Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

1997 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 170 Ratings for the 1990 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 34 | Next

Ginger is My Favorite Car Ever

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful, corners easily, fun to drive"

Cons: "No trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Yes, that's right, I love my Miata so much, I named her. I just bought this one from my father and she runs like a dream. I live in Southwest PA, which means sharp curves and big, steep hills. I have yet to encounter a hill which she can't pull in 4th gear. She goes around corners like they're straight. I will be keeping Ginger around for quite a long time."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Runs great, great gas mileage, great storage

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great on gas, great storage."

Cons: "it's a standard. no cup holders,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle has just been restored and repainted. It is in excellent condition. The value should be higher for this vehicle. The paint job alone was more than your value and it had no rust. Just a couple of dents and scratches."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Absolutely love my Miata!

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "responsive, comfortable, easy driver, fun,"

Cons: "not enough interior lighting, cup holders wrong"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just took my Miata on a 3050 mile trip from Northern Michigan to Florida and back. Never once did I feel like I had to stop and get out of my Miata for a break. It handles like a dream in the worst of traffic - rapid response and great reaction time make it a joy to drive. I made custom luggage that fits strategically in the trunk, on the rear deck, and in the passenger compartment. I was able to pack for a three week trip with no problems. My only suggestions to improve the Miata would be to increase the amount of auxiliary lighting in the driving compartment, and design a cup holder that will handle a variety of cup sizes. I would also like to see an alarm that indicates when the lights are left on. I plan on keeping my Miata forever - and soon it will be considered a "classic". Regardless of age - all Miata are both classic and a class act."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

MY "ROLLERSKATE" SAILS UP HILLS!

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel efficient! Passes everyone up a hill!"

Cons: "back soft window gotta go next time!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hey Mazda! Bring it back! Got the Montago Blue and tan with speaker in the seat rests! Just replaced the sound system after all these joyful years! Speakers in the seats still work great! Had an apostery shop build a new ragtop...loaded a glass window in this time! My baby girl has eyelashes that still work! Only things I've replaced...the clutch and the AC! TopDown! Can you build a hybrid? or a Solar?"

Awesome, reliable, fast, well cornering & fun car

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "I just love driving in the open."

Cons: "Little room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For me this is the best car I ever had. I bought the car to drive around the USA. I did it in 2008 and what a trip. I only had a flat tire, the car never let me down. The plan was only to stay in the USA for 3 months, but now 5 years later I am still here and I still got my Miata. It's still running great, never let me down and it has some little noises, but hey that's character. I love my Miata..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 34 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals