Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 274 Ratings for the 1994 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 25 26 27 28 | Next

Eight Years in the Saddle

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this C230 Kompressor since new in August, 1999. It is truly an amazing car. In the city it is highly maneuverable and can make a U-turn in a single pass on a a side street. On the highway it is quiet, fast and gets about 32mpg. Around town, the mileage is half that. The maintenance cost is very high - around $350 for the A service and around $550 for the B service. I had to replace a lug bolt for one of the tires and MB charged me $7! I bought an extended warranty and I still have about a year left on it. Once it hits the out of warranty mark, I will sell it. Although it is a great car, I don't think I will ever buy another one due to the extremely high cost of ownership."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Car I've Ever Had...

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"...but it costs me the proverbial "arm and a leg" to keep it the best. My C-class is a '98 C-230, currently with 91K on the clock. I bought it as a Starmark certified (lease-back) in '02 and have had no significant problems besides normal wear-out items. However, the "A" service has run me about $250 and the "B" service about $500, and that at a local independent garage...that's a lot for an oil change and safety inspection. The inside trunk release switch does not work...estimates to repair run about $500 -- for a simple switch? I don't intend to replace the vehicle anytime soon, but I don't think I'll get another MB."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1998 C230

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought C230 new in 1998; it now has 120k+ miles. Dependable car that is still comfortable and enjoyable to drive. I've had other cars that after a few years I could not wait to get rid of, but this one is still solid and handles well. Very economical. Use a well established independent M-B mechanic for service and repair."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1998 C230

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 98 C230 with over 140,000 miles as a second car. I have driven it exculsively since I've owned it. After 162,000 miles the ride is still excellent and with the exception of a vacuum hose I've had no other problems. I hope that with proper maintenance the car will last me for at least two more years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Pros and Cons

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is great! Super fast with a HUGE engine. But this car is only good if you have a small family because space is very limited. The trunk is very small and would not be good for someone who has a lot of stuff."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Car !

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is my first C-Class , The 1995 C-220 drives and handles well. I have over 115,000 miles on it ,over 100,000 miles you can have some problems with C- Class , my check engine light is on . And it is quit expensive to repair @ the MB Dealership. I am looking forward to purchasing the New C230 Sports Sedan."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 25 26 27 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals