Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2005 Mazda MAZDA6

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 934 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next

Mixed review

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very good mechanically."

Cons: "Poor body. Rusted too soon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I have been quite satisfied with this car mechanically, but the body integrity is another story. I have been battling rust, especially in the rear quarter panels, for a few years now. It has rusted a lot underneath and I have had bodywork done to preserve the fenders,. In this day and age, there is so much that can be done by the manufacturer to preserve the body, that this seems inexcusable. I had a Toyota Camry before this and it showed no signs of rust after 12 years on the road. So if I lived in a warm climate, I suppose this would have been a great car. But I don't. And this car has been a disappointment in that respect"

worst vehicle i have owned

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: electrical problems

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "good fuel efficency"

Cons: "Too long of list to say"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this 2008 Mazda 6 sport 4cyl automatic with manual option and it got great fuel efficiency, but the wiring was bad for the headlight assembly and the lights on the instrument panel and would come on and off randomly. so that tells me its a wiring issue, the idler bearing went bad already and shifted at to high of rpms which doesn't save on gas...I hate fords but I was considering buying a ford just to get out of driving that...I will never buy a Mazda ever again."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great power from the V6

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Has plenty of room and actually looks very sporty for a wagon.... Last of the dying breed..."

This has been a Very Dependable and Reliable Car

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, Dependability, Acceleration, Styling"

Cons: "Road noise on rough roads."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been very happy with my 2008 Mazda6 and I have not had one single problem with the car. It has almost 130,000 miles and all I have had to do is normal maintenance. It's a good looking car and drives nice with good acceleration."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

They Should Be Embarrassed

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
3/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Gets me from point A to Point B"

Cons: "Will it get you from A to B?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Will never even consider Mazda again as my car of choice. No one should have to worry about what might go wrong next every time they drive their car. I owned a Honda Accord for 17 years and no matter how cold the day, it would always turn over right away. I've owned the 2004 Mazda6 for 2 years and you would think with all of the cranking I should just take it out back to put it out of its misery. Have already had to replace the transmission. Seat fabric already ripping. Rust on wheel wells. Headlights and wiring unreliable and expensive to replace. Headlights should be a simple job, but its basically something a shop has to do for you."

6 people out of 14 found this review helpful

good car

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good mpg, good quality"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love this car, I would purchase another!

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "the style, roomy, can sleep in the seats so comfy"

Cons: "ash tray, lighter, place for trash bin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Three things that I thought didn't stand up to par were the steering is not as sharp as it could be, the exhaust rusted out before it should have, and (not sure what it's called) the clip-piece that the computer reads when you shift into park...shortly after I purchased the car, it went bad, it may have been going bad before my purchase, to find out many of the mazda6's have the same issue, tried to find recall info, none, so I just start it in neutral as does everyone else with the same problem. :)"

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best Car for the Money

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "appearance, HP, MPG, dual exhausts, sport package"

Cons: "no back air vents (at least in mine - 2003)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive a 2003 Mazda6s and seriously fell in love with this car due to quick acceleration, slick appearance, and overall value. I can't get another car besides the Mazda line now. Take one for a test drive and you'll see what I mean... Zoom-Zoom. I really push my car to the limit so I get about 17mpg, but when I drive easy I get about 26mpg (remember V6)."

11 people out of 22 found this review helpful

My favorite

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles great"

Cons: "Parrts can be expensive/ unnecesssary wheel locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car we have ever had. It drives great and holds plenty of stuff. The leather seats have held up well. It has lots of power and looks pretty sharp for a wagon."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!!

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car new and it has been the single most fun, reliable, and good looking car I have owned. Go with the S it has a 6 cylinder and I found my leather seats are much more comfortable than cloth. If you arent heavy on accelerator you will get great MPG!"

12 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda MAZDA6 near Honolulu. See local deals