Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

1997 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 170 Ratings for the 1990 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Fun and reliable car

By on Thursday, September 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned a 96 Miata for 3 years now and I've loved every minute of it!"

bulletproof little car

By on Thursday, August 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my Miata new in 1991. It still has the original clutch, shocks and exhaust. (Though I'm putting a little bit racier exhaust on, and better shocks.) The car has had no issues at all in 19 years, except for when the zipper in the top breaks, which has happened twice. It was my only car for a few years and did just great hauling horse feed and groceries. I would not sell it for 10 times book value; it's like one of my horses!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great lil ride

By on Saturday, August 21, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"my husband bought this car back in 2002 and the car needed tlc after getting minor repairs done it's a great car my miata is equipped with automatic trans still have it drive daily will keep it until it has to be retired"

Love The Car

By on Monday, August 02, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Just overall good quality and fun to drive car"

very fast vehicle

By on Saturday, July 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i was able to get my 95 miata up to 90 mph, i know thats not saying much, but i was only in 3rd gear, with 2 gears left to go"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Thursday, July 29, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"34 Mpg. Always work. Easy to work on. Old school, everything is easy accesable. Even changing the convertible top was easy, done in about 2 hours first time. Fun to drive. Good power for size. Easy to mount turbo inn. If your not happy. Parts are cheap. If you buy an old one, I would recomend changing the floor insulation. 30 bucks at pep boys. Its been rained on for several occations the last 20 years, probably not healthy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Wednesday, July 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"15 years and 75000 miles later, I still love it!"

Great car great value!

By on Monday, June 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Most fun for the money on 4 wheels! Handles well even with stock components, plenty of power, just catchup with them in the corners. Owned fo 10 years and looking for another 10+, part of the family! Only regular maintenance no repairs, A truely great and fun sports car, thanks Mazda."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, June 05, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, May 27, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

My best friend

By on Wednesday, May 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 1992 Miata and it is the best, most reliable car I have owned. Other than normal stuff (oil changes etc) I have not had to put a dime into it. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone. It may cost you a little more to purchase but it is worth it. When I bought it I was told Miata's depreciate about 1.6% per year and it's true - keep in mind it is one of the "true roadsters" and in '92 it ranked the second in best overall review for the roadsters."

By on Sunday, May 16, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, May 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best ever

By on Wednesday, May 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new in '96 and is the best car ever owned. Will not move in snow with regular tires, but put snow tires on and it will climb a wall. Still have original battery but time for new top at 127k. Makes me smile every time I see it. Rated 4 for comfort because I'm 6'4"."

By on Tuesday, April 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

little red jewel

By on Monday, April 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought it with less than 500 miles on it (it was three years old!) More fun than my hot rods of long ago!!!"

most fun vehicle ever

By on Sunday, April 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is a whole lot of fun to drive. Crooked roads are the best. Very dependable with good gas mileage. Eye catching"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

20 years and still smiling

By on Wednesday, April 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My wife and I bought our red miata new in July 1990 and have enjoyed all 155000 miles. Still runs, rides and looks great. Had to replace the 1.6 engine at 146k because the shims were put in backwards at an earlier time when a timing belt was changed and wore out the cam. I had a 1.8 used engine rebuilt and installed. I liked the original 1.6 but the 1.8 really has noticebly more power but still delivers about 29-30 mpg. Last summer we decided to replace the soft top with a black sunbrella fabric top that had a glass window - very nice change. No rust and still has the original paint. Planning on upgrading orgin. headlights, audio, shocks and exhaust this summer. My guess is that they don't make them like this anymore or they might risk going out of business..."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Friday, February 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"For the price of this car you get an incredible handling quick vehicle that gets great fuel mileage. Well worth the money. Very, Very reliable."

Fun and affordable

By on Monday, February 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"Love my 1990 sport-red Miata. Hating the thought of selling it, but with a growing family the 2-car garage isn't going to have room for it. The wife isn't fond of the noise (it's a convertible) and it can't carry more than one kid. Super-reliable: with 80k miles, 30k on my watch, the only non-wear change has been that the water pump started making noise and needed to be replaced at 54k. The timing belt was coming soon anyway, so no real problem. I did the wheel bearings at about 65k/14 years. The engine gives a rare minor backfire when I'm driving hard, that sounds more like a burp than any sort of problem. There is a little rip in the zipper for the vinyl rear window that I'll attribute to misuse. Gets 30mpg regularly with any sort of normal driving. Mine's got a couple mods (rollbar, 4 stiffeners, aftermarket wheels) and it handles like it's on rails. Very neutral steering with the mods. Gearing consistently keeps you in the power zone. Wish it had a sixth gear; it probably couldn't handle it for racing but it could for touring. Gets 18mpg on the race track!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Incredible Fun

By on Thursday, February 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought the car used. It is extremely reliable though not for everone because the tight size of a roadster. However it is extremely fun to drive, has excellent rwd balance, incredible grip and phenominal feedback. Been getting over 31 mpg regularly. Car is nearly 20 years old now but still looks and feels brand new. No new car out there is as fun or visceral."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car owned

By on Sunday, January 10, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love my baby (car). Still get complements. Parts continue to last. Plan to kept it forever. I am the original owner."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car ever

By on Tuesday, December 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this car is great!!! everyone that owns one loves there car and talks about it as if it is a family member. i can not wait to get a new one. i have my eye on a 2006 mazda miata speed"

great car

By on Monday, November 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 90 mazda miata about a year ago at 200,008 miles and since then i put 16,000 miles on the car (do the math). The entire time ive had the vehicle i have had no problems and and low maintinence costs. the ride of a miata is unmatched by any other car in the cost range. If you love long drives on alpine roads or short trips to the beach you will love a Mazda Miata"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Dont Ever Sell You Miata!!!

By on Wednesday, August 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought a 95 Miata and got tired of the small space, so I sold it and bought an E30 BMW. Huge mistake! I miss my miata so dearly, my beemer drives nothing like it. Theres nothing like a miata, Dont ever sell it!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details