Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

1997 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 170 Ratings for the 1990 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Absolutely best car

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great driving experience. Best bang for your buck"

Cons: "Sometimes invisible to other drivers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Need I say more? After putting on over 100,000 miles on my Miata, I've not had one thing go wrong with it, While this car is extremely reliable, it's even more impressive on how fun it is to drive!"

Love this car!

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, small and compact"

Cons: "Not ideal for tall people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was my dream car and I still feel the same way after being an owner for 10 years. It will turn on a dime, compact and the trunk is surprisely accomadating for your needs."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car, fun to own.

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Inexpensive, reliable way to enjoy a sports car."

Cons: "Small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car for my daughter a year ago, but she is having a hard time catching onto a manual, so I have been driving it. Love it, but it is small and cramped for me (I am 5'10". 210lbs, 55 year old man), so long trips are out. I would recommend this as a second "fun" car to own. I have considered finding a second one just for me!"

One of the best cars I ever owned

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "A lot of pros for the kind of ride it is.."

Cons: "Small 1.6L engine, little to no storage get a rack"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from the original owner with 53,000 in 2009. It was a seasonal car but well maintained inside and out. It it very reliable and most maintenance can be done without going to the garage. It is a blast to drive, even if it is not a racehorse it sounds good getting through the gears and the handling was similar to an MGB-GT I once had. The little l.6L gets the job done but the bigger engine came out the year later, 1994. Even though I bought a 1993 Miata in 2009 for $3,800 it is still one of the best cars I have owned and moving to #1."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

awsome little car I have two

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas milage, great handleing, fun driving,"

Cons: "could have more trunk room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daughter and I love these cars, we have a 1990, and 1993 which we rescued from 2 teenage boys.They handle great, and we are looking for an other one (newer) The 1990 gets over 45 mph.unreal Its hard to believe that. The 1990 has less foot room then the 1993. We love them. You can do a lot of traveling for not much money. We have a hard top for one which makes it real nice, less noise and warmer, I would not sell the hardtop unless I get one with my new purchase. Fun fun car! Would not have anything else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun little roadster

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "handling, pepy engine, fuel economy, attractive"

Cons: "not very fast, cramped, road noise, ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"quick little car, but not very fast i'd say it would max out around 105-110mph. handles very good, can easily make tailslides with fast conrtol. decent on gas milage, though it runs high rpms at highway speeds(60mph = 3100rpms)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, fun to drive, easy to work on, comfortable"

Cons: "Seat doesn't scoot back far enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any big problems. I went from a Ford Taurus to my Mazda, Miata. Very easy car to work on. Love it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best ever

By on Saturday, October 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "zoom-zoom"

Cons: "small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most reliable, gas efficient car in history"

fun to drive

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned this car for 14 years. I loved it, and it was very reliable and fun to drive. Nice to take to the beach too. Only downfall is the trunk space is small. Not a good car for people with kids."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very Fun to Drive!

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome Price"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was glad to have bought this car! Handles great!"

A workhorse disguised as a sports car

By on Monday, October 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good on gas"

Cons: "inside is a little tight with very little storage space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is 18 years old and still gets 30 mpg in blended (hwy/city) driving. The rack and pinion steering is tight and the handling is very responsive. This car was made for driving in Southern California."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very nice 4 $

By on Friday, September 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun 2 dr."

Cons: "road noise wend top is up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"like it very much when top is down ----top up noisey inside cockpit"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This car is great and super fun

By on Wednesday, September 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "price, parts, fun, driving, shifting"

Cons: "power, room, rough ride, no cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only complaint is the room. barely enough room. sometimes feel caged in.. other than that its a awesome car"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car I've had for the price!

By on Wednesday, September 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Price"

Cons: "Trunk Space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This little car runs and handles like a dream. I've only had it for about 6 months, but so far I've really enjoyed driving it. It gets good gas mileage...which is very important these days. The only drawback is the truck space, but I guess when you have a small sports car, you should expect that. I'm a rather large man...6'0''-215 lbs- and I have no problem fitting comfortably in the cockpit. She needs a paint job...which I intend to take care of soon, but other than that I have no complaints. If you find one reasonably priced, you should buy it...you won't regret it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Mia is a joy to drive

By on Monday, September 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun little care"

Cons: "no cup holders, not a ton of room for grocery shopping,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

messes up the hair but why buy a convertible if the top stays up.

"The Miata's body is in excellent shape, gets great gas milage, new top, new clutch, headlights replaced, air conditioning ice cold, shifts easily, corners and wants more."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

messes up the hair but why buy a convertible if the top stays up.

Perfect little sportscar

By on Sunday, May 15, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"These cars are about the best you can find in a small , inexpensive sports car. They handle like a go cart, they can have serious performance packages added to them. Their factory reliability is high and just about any replacement part is cheap and easy to find. Insurance is reasonable if not downright economical. They are raced by the thousands on every weekend."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

After 15 Years Still Runs Great

By on Sunday, March 27, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased this vehicle new January 1997 and has proven to be an excellent vehicle. Gas Mileage is still around 30 MPG, does not burn oil, very reliable performing just basic maintenance. Not expensive to run or fix when needed (brakes one set, clutch one set). Could have used the 6 speed and/or more power but other than that very pleased and fun to drive"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, February 21, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"The Mazda Miata is a great little convertible. The thing is very durable and reliable, plus has required minimal cost for maintenance. It starts and runs without any problem and when a maintenance issue arises it has always been resolved with below average cost for vehicular repair. It is comfortable and handles well; able to accellerate, holds curves well, good stopping power and a comfortable ride. The convertible top can be raised or lowed with little time and effort. The only change I would consider is to add cruise control to increase driving comfort over long trips."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car but no room to wiggle

By on Wednesday, February 16, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"After owning 3 BMWs in a row I bought a 1995 Miata black on black and am very impressed with it's quality. No room to hide a gun under the seat, no hiding places for dope, and not enough power to evade police interceptors but a stylish and fun little car. I keep reading reviews saying tall people love it but I need a crow bar to get out of it so maybe Im missing something... sure is tough to get in and out of. Hello Jenny Craig!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

makin me smile

By on Tuesday, February 08, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is so much fun to drive. I need plastic surgery to remove my smile. The steering is tight and this car can turn on a dime, great for the hills and curves where I live. I can't wait for spring so I can put the top down. I get great gas mileage and can fill up for less than $30.00. This car is easy to park anywhere but difficult to find because of its compact size. I can hide behind a mini Cooper."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

value for the money

By on Sunday, January 30, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Bought this car used. Had some issues the previous owner had hidden. In the process of doing neglected maintenance. Firm ride causes various rattles and squeaks. Fun car. Mileage average in high 20's."

Whats not to love

By on Thursday, January 06, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"fun to drive"

Fun Fun Fun

By on Thursday, October 28, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchesed this car used 11 years ago with 35000 miles on it and have added 65000 more. Except that the original owner did not take the car back for a recall to fix the drain holes in the frame which caused my ECM to short out, I have not had any mechanical issues past wear items. When this one dies (if ever) I will purchase another one."

WONDERFUL!!!

By on Friday, October 22, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"i would recommend this car to anyone, i had my mazda miata for 2 years and it was the best little car ever! very reliable and good on the wallet too!!"

The Japanese MGB

By on Wednesday, October 20, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Car works and has worked flawlessly over the years. A bit cramped for my 6' 1" frame, but I've made it work. I call it the Japanese MGB because it has all the fun and none of the headaches of old English sports cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details