Go

2009 Mazda RX-8

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 476 Ratings for the 2004 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 96 | Next

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great looking, pleasure to drive, better than a man-cave"

Cons: "poor gas mileage, expensive to service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2004 RX8 has been an absolute joy to own. The good; It's fast, sleek looking and turns lots of heads. The power on the road is incredible as I accelerate to more than 90 mph in seconds and it's smooth as a whistle.This car is a very reliable "chic magnet" as well as a great conversation topic with the guys. The bad; My review would have been all fives if it weren't for the poor gas mileage (16 mpg in town and 19 mpg on the road) and the quirky engine flooding problem when you turn on the engine and don't give it enough time to regulate the fuel before turning it off. The ugly; the engine had to be replaced at 39,900 miles but since then the car has had no major problems."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best sports car I ever owned.

By on Friday, January 4, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned a Grand Touring MT RX8 since Jan. 2004 and have no intention of giving it up any time soon. I have owned MG's, an Alpha Romeo, Mustang, 240Z, Eclipse, Celica, and Lancia. I've ridden in Jaguars, a 450hp Porsche, a 350Z and many others. After all that, I still would pick this car over any of them (maybe not the 450hp Porsche). The RX8 rides more comfortably yet handles better and has more interior room than all of them. In fact the Mustang has much less interior space than the RX8 and most people don't even think I have a back seat. That's the way I like it. It looks like a two door and it's not. People who don't own it think it's slow because at 5.9 seconds it's one tenth of a second slower 0 to 60 than the two seat 350Z (2004 stats). I like it that way too. Yet every major magazine that has done a comparison against all those “two-seaters” has picked the four-seat RX8 as their number one choice over all. Style, performance, comfortable daily driver, comfortable back seat (not just for kids), you just can't beat this car, not even with a 450hp Porsche (that rides like it has no shocks at all)."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Perfect Car For the true enthusiast!

By on Monday, June 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, handles superbly, Amazing style, very comfortable, very reliable (for me at least) !"

Cons: "poor fuel economy, Engine oil consumption (normal op. for rotary), small trunk, no spare tire!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owed this vehicle since November of 2009 and i couldn't be happier... Drives amazing and handles like a true race car...Has its ups and downs...but if your into having a fun drive there is no better car in it's class...Has poor fuel economy, burns oil (normal), a bit low on torque!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

In the best RX tradition

By on Sunday, November 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned a RX-7 for 16 yrs and love the rotary engine. I've owned this RX-8 Shinka for 3 years now and just love it! It is not possible to skid around curves, it is so rock-solid on the road and sticks amazingly well. It is quiet, comfortable, and all controls are conveniently located and well though-out. With minimum maintenance this vehicle will last a long time. Oh, and ignore stories of massive oil usage -- they are false!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome Car!

By on Saturday, August 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned a 6 spd 2005 GT model since 2005, when I bought it, and it is running as good as new. I have driven this car everywhere, to include across the Country and several 10 hour I95 trips back and forth. As long as you (the owner) maintain the vehicle, as with most things, it will run forever. The worst thing about the car is that it goes through oil like crazy, but it's not even that big of a deal considering the car your driving and the 1.3l rotary engine powering it. The only thing I would like more of with the RX8, is power (the get up and go), something equivalent to a G35 or 350Z. However, considering the high RPM, handling, style and interior, and overall performance of the RX8, it's still more bang for your buck. It just depends on what you're looking for. If you're looking for a lot of "get up and go" and a car that is easily recognized, then stick with a Nissan 350Z, Infinity G35, or something else in it's class. If you're looking for an all around unique sports car and something that is AWESOME to drive, then the RX8 is an excellent choice."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 96 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda RX-8 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement