Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1994 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 272 Ratings for the 1994 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this car. It is so reliable and fun to drive. It was driven over 35000 in one year and then 20000 the next and never has had one issue. We got it with 58000 and now have over 134000. Great car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

98 C230

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this vehicle used with 30K miles. I now have 230K miles and the car is running strong. Maintenance costs are higher than most vehicles, but I have certainly gotten my money's worth. Engine and transmission are still solid. I have had to replace alternator, compressor, and water pump, but it is still cheaper than buying a new vehicle every 3-4 years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One of the best Cars Ever

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned Cads, Lincs, and other Benz, but this is hands down the very best of all ( reliability, gas mileage, style, ect.). I bought this car with 80,000 miles. I now have over 130,000 and it still drives & looks great with low cost to maintain."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

get one!!!

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i got the car over a year a go and i have had some things go wrong. the cruise control isnt working and i can come up with the money to get it fixed but other then that it has been the best car i have had. get one!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AWESOME CAR

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car with 28,000 miles on it and now have 159,000. I love it repair costs for me have been low. I have it serviced at a Mercedes dealership and required maintanence is ever 12,000 miles not ever 3,000 miles and an A service runs $150.00 and a B service runs me $300.00. I love it it is convienent, fast, super reliable and very whitty. I will buy another for sure!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle I have owned

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a great vehicle, economical and reliable."

Eight Years in the Saddle

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this C230 Kompressor since new in August, 1999. It is truly an amazing car. In the city it is highly maneuverable and can make a U-turn in a single pass on a a side street. On the highway it is quiet, fast and gets about 32mpg. Around town, the mileage is half that. The maintenance cost is very high - around $350 for the A service and around $550 for the B service. I had to replace a lug bolt for one of the tires and MB charged me $7! I bought an extended warranty and I still have about a year left on it. Once it hits the out of warranty mark, I will sell it. Although it is a great car, I don't think I will ever buy another one due to the extremely high cost of ownership."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Car I've Ever Had...

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"...but it costs me the proverbial "arm and a leg" to keep it the best. My C-class is a '98 C-230, currently with 91K on the clock. I bought it as a Starmark certified (lease-back) in '02 and have had no significant problems besides normal wear-out items. However, the "A" service has run me about $250 and the "B" service about $500, and that at a local independent garage...that's a lot for an oil change and safety inspection. The inside trunk release switch does not work...estimates to repair run about $500 -- for a simple switch? I don't intend to replace the vehicle anytime soon, but I don't think I'll get another MB."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1998 C230

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought C230 new in 1998; it now has 120k+ miles. Dependable car that is still comfortable and enjoyable to drive. I've had other cars that after a few years I could not wait to get rid of, but this one is still solid and handles well. Very economical. Use a well established independent M-B mechanic for service and repair."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1998 C230

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 98 C230 with over 140,000 miles as a second car. I have driven it exculsively since I've owned it. After 162,000 miles the ride is still excellent and with the exception of a vacuum hose I've had no other problems. I hope that with proper maintenance the car will last me for at least two more years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Pros and Cons

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is great! Super fast with a HUGE engine. But this car is only good if you have a small family because space is very limited. The trunk is very small and would not be good for someone who has a lot of stuff."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Car !

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is my first C-Class , The 1995 C-220 drives and handles well. I have over 115,000 miles on it ,over 100,000 miles you can have some problems with C- Class , my check engine light is on . And it is quit expensive to repair @ the MB Dealership. I am looking forward to purchasing the New C230 Sports Sedan."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Awesome

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Most dependable car I have ever owned. Great car at a reasonable cost."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 1997 C230 has been a great car. I love the way it looks, drives and handles. The c230 has a bit less get up and go than the c280 (6 cyl) or the c230 Kompressor (4 cyl w/turbo). However, it still has pleanty of power around town or to pass on the freeway and I get 20- 30 mpg with this 4 cyl. The longer I drive it the more aware I become of the quality and comfort this car offers. Great trunk space too. Also, friends often comment on the comfort of the ride and the ease to enter and exit the vehicle as a rear passenger. It would be five stars for value except for the high cost of dealer maintenance. Based on my experience, only the pro's at MB seem to know how to properly work on these cars."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A Pleasure to Own

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my 1995 C220 since June, 2001. This is simply the finest car I have ever owned (and I have owned many). This is not a fast car, but it can move quickly. This is not a sports car, but it handles well. The Mercedes way is to do everything well and in balance. The quality of fit, finish and engineering are top notch. I get 21MPG in the city and 30MPG on the highway. The seats are very comfortable for long trips and the trunk is very large. I'm lucky to have the hard to find folding rear seats. I still look forward to driving this car and it still can put a smile on my face. Parts and service can be very expensive. These cars need to be well cared for, and if you do, it will last a lifetime. It's best to find a private Mercedes specialist repair shop. Mercedes roadside assistance is available FOR AS LONG AS YOU OWN THE CAR! They will also change a flat, bring gas if you run out or jump your car...for free. If you are looking to buy one, make sure the seller has all of the maintainence and repair bills. You need to buy a well maitained car and take care of it. If so, there is no reason the car will not make it to 200 or 300,000 miles on the odometer."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle

By on Thursday, July 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car has so much pick up. Quick to use around town and on the hwy. It handles and rides like a dream. The only bummer is you have to use premium gas, otherwise this vehicle is the best! The gas mileage is ok, not bad at all."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz C-Class near Honolulu. See local deals