Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2007 Mazda MAZDA5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 246 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

A great car for the money.

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value. comfortable on long trips"

Cons: "a little noisy. limit view for tall driver"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the van-like side doors. Smaller and easier to park than a minivan. Great mileage. Comfortable. Feels like it cost a lot more."

I love this car!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quick acceleration, great cargo space"

Cons: "rear seats, back heater vent (no heat)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in February 2010 an have enjoyed every single second of owning it. I got a great deal because it was a manual transmission and not too many people enjoy driving stick anymore. There is plenty of room to pack the kids in it or, as I discovered, an 8' Christmas tree. There are only two things that I would classify as shortcomings and they are minor. The first are the seats located all the way in the back. Luckily my son is a string-bean so he doesn't mind it, but it is not a place for adults to ride for anything more than a short hop. The second is the rear vent. The air conditioner works through the vents, but the heater does not. The heat coming from the front vents pushes to the back relatively quickly so it isn't a huge issue. Overall, though I really love this car and the acceleration is fantastic even when its all loaded up."

Very Nice

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, smooth, comfortable"

Cons: "no armrest on front passenger seat, noisy-freeway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very nice car to drive, it's smooth, comfortable, and gets good mileage. The only negative has been the lack of an armrest on the front passenger seat and it's a bit noisy when driving on the freeway."

Love how it handles

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, tight turning radius"

Cons: "tire noise, flaky audio system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have four children, and require a 6 passenger vehicle as a result. This is a 6 passenger vehicle that is great on gas and fun to drive. It handles tight turns beautifully. I enjoy driving and this vehicles just enhances that. The only downside that I have seen is : 1. horrible tires. I am replacing the original toyos later this week, there is no tread left. 2. at random times the audio system doesn't work. Other then that its perfect!! I can't wait to see how it does with the new tires :)"

Great Family Car, Great Visibility.. Zippy!

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, roomy, great visability"

Cons: "interior dash is dark, could use better arm rests"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car, perfect for family or elderly driver as the visibility with the large front windshield has great visibility. Comfortable, like a sports car, Lots of room. Like a mini van, only smaller and easy to maneuver. Very zippy! The dash board controls are a little dark at night, wish they were brighter. Hatch back is so convenient and back seats fold down so you can make a trip to home depot and load up! Very reliable. We bought this used 3 yrs ago and haven't had a single problem. Don't lose you keys however, because they cost $350. to replace (computerized keys). RELIABLE!"

great auto

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"factory tires replaced at 31000 other thanthat great auto"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Driving experience."

Cons: "Cramped rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a sports car. Sliding doors keep the kids from banging other cars in parking lots. Excellent number and location of cubbies for driver. Beautiful sunroof. Minor negatives--rear is cramped for storage or passengers. Road noise isn't great. Somewhat funny looking--takes some getting used to. Roof rack not included as standard. Traction control was not available until 2011."

Very good car overall

By on Saturday, December 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very good car. Handling, maneuverability excellent. Good size and fuel economy, a pleasure to drive.Good price Negatives are low profile tires causing early wear and road noise. The air conditioner is weak"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great wagon for 6 people!

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Affordable, large enough for family friends."

Cons: "No front passenger inside armrest."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've owned this car for 4 years and have been very happy with it. It's reliable, drives well and accommodates our family plus friends. Great vehicle for families. Overall it drives great and rides well. The few criticisms we have it that front passenger doesn't have two armrests and it has some wind noise at highway speeds. Overall we're very happy with this vehicle and plan to continue to drive it for a while!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sweet size and flexible interior. Great family car

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun look, reliable and comfortable w/tall driver"

Cons: "No 7th seat option like in Japan and Europe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this van for its aesthetics and flexibility. I am so glad that we chose the Mazda5 over a full size mini-van. It drives like a car and has a superb turn radius. It sits higher than a car so it is nice for a taller driver like me (6 ft.). It has been great for carpooling extra kids once in a awhile and hauling furniture. The seats are easy to fold down and lots of cargo space. The frame does sit low to the ground which may take some getting used to when parking. Only a couple of repairs in the last 6 years; not too bad."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Practical and still fun to drive, affordable"

Cons: "Rear A/C doesn't heat, flip out part is flimsy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"People told me not to get this car because it was a manual. The same people are always asking me if they can drive it now. I love it, have had it for over 2 years and when I wear this one out I hope they still make them. I have 1 child and 3 dogs, this is the perfect car for that. It tows tons of home improvement projects with the seats down. It may not have as much pep as a car, but for a minivan it's fun, especially compared to my old Subaru Forester. I wouldn't recommend it for a large family. I got the all weather mats, and those have been a life saver from spilled soup and muddy dogs."

really good car

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive, lots of bells and whistles"

Cons: "had to replace transmission at 96,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 2009 Mazda5 in February of 2011 with 88,000 miles on it for my mom who had mobility issues. It is easy to get in and out of. The grandchildren love it. It has leather interior. The factory installed sound system is nice. The factory installed bluetooth is ok. Sometimes it is difficult for the caller to hear. It drives well in the snow and over mountain passes. I will say at 96,000 miles or 91 days after I purchased the vehicle the transmission light came on. I had to replace the transmission but luckily for me it was covered under the powertrain warranty. I have had no other issues with the vehicle. I am currently trying to sell the vehicle but because of the high miles not having much luck. This is a great car and if I had a bigger family I would keep it. Love the heated seats, cargo room, captain chairs, sliding rear doors, all the cup holders and extra electronic plug-ins. I would recommend this vehicle to a friend."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

excellent microvan

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "handle; capacity of loading; MPG"

Cons: "uphill capacity; no auto lock ; road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wanted a car bigger than wagon but smaller than minivan; I am happy to choice Mazda 5. It comes with overall 22-23 MPG; easy to handle and very comfort for long trip. I had made a 1.2 K round trip from san jose to hot nevada during summer time and 2 times to LA. I never had any issue since I purchased the car. The negative point is drive noise and no auto lock on the sport version. Also, it's bit slower when you drive on uphill road with fully loaded. Overall, great choice for small family. I believe I am going to own it for at least next 7-8 years."

Great Value

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good Value"

Cons: "Small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had the car for 18 months, no mechanical problems but had a problem with one tire. Returned to dealer 3 times before it was fixed."

Much enjoyed

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Few repair needs"

Cons: "Front door posts can limit visibility"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Enjoyed high seating"

Great car for the price

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good price, fun to drive, roomy"

Cons: "no passenger arm rest, to low profile, dirt roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving this car, great mileage and its real peppy. Lots of room for hauling kids or furniture. The only drawback is that it is too low to the ground. you have to be very careful when parking next to a sidewalk or driving over roadkill."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Rides terrible

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Would rather walk!"

saved my life, would buy again

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"thank goodness my kids were not in the car, but I wanted this car for the longest time and finally got one, big enough for family of four and after car was totalled , i walked out of it alive and definately would buy this car again, i also was paid more than i paid for it brand new, very impressed!"

A Keeper!

By on Monday, November 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "As Mazda said "ZOOM-ZOOM", a fun car!"

Cons: "no passenger center armrest!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a lot of cars over the years and normally trade at about 3-4 years, but this car is the first one I completed payments on! It is still fun to drive (manual) and handles great. Like most early owners of a 5, once I put some decent tires on, it became quiet and very responsive to navigating the not so straight roads here in New Hampshire! My wife and I enjoy the higher seats for visibility and ease of getting out of the vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I call it my 'micro-van'!

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great car for convenience, utility, mileage, size!"

Cons: "no lumbar support, manual front seat adjustments"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can haul a car-full of kids (5) or 3 people"

fun , family grows out of it though...

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "sporty , quick, roomy"

Cons: "expensive tires, no aux input, front seats tight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. 2 years after I bought it they came out with leaTHER SEATS, the navi system should be standard, would like to see better stereo with aux input on outside, tires expensive (Z rated) a more aggressive sounding engine like the volvo 850 would be excellent....."

Great for when you get "extra" kids!

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, a van that has a manual transmission"

Cons: "Low profile wheels costly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved the 5 from the moment I saw it and bought it as soon as my dealer got them in '06. This car has so much room for a family of 4. The kids are separated by bucket seats and with the sliding doors I don't have to worry about them hitting another car with them. I live in the NE and only drive standard shift--Mazda5 is the only van with that available. The fold down 3rd row has a lot of room and when I have to transport my friend's kids, the seats flip up easily and I have room for 6. The Mazda5's subsequent years through 2010 brought improvement to the 5 with a 16 inch wheel option (really, low profile tires and potholes are NOT a good combination: it bends the wheel)and adding features that come standard."

love love love this car

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "there is only one arm rest up front/ for driver"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"with the convenience of a minivan and the style of a car, easy to drive, park, and fit everything we need, with two small babies, we have plenty of space for strollers, groceries, luggage: whatever we need, and extra space for people too! i feel great when i am driving it, not like a soccer mom! we live in Buffalo, it handled so well driving through a foot of heavy snow and terrible road conditions, i never had white knuckles and my family was safe as we drove by many a 4x4 off the road... we did put on a decent pair of all season tires, but that is the norm here in the north east. definately recommend to anyone looking for a smart stylish affordable family friendly vehicle!"

Perfect for 1 or 2 kid families.

By on Monday, October 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great for small families or pet lovers."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good value overall

By on Tuesday, October 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good on gas, Fun to drive,"

Cons: "Loud inside, needs to be wider for tall people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun to drive, a turbo would help for passing on highways. The cabin interior is noisy between the fans blowing and outside noise coming in. Overall this car is great in the city."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda MAZDA5 near Honolulu. See local deals