Go

1992 Mercedes-Benz 500SL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 21 Ratings for the 1992 - 1993 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

I love this car. We baby her

By on Friday, August 7, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "This car can often be found with fewer than 60K mi"

Cons: "Expensive to repair, drive, house, maintain."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is not economical or about "common sense" at any level. It's about enjoying the ride. Glancing over at your reflection in a plate glass window as you're driving and admiring that classic body look. It's about getting shocking repair bills for the most minor things and being over charged for nearly everything. If it costs $100 for a complete repair to your Honda, it will cost $500+ for the same repair to this vehicle, PLUS parts. Nice smooth acceleration, but get used to dropping a quarter tank of premium gas if you pass anyone on the freeway.Turning radius is very tight. Handles beautifully on curvy mountain roads. Our clothtop is brand new. Hardly any use."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, September 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1993 Super Car

By on Saturday, February 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my SL now for 3 years, I haven't had any major problems with the car other than having to replace one of the hydrolic pumps for the top. Those pumps can be expensive, but isn't any trip to any dealer that way? Very fast, fun and reliable. This car is truly a great car. Even having a 93 model, I still get looks in it. I wouldn't hesitate in buying another one. If you've always wanted a mercedes and convertible, this is the one to buy."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sleeper

By on Monday, September 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This 5 liter 300+hp 300lb torque little wolf in sheeps clothing will suprise everyone.Great ride, 50mph hard right turns,pop up rollbar,this tuff car will do it all.$80k new,if the center mirror is power,obviously it has everything available in 1990. And it's Mercedes best. Soft top power has a mind of its own,but it can be handeled manually.Great fun for $10-12K."

31 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Fun CAR to Drive

By on Thursday, September 8, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive! Looks Great,Luxurious beautiful car"

Cons: "LOL no cup holders, Work is expensive to have done for this car. But if you do it the car will last"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First of I do love my 500sl. The only car I have enjoyed more is my SEC. The SL is small, but fun to drive. I got a great deal on mine ($6000), and got the extended warranty($3000). The warranty has already paid for itself.(engine issue and tentioner) I also spent $1200 from the tuneup on it. It is a Benz so you get what you pay for. Its not cheap to fix, but you will look good wherever you go. I would buy another one again in a second. One more thing the electrical goes crazy every once in a while but usually you restart the car and everything is OK. Hope this helps"

21 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz 500SL near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement