Go

2008 Mazda RX-8

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 474 Ratings for the 2004 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 95 | Next

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great looking, pleasure to drive, better than a man-cave"

Cons: "poor gas mileage, expensive to service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2004 RX8 has been an absolute joy to own. The good; It's fast, sleek looking and turns lots of heads. The power on the road is incredible as I accelerate to more than 90 mph in seconds and it's smooth as a whistle.This car is a very reliable "chic magnet" as well as a great conversation topic with the guys. The bad; My review would have been all fives if it weren't for the poor gas mileage (16 mpg in town and 19 mpg on the road) and the quirky engine flooding problem when you turn on the engine and don't give it enough time to regulate the fuel before turning it off. The ugly; the engine had to be replaced at 39,900 miles but since then the car has had no major problems."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best value

By on Saturday, October 11, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this car is awesome! it may not be the fastest car on the road, but it makes driving fast very easy. It handles like it is on rails, it's brakes are amazing. Now, gas consumption/oil cons. could be a little better, but thats the payoff of having a rotory. All in all, this car is worth EVERY penny."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Perfect Car For the true enthusiast!

By on Monday, June 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, handles superbly, Amazing style, very comfortable, very reliable (for me at least) !"

Cons: "poor fuel economy, Engine oil consumption (normal op. for rotary), small trunk, no spare tire!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owed this vehicle since November of 2009 and i couldn't be happier... Drives amazing and handles like a true race car...Has its ups and downs...but if your into having a fun drive there is no better car in it's class...Has poor fuel economy, burns oil (normal), a bit low on torque!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not practical but always been reliable

By on Friday, December 04, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned m y2007 for 2.5 years now and i have han no reliability issues, even after driving in germany at autobhan speeds for the last 2 years (bought it cause i knew i was headed to germany). I havent exactly been prompt with my oil changes...usually 2-5K miles late and still no issues. true it would be more conveinient at times to have an SUV/ familly sedan but if you get a sports car there are things that you will have to deal with. it seems people buy this car without doing very much research. you shouldnt be supprised by the fact that it consumes oil, uses premium gas, gets low gas milage or handles poorly in winter weather with stock high performance summer tires (any car would suck), it handles light snow/slush just fine with all weather tires though dry road handling diminishes (agian, this would happen in any other vehicle). If you want a quick nimble sports car and dont mind higher fuel/maintenence costs assosiaced with sports cars (and i dont mean civics, tiburons and the like, those arent even comparable) then the RX-8 may be for you. if you want a family sedan get a family sedan. dont buy a sport car, realize that it was stupid for you to get a sports car and bash said sports car because you failed to realize what you were getting yourself into."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

In the best RX tradition

By on Sunday, November 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned a RX-7 for 16 yrs and love the rotary engine. I've owned this RX-8 Shinka for 3 years now and just love it! It is not possible to skid around curves, it is so rock-solid on the road and sticks amazingly well. It is quiet, comfortable, and all controls are conveniently located and well though-out. With minimum maintenance this vehicle will last a long time. Oh, and ignore stories of massive oil usage -- they are false!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 95 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda RX-8 near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement