint, but that's all it needed. Solid cars, built like a bank vault."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 57 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement