Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Mazda CX-9 Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $27,367 - $28,360.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,815

Fair Purchase Price $27,610
Fair Market Range ($27,367 - $28,360)

Invoice $29,202
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.9 of 10

10/6.9

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 242 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

good car. terible mpg

By on Tuesday, November 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 600

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good price for 2012 model. stable quiet ride"

Cons: "ways behind competitors on tech and efficiency"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Got this car brand new about 2wks now. Gt fully loaded Pros: good handling, nice interior, good bose sound system, better leather than honda toyota or nissan, nice exterior. Cons: interior lighting is very dim when headlights are on; info and gauges display is red - aging and not soothing on long drives; GPS costs $1500 but won't match performance and feature of a $100 portable unit, no street name guidance, just turn left or turn right; ride is bumpy even on smooth interstates. It actually is better in local travel since you're not going as fast. Lower tire pressure to 34 psi front and 32 psi back help but did not make it go away; TERIBLE MPG. Actual city is between 10-14 mpg. Highway @75 mph is around 20 mpg. You better subtract 3 miles from EPA estimate. No way you would get the estimate MPG if you drive normally. Highway passing is sluggish. You got to floor it before the car would give you the passing power after downshifting. City passing or merging is more than enough. I was actually thinking about trading it in for another car after a week of ownership. A bit calmer now but not happy. Will definitely trade it in within 3 years."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

MPG terrible! Faulty electronics!

By on Tuesday, November 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "zoom zoom"

Cons: "just about everything else"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"MPG very misleading. Not even close. AWD hardly helps in winter conditions. Tires very expensive to replace and not even stocked by dealer or tire companies. You may have to wait days for a tire if you need one replaced. Electronic system and "smart key" system very unreliable. Stylish, space and quickness (zoom zoom) is nice, but certainly not worth all the other headaches. Hopefully the newer models have been improved. But i don't think I'll ever find out as I would never buy another one. Also, I found my dealer to be very uncooperative after the sale was made. I would never buy another car from them no matter the make."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Car I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, October 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, luxury, reliable, flexible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the car new in 2007 and spend alot of time in it. I have changed the oil regularly, performed regular scheduled maintenance, replaced tires and new brake pads at 93000 miles (yes),just because I couldn't believe they could possibly be good. But the mechanic said they weren't even close. This car is great. I regularly fit my wife and 4 kids in the car for trips of several hours. I pop the backseat down and in goes the tuba. This car does it all, zoom-zoom, school bus, band equipment truck, luxury to take out clients and after 5 years it still looks brand new. You have to get one!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best cross over among the crowd

By on Saturday, September 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth highway ride,quiet,speed,Top class interior"

Cons: "None."........."..........."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just bought it this CX9 last week .drove only 75 miles so far .Woow what a smooth ride.!i test drive Honda pilot,Toyota highlander and the explorer. I believe this one handles highway ride so good and it's interior finish is top class . All in on you a get a premium vehicle . I think this one belongs the luxury vhecile catgogery ."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I love driving again!

By on Monday, August 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, bose sound system, quiet drive"

Cons: "Not as must storage space as you would like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I of course bought this car used, wasn't financially in the market for anything brand new. I test drove the Ford Flex, Honda Pilot, Ford Explorer, Ford Edge and did my homework regarding the particular specs of each vehicle. It came down to the Flex and the CX9. The CX9 won! Why? It's overall value was it. When compared to the others who were actually later models, this one drove better than them all by far. The Flex was more plush but a little too plush with no sportiness to it and started to remind me of the Honda Odyssey we used to own. Even my wife was very impressed with the CX9 and she did not even want to look at the Flex. I feel guilty because sometimes I just want to get in it just to go for a ride, I love driving this car. It sits high, and the seating is comfortable for even a 6"2 guy like myself and you can really carry 7 adults in reasonable comfort.I also can't say enough about the Bose sound system!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

2nd Impression - update on previous review

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Driving quality, great interior package, value."

Cons: "There ain't none yet!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well, not yet at the 3000 mile update review point that I promised, but at 500 miles I' just thought I'd update my 1st impression review with this 2nd impression review: LOVE IT ! It really is a nice drive, just did first mini road trip in it, and it lived up to everything I had in my 1st impression review. Very quite, smooth ride, very nice handling for a larger SUV, and very responsive when that quick pick up is needed. Still can't get over the value for money upgrades and interior over competitive vehicles. Trying hard to keep it honest by pointing out something I didn't like, but honestly, I just haven't found anything annoying in this car yet ? Oh, wait, that center console cup holder is slightly wider than the Acadia was, how annoying is that, I'll have to upgrade the coffe cup to something slightly fatter :-) So, the mini road trip, 2 adults, me 6 ft 2 inches, 2 grown up teens, and 4 suitcases, and a full tank, but the handling was just as It was when driving alone. Nice vehicle for those long rides and feels sporty and nippy around town for a large SUV. I think that's what I've noticed most, I don't feel like I'm driving a 7 passenger SUV, and I always did in the Acadia. Still 10 out of 10 for me !"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Just purchased, so first impression only.

By on Sunday, July 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value for money, and a very WOW interior."

Cons: "None as yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wont comment too much on performance or reliability since I've only just purchased this July 2012, (I will update on that after 3000 miles), but based on all reviews, and my test drive, I cant see anything lacking from a pure performance standpoint in this CX9 compared to other 7 passenger SUV's, in fact the opposite looks true right now. I'll at least tell you why I purchased the CX9 and traded in my GMC Acadia. Firstly - wow, what an interior for the price, this surely has to be the best value for money 7 seater package out there. I purchased a Touring CX9 with two tone Leather seats, 10 speaker Bose Sound package, Moon Roof, Rear camera, key less start, and Power Lift-gate, all for $31,500, and when I stack that up against the same mid level GMC Acadia, with similar options, your talking a saving of over $6,000 for what is essentially a like for like optioned third row SUV. I checked out the Ford Explorer, Chevy Traverse, GMC Acadia, Ford Flex, and Honda Pilot, and when it came to actually trying to negotiate an off the lot price nobody came close to the Mazda CX9. Everyone was basically $5 - $6,000 more expensive with nothing more to show for it. I test drove the CX9 before this purchase and obviously I can only compare to the Acadia. I found it more nimble, and more "road connected", and more driver connected, it felt just more of a sporty drive all round, and that with the added lux of riding on leather, with the moon roof and sound system, I just thought, wow, why wouldn't I ? So I did !!! I'll update again soon on performance and handling when I've been round the block a bit more. But as it stand right now this is a quiet cabin, nimble and responsive ride, and feels nothing like you'd expect for a 7 passenger vehicle. Right now, happy chappy, well impressed !"

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

not a fan

By on Monday, July 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Handles nicely"

Cons: "3rd row, key fob, alternator bad @19K, blind spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"When I first purchased the vehicle it was pulling to the left badly! At 19K miles, I had to replace the alternator and something else. Here we are at 60K and it is in the shop again! Most likely the alternator, battery for sure. We will know soon. My biggest complaint is that it has terrible visibility. It has many blind spots. My kids complain if they have to sit in the 3rd row, my youngest is 9, you would think at least she and her friends would be comfortable. Very little storage space for your drinks, purse, etc. Terrible mileage. My Yukon Denali XL had a lot more power and similar mileage! I will never buy another cx 9!! The key fob/key is also a big pain in the rump. The speakers are awful, drove a newer one than mine and they were even worse! A lot of vibration! No get up and go, it's a real dud! My absolute least favorite vehicle out of any I have owned. Do your homework, drive all of the vehicles in this category before deciding on one."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

A great car--fun to drive

By on Wednesday, June 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A lively, versatile, and comfortable SUV"

Cons: "nothing I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my CX-9 for a little over a year. It has a been a great car--fun to drive, lots of pep, and plenty of room. Love the seating/cargo flexibility. I have the Grand Touring model and absolutely love the xenon headlights that come on this model. Driving at night used to be difficult for me, but not with these headlights. I don't have the Navi or moonroof and am thinking of trading my car for another Grand Touring CX-9 with a few more bells and whistles. I love my Sirius radio, too, so have to have that again, but this time with a Bose system. All in all, a terrific car. You know the commercials for Mazda--"Zoom, Zoom"--well, this car does that and more."

Best AWD ever

By on Tuesday, May 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mileage, driveability, great in snow."

Cons: "A little more storage in center console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had Chevy Suburban, Toyota Sequoia and Honda Pilot. Never needed the off road of Chevy or Toyota. New Honda has been so cheapened. Mostly highway from Boston to ski resort in Maine every weekend in winter. Absolute must in snow territory. Excellent in snow or wet conditions. My mileage is great. Consistent 23-24 mpg on highway 70 mph. Around town it's 18 mpg. I calculate actual miles and then gallons used. The mpg on the dash is always 2 mpg lower than my calculation.Anyway it's quiet, fun to drive and a good value. 2 friends who tested mine bought a new one."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

We have 90000 on 2007 GT AWD model. handles great

By on Thursday, May 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fun driving"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car with few flaws

By on Monday, April 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, somewhat sporty"

Cons: "Too much plastic, small third row, poor mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had mine for five years now and I love it. My only complaints are the low quality of the interior, ridiculously small third row and poor gas mileage. I have taken it to the dealer twice in the last five years only because the air conditioner broke down. Overall though it is a fantastic car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fast, quiet, rides good, comfortable seating"

Cons: "gas mileage, trying to get in the 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have only had one problem out of this vehicle in 85,000. The air conditioning cabin filter got clogged and would not let the condensation out of the vehicle and shorted out my AC fan. It was a maintainace mistake on my part. One of the best SUV's out there"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Provides lots of sport

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, ride, handling, utility, regular gas"

Cons: "Dated navigation, spare tire placement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my 2010 Mazda CX-9 on delivery day

"I like the ride and handling of the CX-9. It is not as luxurious as its up market competition but the Grand Touring version has all of the features I need. For the price I paid, it was a bargain. It can cart 101 cubic feet of stuff with the second and third rows folded and with the standard (GT version) Bose audio, navigation, Bluetooth, and blind spot monitors it provides welcome entertainment and information during the haul. It is also nice that it drinks from the regular unleaded pond. It is a worthy member of the zoom-zoom clan."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my 2010 Mazda CX-9 on delivery day

Lots and lots of money and time in repairs!!

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"14k in repairs in the first 2 years and still on going issues. Mazdas customer service has been of no help. When the car is running well it is awesome, too bad that is a rare event for mine. I'll never buy another cx-9!!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

comfortable ride, tons of storage

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable ride and drivability"

Cons: "city mpg only 17-18."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has ample storage for all our road trips, very confortable ride. No repairs necessary since I've bought it and I put 20 K miles a year on it."

This has been my favorite car to own and drive.

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive! Great Value"

Cons: "blind spots...but electronic sensors override this"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Compared to others cars test driven in this class, the CX-9 drives most like a car...with a Zoom Zoom hug the road feel. The cockpit feels very sport. Seeting and cargo is superior and flexible. Great value compared to the high-end luxury crossovers. Love This Car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!!!

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best SUV I have ever owned....Love it, love it, love it."

I love Mazda!

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks great, fun to drive, roomy, good gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the design of Mazda vehicles. Have had an MPV and a 3 and the 2008 CX-9. Considering getting another CX-9, and a CX-5 for my wife. Great cars!"

Drives like a car

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car drives great but it could use more latch systems for carseats. The front dash has a nice design but for the price I was expecting a little more, at least a six disc in dash cd changer or the link system to the garage door. Overall, it's a really nice looking car, handles wonderfully but with 3 kids under 5 and a teenager, we've outgrown it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Perfect for our growing family!

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "holds its resale value easy/fun to drive versitile"

Cons: "smart key is a pain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car! we bought it when i was pregnant with our first child, now we have two kids with a third in the near future. Our CX-9 is part of the family! it is extremely versitile, it can hold a ton of kid stuff. The third row seating is really easy to put up and down, and the second row is just wide enough for 3 car seats. overall, i absolutely love this car!"

Fantastic all around SUV

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful vehicle! Great driving experience, plenty of power, plenty of room, lots of nice features inside with SAT and NAVI. Heated seats, third row seats. Very quick and nimble vehicle for an SUV. Quality really shows in the interior construction. No complaints at all so far! No returns to the dealership for any issue."

We love our CX 9! It looks and drives wonderfully

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Stylish, great dash, fun to drive, comfortable!"

Cons: "No heated side mirrors and fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a roomy SUV. I love the style, handling, roominess, comfort etc. My only wish was for better fuel economy, but averaging 16-18 mpg for a vehicle as large as this isn't too bad either. Rating was for 16 mpg city and 22 highway. Haven't been on a long trip to see what just highway mileage would be. I also wish that it had heated side mirrors. It should be standard in a $36,000 vehicle. Other than that, I love the vehicle and would buy another one tomorrow. We recommended to a friend of ours and she loves her's as well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best car I ever owned

By on Wednesday, February 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, reliability"

Cons: "never needed the third seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was a complete surprise as to its handling and comfort. I had just sold off a S 420 and had high expectations for the ride. I was not let down, and am reluctant to sell it for the same reason."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best CUV ever , the feeling of a car,SUV space

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "luxury inside, excellent, good space for passenger"

Cons: "not enought space on the trunk for travel loaded."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best CUV, the only one on it's class to offer the feeling of a sport car in a SUV body, the best...."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.