Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

1999 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 257 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

My Retirement Toy

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "FUN to drive, easy parking and just exhilarating"

Cons: "Getting in and out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Thisis my fourth Mazda but my first Miata and I love it. It's also my first convertible and the drop top is awesome. It's very easy to put back up. The handling is terrific -- parking is fantastic. You do feel almost every little bump in the road but, hey, it's a roadster! I've only had it for 3 months but would do it again in a heartbeat."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most fun

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most fun car ever, and I've driven much higher performance cars. The 2000 model is beautiful. Not so much with the new ones with the sappy grin."

Happy! Happy! Happy!

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great sound system, droptop, great all round car."

Cons: "Must be 5'10" or less to have the top up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and have loved it from the day of delivery until someday in the distant future. I love being able to drop the top and enjoy surround sunshine anytime I choose. The Bose stereo sounds great to this day. The gas mileage has been better than promised. The car is cool and I know because it stops kids on the sidewalk dead in their tracks. I have NEVER in my life made a purchase that left me more satisfied."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My third Miata, the best.

By on Sunday, September 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "This car gets up and goes. Fun to drive."

Cons: "Hard for me to get in & out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I thought my first Miata MX5 was the best as was my second. Then when I purchased the MX5 Speed that was special. This car has never been in an accident or even scratched Has been garaged since purchased. This car is showroom vehicle. My legs give me trouble getting in or out."

Summer fun

By on Thursday, August 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great styling"

Cons: "Prone to rust in Northern states, ( like Michigan)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car reminds of the British sports cars of the 60's & 70's without the headaches. Lots of fun to drive. If you're the, least bit handy, you can do a lot of the maintenance yourself."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I have owned, everyday driver

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Lots of fun"

Cons: "DO NOT USE IN SNOW!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Pretty good car for the money, keep changing the oil, tires, and it goes "zoom zoom"! I'm glad it doesn't have much more power, I'd get in trouble with more HP."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2005 Mazdaspeed MX-5

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Strong pickup from turbo, almost everything else!"

Cons: "Weak A/C, not much trunk/storage space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Lava Orange Mica

"Wow! So much fun in such a small package. Very rare model; Mazda only made this model two years, 2004 & 2005. The turbo, suspension, wheels, tires, Bose stereo, 6-speed, short-throw transmission, etc., all add up to a great package of fun and value."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Lava Orange Mica

Best looking and behaving sports car for price.

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, best model appearance"

Cons: "???"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Miata. I love the handling, the low maintenance, the overall durability but more than anything the styling. I would buy another Miata in a minute if it looked like this one. Newer is definitely not always better. Miata manufacturers, what happened?"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best looking and behaving sports car for price.

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, best model appearance"

Cons: "???"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Miata. I love the handling, the low maintenance, the overall durability but more than anything the styling. I would buy another Miata in a minute if it looked like this one. Newer is definitely not always better. Miata manufacturers, what happened?"

I have owned lots of Miatas. The best cars ever.

By on Friday, June 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Great value and dependable"

Cons: "you need good snow tires for winter driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These cars last forever and are trouble free."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals