Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Mazda MAZDA3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 1184 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next

Responsive steering makes you feel in control

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Very responsive steering"

Cons: "Should have 50 more hp"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you want a car the handles good,does great on fuel,and has decent acceleration,you want a Mazda3"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A fun-to-drive commuter car

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good MPG, good A/C, decent stereo"

Cons: "Little room in the rear seat, no mp3 player, noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used with 92000 miles on the odometer. I don't drive that much but I think I know enough now to write a review. I have a Mazda3 i version with a manual transmission. First of all, it's fun to drive. I find myself looking for reasons to hop into this car and go somewhere. The manual tranny adds to the fun, I guess. Shifting gears is smooth and clean. Sometimes I have a little trouble engaging the reverse gear but nothing major. I have been told the clutch is worn so maybe I'll have to replace it soon. The ride is firm but not unpleasant. It certainly feels like a sporty little car. Mine doesn't have anti-lock brakes so I have to be careful :) Fuel economy is good - I average about 27 mpg mostly around town with occasional highway driving. I fill it up once every couple of weeks and one fill-up is about 35 dollars. The car accelerates well but you have to keep the engine in the 3000-4000 rpm range. It's a little sluggish around 2000 rpm. Steering is precise and the car handles great. A/c works great in hot Texas summer weather. The stereo sounds good but there is no mp3 decoder. However, there is an AUX jack so I can use my portable mp3 player. The car is a little too noisy for my liking, especially at high speeds. On a highway in 5th gear (top gear), the engine revs around 3000-3200 rpm. Noise dampening is not good. But I forgive these little transgressions given that it's fun to drive and the stereo sounds good. The trunk is big enough but the rear seat is not good for tall people. The front seats are very comfy if you add lumbar support. I am 6'4" and I find space in the driver's seat more than adequate. The interior is black cloth and looks very classy - much better than what I saw in Corollas and Civics of the same age. I cannot comment on reliability since I have not fixed anything yet. I should probably replace the clutch and struts soon but they are most likely original so they have lasted 94000 miles and are still OK."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very good buy

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks good, runs good, reliable"

Cons: "Rear visibility could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It has been fun, inexpensive and reliable and I'd buy it again."

I love this car!

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought in 2005 with 12 miles on it. Best car in pice range for sure! Have had a few try to buy it, lol....not happening :) Will own until it is a piece of scrap. If you are lucky enough to come across one that is in good condition buy it cause they will be a small car collectors item! Everyone likes them!"

6 people out of 16 found this review helpful

keeps going and going

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car with 8,000 miles on it(2004). the car now has 246,000 miles . i had not one problem with this car runs like a champ it only had one tune up witch was replacing the plugs only that was done around the 200,000 mile mark. still have not replaced the belt no need to at this time nothing wrong with belt no wear, no missing teeth ,no cracks so for it looks great.this car is a little beast just keeps going and going . change oil to full synthetic after the 100,000 miles.since then just gas and go........"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

At 100,000 miles....

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable, sporty, handling, gas mileage"

Cons: "I really cant find"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have not had a single maintence issue with this car! It even has theoriginal brakes it performs almost as good as the dayi bought it new. Excellent handling in emergencies, sporty, and safely gotten us from point a to b in a large city. What more can u ask for out of a $14,000 base price car? Reviewed is a Maxda3 Sedan 4 door manual transmission no power locks or windows. KEEP BUILDING CARS THIS RELIABLE SPORTY AND SAFE MAZDA. I LEFT HONDAS F9R THIS AND COULDNT BE HAPPIER. Honda was great in the 90's but have since become equipped with cheaper parts in my opinion. And I think the customer reviews reflect that Maxda3 and 6 are the kings now."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I wish I could take it with me

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We are moving out of the country and can't take the car with us due to customs rules. Except for the usual wear of parking outside in NYC the car is excellent condition, the interior is mint, never smoked in it and never spilled any coffee or sticky juices in it. We only took it to weekend drives out of the city,I never drove it to work or to run the errands... It was serviced only at the dealer so records are available. There was never an issue or a reason to have it repaired accept for regular scheduled maintenance and twice when some rodent chewed on some electric wire in the engine compartment which was replaced with a new wiring harness (at the dealer). There are some light scratches and bumper marks that didn't come up in the pictures. I really wish I could take the car with me."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Top notch car-no regrets

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "value, dependability,style,build quality,zoom-zoom"

Cons: "in all honesty, none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car a 2007 s grand touring automatic with 22,000 miles on it. Now at around 96,000 it has been great! Plenty of pick up and decent gas mileage, around 28-30 mixed driving. No rattles, everything is tight, interior and exterior look almost like when I first bought it, and of course the handling is superb. With a nice set of snow tires it does well in the winter. I keep this car in my garage and never had even a single drop on oil of the floor and never have to add oil between changes. This car only sees a mechanic when it is inspection time and that is just a formality. I've owned three other Mazda 3 cars and four Proteges, two going over 200k and everyone was top notch, which is why I keep buying them for myself, my wife, and kids. It's a no brainer."

besr car prchase I ever made

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "low maintenance costs, great acceleration"

Cons: "no a/c vents in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought it used ( 19k miles) from a Mazda dealer and got four Four year warranty!"

11 people out of 21 found this review helpful

i love my mazda. (zoom zoom)

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stylish look and affordable."

Cons: "no cons from this happy mazda owner."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am very pleased with my mazda 3. overall I am a happy mazda customer. I would definitely recommend."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fast little car!

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "torque, interior, overall body shape"

Cons: "Clearance to ground."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I don't regret for one moment buying this car, except for the clearance. I live in Iowa, we get a lot of snow, and this car has a hard time getting through big drifts. I love the turbo! This car is so fast! The interior is beautiful, like a cock pit. The dashboard lights are all in red, so cool at night. I always get people asking me what type of car it is, and it's so cute. Thumbs up on this one."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, good gas mileage"

Cons: "low profile tires wear out sooner."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For all the miles I've put on this car, all I have had to do is change oil and balance and rotate the tires. besides the regular "check up" maintenance."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Love My Mazda

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value,easy and fun to drive"

Cons: "Needs more outlets, including USB"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Mazda3 brand new in 2005. It has been a great car! I am thinking of buying a new Mazda3 in the next year or so."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great for the $

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Got new Lexus

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very Reliable. After 135k miles, I felt comfortable enough to sell this car to my brother without fear that it was going to fall apart on him. The car has is fun and feels like a much more expensive sports car. It has tight sharp handling and decent pick up for a car I only spent $18k on in 2005. In the years I owned it the only things I have ever replaced were things that normal wear and tear required. I would recommend this car to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced vehicle but doesn't want to cut too many corners on performance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very good practical hatchback

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Versatile, good size, comfortable"

Cons: "Roadnoise, Back seats dont lay flat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"When we purchased our Mazda3, we wanted the hatchback because we have three dogs. It has been a great practical car that has served us well. Not overly sporty, not overly dull. Even with the dogs, the interior has held up well. However, there are many many scratches from dog nails on the back bumper from them jumping in. We had to replace the alternator last year, the mechanic said that's a common issue with these cars. I went into Mazda dealership to check the alignment of the tires, they said the tires were all but perfect, but they noted that the engine mount was almost completely cracked so that needed to be replaced last year as well. I wish there was a little more ground clearance, when parking the bumper almost always scratches on the parking curbs. I don't like how much road noise there is, and it bugs me that the back seats don't lay flat, especially when the dogs are in the car. Overall it's been a reliable car which has done everything that it promised. Current MPG is around 22."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car. I have always owned a Chevy.

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "economical,sporty,priced right,"

Cons: "blind sopt to left and rght,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this care to anyone at any age. Excellent on Gas"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great 2nd car, new tire, battery & brakes 40 MPG

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "no auto door lock, roll up windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

07 Mazda3, auto, air, new tires battery, brakes runs great! 83,000 40 MPG

"Excellent condition, used for 2nd car, great in or out of town car, NEW tires, battery and front brakes, 83,000 CD, Air, basic car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

07 Mazda3, auto, air, new tires battery, brakes runs great! 83,000 40 MPG

I have never gone wrong with a Mazda

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good value, fun to drive, no problems"

Cons: "gas mileage not quite what I hoped for - 28 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Mazda and I have always been very happy with them. Only one service issue in 5 years. This car is very dependable, fun to drive, easy to keep. And it seems to be holding it's value. I would buy Mazda's over and over again."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very good little car that seems too fit the need.

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive."

Cons: "Needs a little more power."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Super fun to drive , in and out of traffic no problem,"

close to a lemon

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "would not buy another mazda after this one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Multiple mechanical issues, fair amount of rust in rear fenders, worst parking brake ever, and front headlights burn out at least twice a year!!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

good

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"good"

Mazda= Value

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All my Mazda's 73 808, 78 GLC, 82 626, 92 929, and this 2008 Mazda 3 Hatchback Sport w.2.3 auto have been excellent cars. This one is only on 65K but all of the previous models were retired after they reached 250K."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, gas mileage, quality interior"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car 10 years, and still love it. The interior looks new. It runs perfectly. It's been in the shop only for regular maintenance. This model year has kind of a Volvo S40 look, which I like a lot better than the sporty, muscular style of the newer Mazda 3s. My only gripe - I'm starting to see a bit a rust on one of the back wheel wells. Highly recommend this car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Would not trade it for another car in it's class

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Handles well. Looks cool"

Cons: "Road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Lights on

"Has decent power. You can feel the car out when you push it,to it's limits. Fun to drive on winding roads."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Lights on

Good well rounded car!

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "above"

Cons: "above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It really is hard to find a car that is as fast as this one is, as well as is good on gas, as well as enough space/utility!! This car is good on gas if you want it to be, but it can also be quite hungry if you have a lead foot! With some minor mods, I managed to dyno 291 hp with 306 lb/torque!! Another good thing is, cops won't even give you a second glance since most of them don't even know what it is, thinking that it's just a mazda 3 but they are terribly wrong! Here are the pro's and cons of car Pros- *Good gas mileage *Very fast *Awesome looking and comfortable seats *Has enough room for 5 plus some cargo *Best value for the amount of $ u spend *Easy to mod *Reliable *Lots of airbags *Good visibility *Lightweight *Bright HID headlights *Good handling *Black leather *Manual Transmission *Affordable *Timing chain (no timing belt to change) *Did I say FAST?! Could compete with v-8's!! Cons- *Terrible factory motor mounts (must replace) *Limited rim/tire size will fit *Wheels slightly too narrow for enough traction *Kinda loud *Metal exterior somewhat thin and weak *Dash lighting (just my personal preference) *Diff. colored high beams and fog lights *6 speed with very short 1st gear (I prefer 5) *Sway bar links weak/prone to breaking *Front wheel drive & torque steer *Paint options not great *Easy to get door dings *Frequent oil changes needed *Somewhat low redline (6700 rpms)"

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda MAZDA3 near Honolulu. See local deals