Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2002 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 263 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

I have owned lots of Miatas. The best cars ever.

By on Friday, June 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Great value and dependable"

Cons: "you need good snow tires for winter driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These cars last forever and are trouble free."

Way too much fun to drive without a silly smile.

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Happiness is a Miata pink slip."

Cons: "Too much fun to drive, but 30 mpg mitigates all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rule number one, of course, is to find an absolutely brilliant Miata shop. Ask your local Miata club for their recommendation, and pamper your car the way you yourself would like to be pampered. I have built show bikes and show cars, but my little 99 ragtop has most graciously coped with my cavalier driving style. Four round trips from San Francisco to Chicago in the past 2 years, and another scenic cruise is imminent. As president Carter once explained in a Playboy interview, sometimes you just have lust in your heart. For me, it's the Mazda Miata."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great second car. . . fun to drive. . .

By on Sunday, April 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "Not good for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car for fun-driving with the top down. Not the best for LONG trips, unless going to the beach, then it's worth the drive to have it there. I'd never want to be without one of these cars. . . just too much fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Sports Car Ever Made

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Simple, well designed sports car"

Cons: "Not for long distance trips, weak anti-sway bars."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The 2003 Miata is a GREAT sports car. The only shortcoming is weak anti-sway bars, which are easily replaced with after market bars. If you love simple, Miata still did that until 2005. Mine has NO ABS, Anti Traction Control, Roll Over Sensors, TPMS or electric roof. It's simple and great fun to drive. It is also easy to service and repair. Well designed in every way. Mine has a problem with the intermittent monitors for emissions control that no one is able to diagnose, but it runs great and I'm committed to the car for the duration. Get the 6 speed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

More Fun than a Roller Coaster

By on Tuesday, April 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun and Reliable,"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car handles very well and just makes you want to aggressively take it through curse and turns. Its reliability makes for a carefree automotive experience. The only negative is egress if you are over 50. Buy this car, you will not regret it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car lots of fun. Top down is the way to roll

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very responsive ,runs tight and true to the road"

Cons: "6th gear is a little difficult to locate."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my Miata MX-5 for 5 yrs. What a fun car on the twisties. Going up Hwy. 1 on the central coast of Calif. from Cambria to Carmel and back is just pure fun. Don't rush,stop often and enjoy the views of the Coastline. If you don't like the views along the Big Sur Coastline try just slowly crusing the the back road of San Luis Obispo county during the wine grape harvest. Now that is living ! Miatas were made for fun!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "The definition of FUN!!!"

Cons: "Have replaced 2 catalytic converters in 14 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1999 10th AE Miata and I are inseperable. However, I have to have some serious work done on it. Only 7,500 of these were made in the world. Mine is #3696. I really don't want to sell it but I don't know much it is going to cost to fix it up. It still looks beautiful but needs a new power window motor; interior air conditioning motor; and the engine light won't go off. The technicians at the Miata dealership said it was the solinoid. Then the next day, the engine light came on again. So, the tech told me it needed something that goes with the solonoid. Then the next day, the engine light came on again. The tech told me his manual said their manual said the engine needed replacing. I don't believe his diagnosis but I have no specialist I can trust with my car around here. It also needs a new canvas top. If I could put 2K to 3K in my beauty and get it back to prestige condition, I'm sure I'd keep it forever. Any suggestions from any car gurus out there? The car still flies and takes curves better than any other vehicle on the market with the possible exception of the old MGB's."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun and cheap to own. Great on fuel

By on Sunday, March 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great fuel economy."

Cons: "Expensive to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Easy to handle. Parking is a snap and chicks love it. whats not to love !!!"

My first vehicle purchased

By on Tuesday, March 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "50/50 weight dist'n, steering, suspension"

Cons: "clutch inferior to new Hondas,uncomfortable seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I flew across country (MN to AZ) to pick up my silver 2001 LS with 17" rims, chrome style bar and leather interior, and most importantly a rust free body. I drove it the 2,000 miles home in February with no issues and it has been a champ back here since then. I had been looking at something fun to drive that didn't need to be that practical since I have a '97 Buick with 200k+ miles that's still running strong to fill in as my winter car. This Miata will take the pressure off the Regal and is WAY more fun to drive. I regularly go on rides purely for pleasure, and blasting the tunes from an iPod through a tape adapter works just fine for those jaunts."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely love my miata. No issues ever!

By on Thursday, January 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "small, drives well, not too expensive, fun, no iss"

Cons: "small, no back seat, light wait, leaks through top"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My Miata is 14 years old. I have had it for 5 years now and it still runs like it did when I bought it. It is small but very comfortable for anyone not too tall or big. It drives wonderfully and has never had to go in the shop. If you like small cars that are fun to drive, you will love a Mazda Miata!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Most fun you can have with your pants on

By on Monday, September 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Not a lot of room for your stuff, and very little in the way of creature comforts, however this car is a blast to drive and own. Would rather have this as a weekend car and not my 7-day a week daily driver, but it's reliable enough that I know I will never be stranded by my little Miata. Loads of fun even with only 140hp"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love this car, daily driver, garage kept

By on Tuesday, September 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Light, quick enough for me, great MPG"

Cons: "Getting to old to get out of it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really like this auto. I was suspect at first, however I have now driven it 100,000 miles and have very few repairs ever done. It's been in a number of accidents before I got it at 47K in 2006, I hit a deer in 2009 and the insurance company had no issue of putting 5K into repairs. The steering is spot on and no abnormal tire wear at all. They built these things really well. I'm totally impressed with the durability of this auto. Everyone is right, don't bother sliding this thing in snow even though its fun! I get 32 MPG all the time. If the thing had more power, I wouldn't be around much longer."

Fabulous Car!

By on Tuesday, July 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great gas mileage, fabulous color!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car in 2006 when it was 3 years old. I love it! It is not only fun to drive, it gets great gas mileage. I average 25 in town and 30 on the road. And the color is that lovely aqua.... Love it!!!!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good sports car

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Slightly uncomfortable on long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

1999 Mazda Miata is the best year ever

"Fun with the top down and easy to manually operate the convertible top. You get waves from other Miata drivers on the road! Great gas mileage, I've been getting 30MPG without the air conditioning on. Cup holders in an awkward position. This model uses regular gas (newer models require premium)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1999 Mazda Miata is the best year ever

Very surprising

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun,reliable and a good value."

Cons: "Very small and not good in snow or ice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I was a little nervous about buying a two seater at first but after a few weeks most of my fears were replaced by alot good feelings.It"s fun to drive and have had no real re pairs of any kind.Those are two really big plusses!But the car is very small and I doubt most drivers over 6 feet wiil be comfortable for long drives in this car.Also this car does not do well in snow and ice.I"m not sure there"s any way around that.Overall I think it"s a fun reliable car to own and the positives outweigh the negatives."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Price, fun to drive, agile, and easy to drive."

Cons: "no cup holders, cant carry much/more than 2 people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Incredible for cruising around with the top down. Price, convenience, size, power, all great. The bad however is the stigma attached to the car, if you don't know of it, don't bother. And the size is problematic at times, like when I want to take more than 1 person somewhere."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Most fun-Best Car

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun for the money"

Cons: "Dog on lap or floor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Most fun-Best Car-Driving Dynamics-Reliability Quality"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Cornering Car Ever

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive, looks good topless!"

Cons: "Doesn't get 100 MPG. :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The center of gravity is smack in the middle of the driver's seat. This is not a fast car like a Corvette or anything, but it corners like nothing else. Back before the BMW Z4 came out, BMW Magazine said (paraphrasing) "you can buy the Z3 and have a lot of fun, or you can buy a Miata and have just as much fun for a lot less money...". I was sold."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent care and maintaince, loads of fun

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"color- British Racing Green with tan cloth-like top ,excellent care and maintaince throughout ownership, leather seats, Bose audio, duel cup holders, wood -like center panel, wood steering wheel and shift knob"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

6 years, and Not 1 problem

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good gas mileage, cool looking,"

Cons: "Room, rear window?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is by far the best I have ever owned reliability wise. Don't hesitate to purchase if your looking for one! Almost PERFECT!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun to drive (5 speed), reliable, good product for

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good value for sports car-fun to drive"

Cons: "Hard to enter/exit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed this vehicle for almost 5 years and use as my daily transportation . The Miata handles great and is economical to operate. Have 165, 000 miles on vehicle and purchased w/ approximately 43,000 in Sept of 07. Only one problem w/car and dealership repaired; we're zoom-zoom again... Keeping new tires or shaving them after approx 25,000 miles helps the ride. The cornering, acceleration, traffic maneuvering and parking abilities are great. I am only considering selling because my wife will not drive a manuel and seats are not comfortable to her. I am 64 and entrance and exiting is a problem for some. You, as the primary driver, must remember this is a "2002 sports car" and the 2011's (I test drove) provide a better ride. I really enjoy the easily raised and lowered soft top. I added a luggage rack for our box fan and other needs. The levers for the gas cap and trunk openers are inconveniently placed. I've almost decided to keep it because: "it's so much fun to drive" ...."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most fun car with a great overall value

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent handling, top down driving, value"

Cons: "only 7500 10th AE were made heh"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have ever owned. It is super fun to drive around and for the price it easily is the best value roadster and sports car money can buy. Plus these seem to be very reliable and they hold their value very well over time. As it is the 10th AE special edition, the owners tend to look after it with a lot of care and therefore if you find one then it is a very good buy. I simply love my Miata. It is a lot of fun to drive it around even on wet roads."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

FUN FUN Drive

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Low cost of ownership, handling and FUN to drive."

Cons: "Tight ride on rough roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Passenger side rear view.

"I have the LS model with the blue leather package. The car is as fun to drive as reported by many other owners. I never thought I would rejoy a U-turn as much as I do. Althought this is a small car, my wife don't feel too close for comfort. The combination of reliablity and handling make this an idea weekend car."

Passenger side rear view.

A Drivers car

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive, easy to repair, very reliable"

Cons: "no cup holders, no storage space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Group cruise

"The 00 Miata LS is an excellent car if you like to actually drive a car as it was intended to be driven. This car is not a gas sipper. It it meant to be ridden hard, and often put up wet. The stock suspension is quite stiff and you may surprise yourself at the forgiving feel of this car in high speed turns and raw cornering ability. Additionally there is an enormous following of enthusiasts for this car. It is possible to spin this car easily in wet conditions. Some design flaws inherent to the 00 Miata LS: if you purchase a california version of this car (As opposed to a federal emmisions version). You will find a cast iron exhaust manifold with an inline catalytic converter that costs nearly $1000 to replace when the cat goes bad. This can be cheaply replaced with an after market header. Or simply an exhaust manifold from a federal emmisions vesion Miata. Coil pack placement. This car uses coil packs in the ignition system to control spark. The coil packs are located between the firewall and the valve cover. This is a very hot location, and the coil packs are prone to failure if they become saturated with grease due to a failed valve cover gasket. Quite expensive to replace. Main thrust bearing. This is generally not an issue after 36000 miles, as the faulty bearing has always presented itself before 36000 miles. This failure could potentially mean you're in the market for a new engine. Rain Rail: The OEM rain rail that the top dumps water into tends to become brittle with age and crack. Check the trunk and parcel shelf for dampness before you purchase this. You will need to remove the top to replace the rain rail. Interior: Aesthetically this car is gorgeous. But it's not particularly comfortable for people over 5' 11". At 5'9" myself, it feels like this car was designed for me specifically, as everything is within perfect distance for me to reach everything in the car without strain. The 00 LS center console could have been done better however. Exterior: It is a beautiful car to admire, and very easy to clean and wax as you can reach everything on it easily due to its low stance. There are several appearance packages available, and the stock ground effects really enhance the appearance. It's a very noticeable car, and people may pick on you out of jealousy. Ease of mechanics: This car is very easy to work on. Surprisingly there is a fair amount of room in the engine bay so you don't feel cramped when you're working on it. The only time you do have issues is when changing the oil. It's not in a very practical spot. I reccomend removing the passenger front tire to change the oil filter. I drive my miata daily, and it is always a joy to drive. The only thing that is missing is a bit more horse power."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Group cruise

My favorite of the 11 cars I've owned, handling!!!

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, handling is excellent!"

Cons: "Needs a little more trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best handling I've ever had, easy to work on, and just plain fun"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals