Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 272 Ratings for the 1994 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

Gently Used 4-door Sedan

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have driven every mile on this car. It gets excellent gas mileage and has been garaged the entire time I've owned it. Has been maintained well and gently used. It's taupe in color with taupe leather interior. No use shows on leather."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

really fun

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: RWD

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"really fun"

by far the best car i have ever owned,98 c230

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great cheap luxury reliable mercedes benz"

Cons: "it gets some surface rust on body nothing major"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned this mercedes c230 for 5 1/2 years and never had one single major issue with it only little wear for the age and very very very easy to work on,drives excellent and handles excellent,i have never had this car at any shop only for alignments and tire balance.excellent gas mileage and looks great,i get lots of complements about it,the more custom work i do to it the better it looks"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent car value ( 20 years )

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "C220 1995 a gem undiscovered"

Cons: "non working a/c, radio, doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car probably one of the better if not best car value MBZ made that year .Served well but like all cars that moved through time -it breaks down little by little -not major but maintenance well done and followed help this car go and drive well after almost 20 years. The only drawback from keeping this car this long is the gas -super unleaded, when parts and repair go -they go for it --cost and labor ( glad I had good honest mechanics that serviced this car all these years) , Now it is time to part. I have to retire you -Mercedes 2 -Not that I don't want to keep you further( even though I myself have retired) But cant afford to maintain and have you running on Super Unleaded anymore ( never fed you anything but except one time due to my absence mindedness ) Hate to give you up really -wish I have the finances to make you new once more(in and out) -you won't need much but imported items are expensive for us. I'll hold on till I need to let you go, I think Bonding is hard"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Mercedes in very good condition. Always in garage

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Have to see car to appreciate. Its beautiful."

Cons: "2 door dings."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased the Mercedes new in 1998. We installed new inside roof and side liners. The car shows very well. Its glossy black. Fun to drive. We really hate to part with it. Just bought a new 2014 Mercedes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My Mercedes was more reliable then my honda

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I already tried to sell it to my friends!"

Cons: "German cars scare peple"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

white on black, you cant go wrong.

"Car has a rear tire rim cover part scrape which i took care of with auto zone supply, little highway kinks from road pebbles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

white on black, you cant go wrong.

LOVED THIS CAR SHOULD NEVER SOLD IT!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"ONE OF THE BEST CARS I'VE EVER OWNED, JUST A BIT PRICEY TO HAVE FIXED WHEN SOMETHING GOES WRONG"

Saved my life!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"While driving down the interstate at 70mph (OK maybe a little faster) I could not avoid a 6x6 piece of lumber and struck it with my right front tire. I held the wheel waiting for something to go bad, nothing happen! I continued for another 35 miles before arriving to work. In the parking lot, the lower control arm gave out. If this had happened at 70mph on the highway, it would have been ugly. Thank you MB. Great on gas, fun to drive....I am fixing it and getting back on the road."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellant for use and reliable good on Gas

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "grat price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car iw with me for the total years and never have any major problem Oil change regulaly exceot need front oil seak replacement"

First Car and Loving It!!!!

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great comfort, reliable, lots of space, versatile"

Cons: "Premium unleaded only, not good on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got this car as a birthday present and as a graduation gift at the same time when I graduated high school. Honestly iy is a really nice car and i enjoy driving it. My only problem was that the suspension hadn't been changed for 16 years and was still dealer stock. I love this car and i plan to keep this car all through out college and later customize it. I have taken a full load of people through mountain roads just for a fun drive, to the beach, through traffic, and almost anywhere i can imagine. I love it, the comfort the low end torque, and the stiff feeling of the steering wheel. Truly a sweet first car. Trunk space is amazing and it comes with a full sized spare tire. As long as you drive it like a Benz, it will be reliable and make you feel like you're driving a high end car, for the price of a basic clunker. Affordable luxury. I plan to buy the C43 AMG in the future if i can find one."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals