Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2002 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 267 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next

Thrill to drive, very well engineered

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A thrill!"

Cons: "NONE AT ALL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

What a beautiful line.

"I absolutely love this car! If I could give more points, I would. With about 245,000 miles on it, it still performs extremely well. With 240,000 on it, I let a friend, who races dirt bikes, drive it. He drove it hard around sharp, steep curves. He couldn't believe how well it performed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

What a beautiful line.

A ton of fun - believe the hype!

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Zippy and light, wonderful handling, great HVAC"

Cons: "Loud and bumpy at times, Bose system is eh"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Excellent car thus far, although I haven't had it long. For an old car it feels brand new and still looks stylish and sharp (although a bit... playful.) Driving dynamics feel wonderful and the interior is as comfortable as a little sports car could be. The suspension is tight and speedbumps feel devastating, and it's loud and revvy on the highway. The car is small and certainly not suitable for everyone, but if you can get one of these even as a weekend cruiser, you won't regret it. I've driven German luxury cars and have quite simply never had as much FUN as the Miata offers."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Worry-free ownership!

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and except for a headlamp recall and routine maintenance it has never been in the garage. Fun car to drive! Not much room but you have to realize that when purchasing. Highly recommend the Mazda Miata!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun, reliable, classic roadster

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "a blast to drive, economical, styling"

Cons: "could use more torque, a bit cramped if over 6'3""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you love to drive, and have another car for practical purposes, the Mazda Miata is a modern affordable classic. The looks won't go out of style, neither will the fun you will have.I owned a MG's and a Triumph in the past. Both cars were great fun, but they consistantly left me stranded on the side of the road. The Miata has been flawless in the 35 thousand miles I've owned her."

Really fun car to drive.Handles like a Go Kart.

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A drop top race car"

Cons: "Too much for this 70yo guy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 2002, Has Hard Dog roll bar, Racing Beat headers, Racing Beat dual exhaust, Koni adjustable shocks, Always garaged and never driven in winter, Ziebart diamond gloss and yearly reapplication since new, Bridgestone Potenza tires with less than 5000 miles on them."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals