Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2001 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 260 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Great sports car

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "highly reliable"

Cons: "not very comfortable on long drives"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used in 2002 with 18k miles and have used it as a daily driver since. The only problems I've had is the battery will just suddenly fail and recently it's been having symptoms of the infamous low idle problem. This car is great for challenging roads and I really enjoy driving with the top down which is really easy to raise and lower. There are lots of performance mods that can be installed very easily which can make a difference with the undersized 1.8L engine. I would not recommend this car to someone who is over 6' or wants comfort. It is a roadster after all."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome car for the price. super performance.

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "This car wants to be driven!"

Cons: "tires are $$$ and hard to find."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car looks great, runs great, and turns heads"

Reliable, inexpensive to own, drivers car

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliabilty, Handling, Cost of ownership"

Cons: "Too small for tall drivers, noisy harsh ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the 2001 Miata in 2004 with only 12,800 miles on it - it now has 132,000. Mostly highway and back road driving for fun and commuting. I have never had a costly repair - once I replaced a leaky $250 seal in brakes (but could have ignored it it was so slow)that is it. Brakes went 102K. Living in the NW with lots of rain it has never leaked. Top goes up/down easily. Winter commuting @ 28-29MPG Summer 29-30MPG - Premium Fuel with Mobile 1 oil"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

FUN!

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. Handles Great."

The Corners Wont Know What Hit Them

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun, about 3k used, lots of upgrades, long lasting"

Cons: "no cup holders, soft top can tear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My car after the rain

"Fun car that zips around corners and flies through the gears! Amazing on gas, with my 4cyl 28.7mpg regularly. On longer trips, if I hyper-mile it, I can get about 32.1 mpg. I am the third owner, putting over 47,000 miles on the car thus far. My willingness to trade up is hard measure with a car like this. Yes it is a two seat-er, so only your best friend is coming along with you and the convertible top is TO DIE FOR on clear starry nights. Imagine sharing an experience like that with someone you love on a trip back from the beach or a movie."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My car after the rain

A joy to drive. Best total value sports car.

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Side view mirror control location, cabin lighting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great looks, always get complements from guys"

love this car

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car 2 years ago with 10000 miles, was in an estate, love love love this car wouldnt change a thing about it. I am a 60 year old woman, you can imagine the looks, but ITS ALL MINE. My other vehicle is a Dodge 4wd with a Hemi, this Miata is great"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for price. Holds it's value. Reliable."

Cons: "Might be too small for larger people. Road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, quick, corners very nice. Roomy trunk. Might be too small for large people. Fun car."

Maria's Miata

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, very easy to park!"

Cons: "Two bad cuphodlers, window controls are in center"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car after my VW Beetle was rear ended. I wanted to stick with something small and I couldn't resist the cute, red convertible that I saw while car shopping. Since then my Miata has been very reliable. I do all of the regualar maintainence (Oil Changes and all that jazz). It hasn't given me any trouble! Plus, it's really fun to drive. The only things I would critque: It does take a while to warm up. Winter mornings aren't very fun. If your taller than 5'6, you may want to reconsider this car. (I'm a very proud 5'5, but all of my tall friends refuse to ride with me. Which can be good!)And lastly, the convertible top does let in a LOT of air, especially on the highway. Which can make having a conversation difficult. But maybe it's just time to replace it!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fun reliable car

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a fun car to drive. Very responsive and easy on gas (28-30 mpg."

I Love this car! Ton's of Fun to drive!

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Cons: "Not so good in snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great on curves! ...not so great in snow :[ Best vehicle purchase I ever made! Purchased New."

Most favorite car I've ever owned!

By on Saturday, December 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "easy handling, price, stylish, fast"

Cons: "hard to get in or out of, handles poorly in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Miata is my family's second and these are the most fun cars in Spring and Summer! The Miata handles flawlessly. However, with rear wheel drive they are HORRIBLE in winter and in wet conditions!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The perfect sports car

By on Tuesday, November 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive. Bulletproof mechanicals"

Cons: "Not built for long distance high speed trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car the British tried for 50 years to build. A well balanced, well engineered, reasonably priced, reliable sports car. Plenty of power, good mileage, a high quality top that can be lowered or raised in 60 seconds from the driver's seat. The low gearing, even with the 6 speed transmission, makes it a little busy at super highway speeds but through the twisties at moderate speeds its great fun. Kudos to Mazda for sticking their neck out for a niche market"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A real driver's car

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great value, good resale"

Cons: "warm foot wells in summer from the engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful car to own. Runs great with required maintenance. I have had my Miata for six years and have had no issues except for regular wear and tear. I also do a lot of my own work since it is easy to maneuver around the engine. Anyone should own it, young or old. It will bring a smile to your face every time you step into it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

favorite car I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, low maintenance"

Cons: "too small for some people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"even after 10 years, I still love driving this car. It is still responsive, powerful and loves the curves!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun island car with easy convertible up/down.

By on Monday, November 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy up/down convertible"

Cons: "Small trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great island car with easy up/down convertible. Everything is at your fingertips. Great car around turns as it hugs the road. Very sporty and fun for two people. Parking is a breeze and can fit almost anywhere. Cold A/C, great sounds and dependable."

This is a British sports car made by the Japanese.

By on Sunday, November 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Most reasonably priced sports car on the market."

Cons: "Not good on snow and ice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best of both worlds. Fun to drive. Incredibly reliable. In 7 years and 121,000 miles the only trouble I've had is with the CD player. Not a good car on ice or snow."

BEST CAR EVER!!!

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "extremely fun to drive"

Cons: "poor cup holder, little trunk space, not for snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Miata used in 2003 with 73k. Eight years later I still LOVE driving this car. It's been remarkable reliable and still handles like a dream. Repairs have been minor with the exception of normal wear and tear and upkeep on a car that still purrrs at 208k! Every car has it's plusses and minuses. I've used my Miata as my everyday car. It's not great in bad weather and can fishtail in the snow, being light weight and RWD (but great for doing donuts in empty parking lots!) I've not been happy with the cup holder located within the middle console (spilled my coffee many times when taking a turn.) Also keep in mind you have very limited trunk space and only room for 1 passenger. If you can live with that and are considering a Miata then be prepared to take your car on the most twisty, windy roads you can find and be smiling non-stop!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best all time sports convertible bar none

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cost efficient, fuel efficient, worry free fun!!!"

Cons: "I don't have any complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Alfa Romeo Spiders from the 70s to the 90s, MGs, Sunbeams, Jaguars, etc etc but the Miata made a big change in sports car driving for me... it took the red out...red being the bad side of the balance sheet after repairs, towing and maintenance on PREVIOUS sports cars. It put the green in...green being the big go go go an no no no worries! The top raises and lowers easily, the interior is one step under a Jag with supple leather, a well designed dash, enough amenities to be useful without distracting, a Bose stereo system that still works perfectly, an ac that cools no matter how hot and humid it is outside and a ride that is a great balance between bottom-busting roadster and mini lux. Get it? Spend the money, keep her in oil and gas, buy very decent tires that actually have some rubber on the road (I use Yokohama and they work well with the Miata as they did with all my other sports cars) and just drive it til you or the car expires!!! Highly recommend the 2003. I owned a 1995 before it and it was just a tad too small. TIP: Buy a light or bright color so people can see you coming."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable and fun to drive

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Top down driving excitement"

Cons: "Can't drive in deep snow but who wants to!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Miata is for those who loved the British sportscars of the 1960's and 1970's but want/need a reliable car. Less than a minute to drop the top along with extremely responsive handling adds to the fun factor at a fraction of the price of a Porsche or similar sportscar. The Miata is perfect whether you're going to the grocery store or driving on the track. It has an extremely high "smiles per mile" rating. This car is not for those who seek comfort but is definitely for those who are looking for a fun yet inexpensive sports car experience."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun ride for the money

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reasonably priced, very well built and reliable"

Cons: "Tight cabin space, small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 5th Miata since 1995. My 2005 is my everyday car. It has outstanding handling and road feel. The whole car is solid. While there is plenty of road noise there are no squeks or rattles. Cabin room is tight, however, and combined with the stiff suspension driving fatiuge is a possiblity on rides over 2 hours. This is a car you can push hard through the gears. Gear changes are snappy and responsive. Acceleration is not snappy but on in-town or on country roads its more then enough to keep driving interesting. The convertible top is hand operated and is not cumbersome. In fact, it's faster then an electric top. The trunk will just fit two medium size golf bags with no room to spare. All in all this is a sports car as that breed of cars once was a few gerations ago. It is a very personal vehicle intended to connect its driver to the road and the surroundings; not to insulate the driver or to provide distractions. If a Harley Davidson was a car it would be a Mazda Miata."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love, Love, LOVE this car...

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING from looks to fun to drive...turbo yes!"

Cons: "none short of bring back my RX7"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned it since Day 1. I have only replaced the tires and that VERY recently. I simply love driving it and have driven it VERY long distances without getting that uncomfortable feeling. The only negative I can come up with is that I did love my RX7's more."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Sunday, October 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lots of fun with my family with this thing...would reccomend it..."

really good car in really good conditions

By on Thursday, September 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"runs good its in really good conditons not alot of milage and confortable.. all original parts has non problem at all"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car. I drive it every day.

By on Sunday, August 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE THIS CAR!!! Great design lines. Sporty feel with enough horsepower to enjoy it. Comfortable and responsive. Great Bose stereo. Reliable. 30 MPG. If I would change anything it would be the upholstery. It started cracking early on and now I have had to recover the drivers bottom seat. The upper half will be next."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals