Go

1993 Mazda RX-7

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 56 Ratings for the 1993 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

More fun than my 911

By on Monday, May 11, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This RX7 is a better sports car than my 911 4S. It has a great deal more acceleration, and is just more fun to drive. It's light weight and low power to weight ratio and 50/50 weight distribution make it a ton of fun. The styling is better as well, with the timeless lines of the cray supercomputer designed body of the RX7 surpassing the timeless but less interesting lines of the Porsche. The distinctive humm of the rotaries makes me smile every time I drive my car and i've been driving this RX7 for 10 years. The downside? Finicky to repair, and few mechanics are capable for this type of car, and, like a 911, when something major goes wrong get ready to pay handsomely. But there are few sports cars that can compete with these cars, even after 13 years of development. These cars are incredible."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Amazing Car

By on Sunday, September 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"One of the best sports cars ever made, hands down. These cars look like they could have rolled off the assembly line yesterday, and perform equaly as well. These cars require a fair amount of upkeep that is usually required with all cars of this caliber. I wouldn't recomend this car to anyone who is not willing to learn about its unique engine, complicated turbo system, or is not willing to work on it themself. As many people have stated, most Mazda dealerships are not up to the task of working on them. These cars are not made of glass like most people make them out to be, mine has never left me stranded and it gets driven like it was meant to. If you are looking to buy one know they are a pure sports car, there are no cup holders and not a lot of storage room or leg room for that matter. But, if you want to go fast, turn on a dime and out-perform cars that cost ten times what these do then this is the car for you. Overall, it is a great car to own, by far the most fun car I have ever driven, definitely unique and pretty reliable with good maintenance."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

a civilized race car

By on Wednesday, November 2, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fast, fast, FAST...nimble and fun."

Cons: "kidney killing ride, high maintenance costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Mazda got it all right with this car. Perfect weight balance, incredible power-to-weight ratio, supercar performance at a reasonable price. No wonder all the major car magazines raved about it, with at least one naming it 'Car of the Year'. Twenty years after its debut, this car will still turn heads with its timeless styling and fantastic performance. The low volume (about 15,000 cars only) sold in the U.S. over the three years they were available ensures you that this is a car you don't see very often, so if you are looking for a car that really stands out from the crowd the 3rd generation RX7 is the vehicle for you."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Pure Fun on wheels

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Timeless Pure Powerful Sexy FUN"

Cons: "a lot of care and attention compared to a Honda"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Still turning heads at 16 years old. 1995 RX-7

"This car is not meant for anyone that doesn't Love to drive. I crack a smile just looking at it in the garage. Granted it takes more care ($) than a Honda but every penny is so worth it when it launches out of a hairpin turn clawing the asphalt for traction like it was nothing more than a walk in the park. Few drivers will ever know what this car is capable of. It's limits are so far beyond what can be done legally on the street. You have to get use to heads turning, fingers pointing and explaining "no pistons". Stock is insanely powerful for the street and Modified units should come with life insurance. You can buy more dependable transportation but you will have to remind me why."

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Still turning heads at 16 years old. 1995 RX-7

Great sports car for the money

By on Sunday, April 17, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have driven RX7's for over 25 yrs. This sequential twin turbo has all the power & a fun ride. Limited quanity made this a head turner car that is great for the money. Has retained value and a pleasure to drive. Recommend to anyone."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda RX-7 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement