Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

1996 Mazda Miata MX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 170 Ratings for the 1990 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Actually a 1991, "Penelope" is all GO!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "mechanically sound, 2 new tires, am/fm/cd"

Cons: "cosmetic."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

She's still a cutie!

"She's a great runner, the best car I've ever owned and absolutely hate to get rid of her. My other dear friend is Snapples the dachsund and she requires 2500. worth of medical attention. Penelope has 2 new rear tires (300.00) but needs some minor cosmetic work."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

She's still a cutie!

PURE DRIVING JOY

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very fun, very reliable, tiny size, driver focused"

Cons: "rough ride, wind noise, small size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 1997 Miata is an M Edition that is all original except for a very well done aftermarket dual-din audio deck and I think speakers (I bought the car with it, and it sounds AMAZING). This car is a blast to drive with it's near perfect weight distribution, limited slip differential and lightweight body, it's very agile and nimble and tiny enough to dart in and out of traffic with the greatest of ease not to mention slide it into any parking space available (though it's size is also one of it's faults, more on that in a minute). It is very reliable and easy to work on except for the placement of the most commonly serviced part, the oil filter. There's tons of space for even the largest of gorilla hands. The simplicity of the Miata adds to its reliability, with just enough technology to be reliable and modern, but not so much things break just to cost you money. The 1.8L 4 cylinder engine is by no means a powerhouse, but with the car's light weight and the engine's eagerness to rev, it is quick enough enter the freeway without a fuss. Though it is not without it's faults; The Miata's size outside makes it hard for other drivers to see you sometimes, and it's size inside means my friends over 6 feet can't comfortably enjoy a day of top-down motoring with me. I've discovered the low body line means the airflow through the cabin with the top down is alot; this means ambient temps below 55*F are a no go for the top down since the Miata's heater is about as effective as an asthmatic blowing through a straw. The car's simplicity means the ride isn't the most modern either; I think my grandfather's 1957 Ranchero rode better than this. The NA chassis Miata is a blast to drive, and has enough power to bring a smile to even the most serious of car enthusiasts' faces; It still brings a smile to mine every time I drive it. But, after a while, I've come to realize that this is not an everyday car; It is best as weekend fun machine or nice top down night around town. It is not comfortable for even short roadtrips, even for my short 5'5" frame. It is loud, and you really feel the road, which can be good or bad, depending on the quality of the roads available for you drive on."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car! Still turns heads. Reliable. 30mpg

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Pros-Everything else"

Cons: "Hard to get in and out of if you are big or feeble"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most important thing about this car: It is fun to drive!"

Leather interion has some old age cracking

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun & dependable car"

Cons: "sport car ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been garaged all it like. 10 years ago we put a new Mazda roof; so the convertible has a glass window. 4 years ago we had a Mazda dealership in Ca. re-do the clear coat. 70,000 original miles. My wife has been the only owner. How she wants a car with automatic trans. and easier ride."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Still love it

By on Friday, November 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas milage, FUN, zippy to drive, attractive"

Cons: "small battery, small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I leased this car new back in 1994. Then I bought it. It's been amazing. Fun to drive, very few problems... once had to replace the radiator, and had to fix one of the windows, the battery was a problem until I installed a disconnect mechanism, but overall, it's still a joy to own and I'd buy the exact same car if I had the choice to do it over. I bought a new car in 2009, but I still enjoy driving my nearly 20-year old Miata more than any car I've ever driven. Love its power and how it really hugs the road. Getting older, so getting in and out of it isn't as comfortable as it was in my early 30s, but I still don't want to part with this car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Ginger is My Favorite Car Ever

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful, corners easily, fun to drive"

Cons: "No trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Yes, that's right, I love my Miata so much, I named her. I just bought this one from my father and she runs like a dream. I live in Southwest PA, which means sharp curves and big, steep hills. I have yet to encounter a hill which she can't pull in 4th gear. She goes around corners like they're straight. I will be keeping Ginger around for quite a long time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Runs great, great gas mileage, great storage

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great on gas, great storage."

Cons: "it's a standard. no cup holders,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle has just been restored and repainted. It is in excellent condition. The value should be higher for this vehicle. The paint job alone was more than your value and it had no rust. Just a couple of dents and scratches."

Absolutely love my Miata!

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "responsive, comfortable, easy driver, fun,"

Cons: "not enough interior lighting, cup holders wrong"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just took my Miata on a 3050 mile trip from Northern Michigan to Florida and back. Never once did I feel like I had to stop and get out of my Miata for a break. It handles like a dream in the worst of traffic - rapid response and great reaction time make it a joy to drive. I made custom luggage that fits strategically in the trunk, on the rear deck, and in the passenger compartment. I was able to pack for a three week trip with no problems. My only suggestions to improve the Miata would be to increase the amount of auxiliary lighting in the driving compartment, and design a cup holder that will handle a variety of cup sizes. I would also like to see an alarm that indicates when the lights are left on. I plan on keeping my Miata forever - and soon it will be considered a "classic". Regardless of age - all Miata are both classic and a class act."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

MY "ROLLERSKATE" SAILS UP HILLS!

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel efficient! Passes everyone up a hill!"

Cons: "back soft window gotta go next time!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hey Mazda! Bring it back! Got the Montago Blue and tan with speaker in the seat rests! Just replaced the sound system after all these joyful years! Speakers in the seats still work great! Had an apostery shop build a new ragtop...loaded a glass window in this time! My baby girl has eyelashes that still work! Only things I've replaced...the clutch and the AC! TopDown! Can you build a hybrid? or a Solar?"

Awesome, reliable, fast, well cornering & fun car

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "I just love driving in the open."

Cons: "Little room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For me this is the best car I ever had. I bought the car to drive around the USA. I did it in 2008 and what a trip. I only had a flat tire, the car never let me down. The plan was only to stay in the USA for 3 months, but now 5 years later I am still here and I still got my Miata. It's still running great, never let me down and it has some little noises, but hey that's character. I love my Miata..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome car to own

By on Tuesday, August 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "sporty,reliable,awesome to drive"

Cons: "small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm so enthralled with this vehicle.I'm so glad I bought this car!!!It's 20 years old and drives like it's brand new.It gets great gas milage.it's easy to maintain.The soft top is easy to use.The perfect car for a California summer!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car...

By on Tuesday, April 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great fun to drive....."

Cons: "No space for your stuff..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

She's a keeper

"This car is a kick to drive, like a go-cart that's street legal...if you've never driven or owned one, you're missing out....thinking about buying a new one.......Wow"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

She's a keeper

BEST CAR IN WORLD

By on Wednesday, April 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "SO MUCH FUN TO DRIVE, GREAT MILEAGE"

Cons: "cannot have more than one passenger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most satisfying car you could own, from the great gas mileage to the indescribable quality of "ZOOM ZOOM" The car fits more than you could believe, I just need extra seats for grandchildren, otherwise would not part with it FOREVER."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Always surprising... and FUN

By on Wednesday, March 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 231,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Sporty, fun, surprisingly comfortable, great ride"

Cons: "None. It's not a Lexus or Caddy. It's a roadster."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These reviews appear to apply to any age. I bought my '91 in 1997 with 70,000 mi. As a daily driver for nearly nearly 17 years, it has 231,000 mi. Easy to maintain. Easy to work on. Simple and reliable. Two clutches, two timing belts, one MAS and several sets of brakes and tires. That's it. Maintain one of these babies, and it will last to a half-million. Having owned MGAs and MGBs, I can attest to the fact that Mazda succeeded in reviving the British roadster tradition. Wind in your hair. Smile on your face."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Tiny TANK

By on Friday, February 15, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Transmission failure

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "60 MPH turns & it wont flip!"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I owned the 1990 convertible, automatic. Amazing car, I loved it. Bought it used in '05. It was an old car by then, I had it for 3 years. First thing that went on the car was the head gasket, then finally the transmission. Even through all this, when it smoked like the bat mobile, when it sputtered and shook, this car kept going, it NEVER left me on the side of a road, it was a trooper! The tops on the convertible would leak when it rained, and the window motors would break so they couldn't go down. Even through it's major problems, the a/c kept working. Amazing. Sad to say I traded it in for a VW Beetle.. HUGE MISTAKE!!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

a blast to drive with the 5 speed !

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this car is really good on gas and is like a go cart on steroids! try and keep up with one on a really twisty road and youll be left far behind"

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "so much fun to drive, and reliable"

Cons: "small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 4 years with no troubles at all. 200,000 miles and still runs like it were new. Everything works perfect on the car EXCEPT for the power radio antenna."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

just simply fun

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value,good gas mileage,great handling,fun"

Cons: "not a lot of cargo space,expensive insurance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is perfect for this era. flawless handling great gas mileage and a ton of fun. not much cargo space and a hard top is a must"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

FUN FUN FUN

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive."

Cons: "Very small trunk."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great fun to drive car!

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "Cooling system, clutch cylinder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car had 56000 miles on it when I bought it in 2002. It now has 105000. I have replaced all of the hoses, the radiator and the water pump twice. I have replaced the clutch cylinder 3 times. I have replace the clutch at about 102000. It has been very reliable and I drive at highway speeds 4 days a week. Paint is bad and needs a new top...thanks to the Florida sun."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

A wonderful impractical car

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun, cute, reliable"

Cons: "low MPG for size, little room, rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've loved this car. It is fun, reliable, and looks good even though it's 17 years old! Looks like new, not out of style at all. But it's not very practical -- can't pick a friend up from the airport (though that might be a benefit!) That said, I love it. It's the perfect California car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love my Miata!

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive on back roads"

Cons: "fits a woman better...small interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"low to the ground, corners like a race car, M"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great first roadster!

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,563

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, Cool to have, easy to maintain"

Cons: "ride is a little bumpy; expected from a roadster"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am 17 years old and this is my second car, this is a great car for many many reasons..the first being, its cool--plain and simple. This car has the benefits of the good looks of a sports car but isn't too fast or too expensive to own or insure, which mom and dad love(so if your a parent with a kid who wants one i would STRONGLY recommend it. This car also handles like a dream, it has a differential to keep the wheels from spinning giving you more control, it also gets 25 to 30 mpg!Despite its small size it is also very comfortable, this is one of the best cars to own, if you buy one i hope you enjoy it as much as i have!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "economical, fun to drive"

Cons: "no cup holders, limited trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 1996 Miata when i moved here from Australia in 2007. Since then, apart from replacing the tires and brakes, the only thing that I have had to replace was the serpentine belts. It still gets great gas mileage for a car of its age, has no leaks, and my mechanic said it should last me for the next few years."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

simple, fun, and reliable

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great mileage, low cost to own"

Cons: "teeny trunk, a little difficult to get in and out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Miata just got clobbered by a SUV that blew a stop sign. I loved this car. Fun to drive, easy to maintain, always starts, nothing breaks, and the world's easiest to use soft top. Handling was a complete delight and it got 28 to 30 mpg in town. If they total it, I hope I get enough to replace it."

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda Miata MX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals