Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2003 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 259 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Love it

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun at any speed"

Cons: "Ride is a little rough, but who cares"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"15 years old still handles like new The most fun to drive"

Best poor man's sports car since the MGB went out.

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best poor man's sports car since the MGB went out."

Cons: "Tonneau covers are impossible to find."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When the last MGB was sold in the US in 1980 (after suffering all the import emissions and safety requirements that killed that car) the Miata came in to fill that market with a new (affordable) version of the 2 seater roadster in 1989. Performance and reliability were added, Lucas electronics and twin SU carburetors were dumped. I loved my MG(s) but I think I loved my Miata(s) a little better. Mac"

Handles great, needs more power, deadly reliable

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "Average 25 mpg; not great for such a small car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've never had a mechanical failure of any kind. I'm the second owner, and in the seven years I've had it, the car hasn't needed anything except fluid changes...oil, trans,and differential; not even a blown fuse. It handles great, but I wouldn't have gotten it with power steering. The car needs to have 200 horsepower; not the 140+ it has, and if it did, it would be as much fun to drive as a base Porsche Boxster, at a lot less money. Even with new Miatas, they are still under powered...or I think they are. These days, economy cars have over a 200 horsepower, so a sports car not being able to outrun a Toyota Corolla, Nissan Altima, or a V.W. Golf, or just about every other car in a straight line, is just ridiculous. Yeah, it handles better than all of those kinda cars, but it should since that is what you have to look forward to when you have a car as low as it is, and with such a short wheelbase. It's a great car, but with 60 more horsepower it would be impossible to catch on a curvy road, and if it had just 250 horsepower, it would be a world class sports car; then it would have Porsche performance, and unmatched Japanese reliability. Imagine Porsche performance, and not having to see a Porsche dealer for constant expensive maintenance/repairs, or doing anything but oil changes for 100,000 miles."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best used car I ever bought

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Plenty of power, super fun to drive."

Cons: "hard to drive with coffee in the car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this way below blue book, and love it. Perfect car for me. It was always kept in a garage so the paint ( original) is pristine and interior is also. I have all the extras except the rear spoiler and would not have wanted that anyway. This is a numbered car as only so many were made, and fewer were sold in the U.S. My number is in the first 1000. As far as performance, not one problem and rides much smoother than earlier models of Miatas'. I would recommend one to someone who is not shy of small cars. as this is a small car, with lots of leg room ( my 6'5'' son fits right in).Not so good if you are wider in the girth, harder to get in and out."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A joy to drive.

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive."

Cons: "Small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Miata is a great joy to drive. Excellent handling, Nardi Steering feels like part of your body. Have enjoyed owning this car but ready to part with it."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Clean, garage kept

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Manual top goes on and off in a snap"

Cons: "Uncomfortable for taller people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My son's car. He Decided to sell it. He cannot use it without a parking hassle (he lives in NYC)I've been storing it in my garage. I start it periodically and drive it locally just to make sure the battery won't go dead and too keep it currently driveable."

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Love Sports cars, This is my 5th Miata

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable easy to maneuver."

Cons: "None...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned my SE British Racing Green Miata for the past 13 yrs, no problems except a few mos ago, a hydraulic seal in the clutch went out. This Special Edition has all the bells and whistles, like chrome wheels, Bose sound system, wood trim and leather interior. Have gotten so many compliments, even being a 2001! My car and I have been aging gracefully! I really like the quality and looks of a Mazda!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Fun, flirty and fast.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great vehocle for the price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome vehicle for fun and relaxation. Hugs the curves of the road and has power that you would not believe. One of the best, relaible vehicles I have ever owned."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sleek, Sporty, Dependable & a good looker

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "attractive car. fun to drive. powerful."

Cons: "Radio/cd player not all that. Sound is not good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second miata. I miss my old 1994. It had good sound, leather seats and cruise control. My newer one 1999 has no cruise control. Seats are comforable. View is great while driving. I fit perfectly inside. It has a sleek design that gets the looks. Wheels could of been a better grade."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

drives like a dream

By on Wednesday, January 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it has 75000 miles recently replaced radiator ac battery and new tires a great car for the price."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Have driven this car very aggressively ...

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Right tires and it sticks to road."

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"... for 11 yrs. and it has never let me down. Only repairs I have had to do were a new gas cap and O2 sensors. Had one experience at "Tail of the Dragon" with an off duty local cop who was behind me on a bike. He drove the 11 mile, 318 curves quite frequently. He was finally able to pass me about 1/2 way through. At the end, all he could say was "I didn't know Miatas could handle that well. If you could have gotten 5mph faster I would have gotten into my regular groove on the course." Fun fun fun car to drive. NOT just for chics."

i would buy it again

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it with 63000 miles, has 101,000 Very fun car very reliable The only thing I would improve is the head lights which are rather dim a commom feature of the 99 to 2000. Parts are cheap for maintenance which are few. I have replaced radiator,water pump & timing belt plus usual maintenance items This car is very fun and easy to drive and park."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

My Retirement Toy

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "FUN to drive, easy parking and just exhilarating"

Cons: "Getting in and out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Thisis my fourth Mazda but my first Miata and I love it. It's also my first convertible and the drop top is awesome. It's very easy to put back up. The handling is terrific -- parking is fantastic. You do feel almost every little bump in the road but, hey, it's a roadster! I've only had it for 3 months but would do it again in a heartbeat."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most fun

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most fun car ever, and I've driven much higher performance cars. The 2000 model is beautiful. Not so much with the new ones with the sappy grin."

Happy! Happy! Happy!

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great sound system, droptop, great all round car."

Cons: "Must be 5'10" or less to have the top up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and have loved it from the day of delivery until someday in the distant future. I love being able to drop the top and enjoy surround sunshine anytime I choose. The Bose stereo sounds great to this day. The gas mileage has been better than promised. The car is cool and I know because it stops kids on the sidewalk dead in their tracks. I have NEVER in my life made a purchase that left me more satisfied."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My third Miata, the best.

By on Sunday, September 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "This car gets up and goes. Fun to drive."

Cons: "Hard for me to get in & out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I thought my first Miata MX5 was the best as was my second. Then when I purchased the MX5 Speed that was special. This car has never been in an accident or even scratched Has been garaged since purchased. This car is showroom vehicle. My legs give me trouble getting in or out."

Summer fun

By on Thursday, August 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great styling"

Cons: "Prone to rust in Northern states, ( like Michigan)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car reminds of the British sports cars of the 60's & 70's without the headaches. Lots of fun to drive. If you're the, least bit handy, you can do a lot of the maintenance yourself."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I have owned, everyday driver

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Lots of fun"

Cons: "DO NOT USE IN SNOW!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Pretty good car for the money, keep changing the oil, tires, and it goes "zoom zoom"! I'm glad it doesn't have much more power, I'd get in trouble with more HP."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2005 Mazdaspeed MX-5

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Strong pickup from turbo, almost everything else!"

Cons: "Weak A/C, not much trunk/storage space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Lava Orange Mica

"Wow! So much fun in such a small package. Very rare model; Mazda only made this model two years, 2004 & 2005. The turbo, suspension, wheels, tires, Bose stereo, 6-speed, short-throw transmission, etc., all add up to a great package of fun and value."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Lava Orange Mica

Best looking and behaving sports car for price.

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, best model appearance"

Cons: "???"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Miata. I love the handling, the low maintenance, the overall durability but more than anything the styling. I would buy another Miata in a minute if it looked like this one. Newer is definitely not always better. Miata manufacturers, what happened?"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best looking and behaving sports car for price.

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, best model appearance"

Cons: "???"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Miata. I love the handling, the low maintenance, the overall durability but more than anything the styling. I would buy another Miata in a minute if it looked like this one. Newer is definitely not always better. Miata manufacturers, what happened?"

I have owned lots of Miatas. The best cars ever.

By on Friday, June 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Great value and dependable"

Cons: "you need good snow tires for winter driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These cars last forever and are trouble free."

Way too much fun to drive without a silly smile.

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Happiness is a Miata pink slip."

Cons: "Too much fun to drive, but 30 mpg mitigates all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rule number one, of course, is to find an absolutely brilliant Miata shop. Ask your local Miata club for their recommendation, and pamper your car the way you yourself would like to be pampered. I have built show bikes and show cars, but my little 99 ragtop has most graciously coped with my cavalier driving style. Four round trips from San Francisco to Chicago in the past 2 years, and another scenic cruise is imminent. As president Carter once explained in a Playboy interview, sometimes you just have lust in your heart. For me, it's the Mazda Miata."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great second car. . . fun to drive. . .

By on Sunday, April 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "Not good for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car for fun-driving with the top down. Not the best for LONG trips, unless going to the beach, then it's worth the drive to have it there. I'd never want to be without one of these cars. . . just too much fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Sports Car Ever Made

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Simple, well designed sports car"

Cons: "Not for long distance trips, weak anti-sway bars."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The 2003 Miata is a GREAT sports car. The only shortcoming is weak anti-sway bars, which are easily replaced with after market bars. If you love simple, Miata still did that until 2005. Mine has NO ABS, Anti Traction Control, Roll Over Sensors, TPMS or electric roof. It's simple and great fun to drive. It is also easy to service and repair. Well designed in every way. Mine has a problem with the intermittent monitors for emissions control that no one is able to diagnose, but it runs great and I'm committed to the car for the duration. Get the 6 speed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details