Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • New Car Buyer's Guides
  • The 40+ MPG Cars of 2015
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1992 Mercedes-Benz 500SL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 20 Ratings for the 1990 - 1993 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Good car

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car from an auction wasn't running just needed a new battery. Never had it break down on me once! Car is very solid and very fast 5.0 v8 with a 4 speed auto transmission with long gears and its stable all the way up to 155. The convertible feature is cool because it has a removable hard top and soft top I don't use it that much because its not for me but I have tried it out and its fun. My only complaint would be the mpg but if you want something economical you wouldn't be looking at sports cars would you? The car gets on average 16-18 city and will get 19-23 hwy if you keep off the throttle this is with the older CIS injection system e-carb whatever you want to call it which is very reliable. I bought this car because they are so cheap and the engine and transmission are known for their reliability. other notes car eats boxsters and brakes"

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

AWESOME!

By on Tuesday, October 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great fun car to drive. Still gets lots of attention wherever you go. Extreemly happy with this car that I owned for 10 years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sleeper

By on Monday, September 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This 5 liter 300+hp 300lb torque little wolf in sheeps clothing will suprise everyone.Great ride, 50mph hard right turns,pop up rollbar,this tuff car will do it all.$80k new,if the center mirror is power,obviously it has everything available in 1990. And it's Mercedes best. Soft top power has a mind of its own,but it can be handeled manually.Great fun for $10-12K."

30 people out of 32 found this review helpful

1991 500SL my favorite car

By on Thursday, August 21, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this car for 9 years. It rides like a dream, and handles well on the twisties for a 4200 pound car. I like the understated 129 styling, and they are a major step up from the 1972-1989 107 series SL. The weak points on the car is the instrument cluster and the airconditioning. There are after market repair shops for the very expensive OEM cluster. Because of the heavy motor & transmission, the mounts must be replaced every 10 years or so. I've also owned a 1968 280SL, which was very advanced for its time, and has grown in value. But it is not the advanced technology of the 129 Any 129 is a great value in this market. If you keep one nice, it should gain in value after about 20 years like all SLs have before."

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

1993 Super Car

By on Saturday, February 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my SL now for 3 years, I haven't had any major problems with the car other than having to replace one of the hydrolic pumps for the top. Those pumps can be expensive, but isn't any trip to any dealer that way? Very fast, fun and reliable. This car is truly a great car. Even having a 93 model, I still get looks in it. I wouldn't hesitate in buying another one. If you've always wanted a mercedes and convertible, this is the one to buy."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz 500SL near Honolulu. See local deals