Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Mazda CX-9

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 252 Ratings for the 2007 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next

By on Sunday, June 08, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had this vehicle for a little over a year and love it. However, we have had a problem with they keyless system. The key doesn't work at times, even if you take it out and put the actual key in the ignition, it will remain locked. This happened last summer on vacation 2000 miles away from home. It happened several other times and the dealer just doesn't care at all. Says there is nothing they can do and they have never heard of it happening. That makes me not want to buy another mazda and this is my 4th mazda"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very Nice

By on Thursday, June 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This review is coming from a car guy. My wife and I needed a family suv that's easy to park in the city and had a third row. This fit the bill better than any of the competition. Very good choice. The performance is great. It drives like a sport sedan. Sliding second row is great. A little thirsty, but its a big suv w/ 3 rows. Fit and finish are top notch. I hope CX-9 doesnt catch on to the masses. I have the only on on the block and it's look turns heads (as much as a family ride can). Might even buy another Mazda based off ownership of this one!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, June 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Thursday, May 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love it! This may sound crazy...but it drives kind of like a mix of an izuzu amigo and hummer hahaha...but it's great! If you like a heavy car- this is for you."

By on Friday, May 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

First Head Turner

By on Friday, April 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the first vehicle I have owned that gives me real pride of ownership. Rock solid ride and power to spare. I have never not been able to get more power....avg cruising speed 80...do lots of driving on open roads in CA / NV. Bought this one as a new 2007 after the 2008's arrived. Dealer had added chrome to the 20" rims - getting lots of compliments. You couldn't be too tall to sit in the 3rd row but the grand kids aren't that big yet anyway. Gas mileage could be a little better. Like the Bluetooth and Navigation but could be better I maxed out on Bluetooth memory pretty quickly.....this is my mobile office so am pushing these features further than most. This truly is the first vehicle I am PROUD to own!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Stylist

By on Sunday, April 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent in every way except for three things that you really don't test drive it for: wind noise above 50 mph; sounds of running water around door when driving in rain; and BBs sounds when rain strikes the plastic at the junction of the front/second row doors. Getting 21 mph which is good. Can get 5 golfers and bags in it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Actually a great car but...

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"the gas mileage absolutely stinks! The very best on a really long highway drive was 21.5 but city/highway combined-barely 16mpg."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

sporty crossover

By on Friday, February 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned a Mazda3 before buying this vehicle, and was impressed with the standard equipment that was on that car. I purchased the CX-9 about 1 month after they came out, absolutely love the truck. It handles like a sportscar through the curves and even though it's only got 263 bhp, it takes off quick. I purchased the Grand Touring as that's the model 3 I had, and absolutely love the luxury this package provides. I looked at Acura and Lexus, but the Mazda blew both of them out of the water, at close to $6000 less."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I agree with all the good qualities said in the previous reviews. One thing no one has mentioned is the turning radius of this thing...it is awesome! I can pull into and out of any parking spot, and flip a U-turn without batting an eye. The last SEDAN I owned didn't turn so well. My only complaint is, of course, gas mileage. I just filled up today, so I am a extra bitter about it. 15.2 mpg(city) in Los Angeles. blech."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Zoom Zooming and Looking Good

By on Friday, February 22, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"We purchased this vehicle for the 3rd row seating, we checked out some other 3rd row vehicles Toyota Highlander, Honda Pilot etc. None had the 3rd row spacing like this. The features of the on the Grand Touring were great we got the rear entertainment and navigation system the back up camera (when you shift in reverse) is sweet. Not to mention the Bose system, 5 disc cd changer, bluetooth, mp3 gadgetry. The power is great and the ride smooth.To top it all off this vehicle has a sophisticated styling, a real "head turner".The only detractions are the low headroom while entering the front seats, gas mileage (should be way better for todays technology) and the stopping distance at moderate speed. Test drive this vehicle, you will absolutely adore it. Zoom Zoom"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

awsome

By on Tuesday, February 19, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my 3rd suv and all i can say is wow!! Performance is excellent,comfort,quality,roomy,sound system everything is great.I highly recomend this vehicle.Value is also great compared to all those other ones"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Sunday, February 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We previously owned a VW Touraeg and needed to upgrade to something w/a 3rd row. We looked at all the usual suspects in this vehicle class...Toyota Highlander, Acura MDX, Buick Enclave, etc. None of them drove as smoothly, handled as well or had the ZIP of the CX-9. Throw in the economical price as the trump card and it was an irresistable choice. We ended up buying the a black on black Touring edition with the Bose package. So far zero issues. Only small complaint is the lack of a trip computer...also there is no audible warning when the gas light comes on, so pay attention. We gave up some luxury features moving from the Touraeg, but the CX-9's performance, handling and economy have more than made up for the difference. I would highly recommend this vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Friday, January 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"New baby on the way and needed something with 3rd row. looked at the Highlander, MDX, Acadia, Veracruz. By far the best Vehicle we tested. Best value also. 3rd row is so easy to use and get into all who used give us compliments. Not for tall people back there, 5'9" and above will be uncomfortable. Handles great plus has curtain side airbags all the way to the 3rd row. Item that is hard to find. Bought the touring trim with the heated leather power seats and they work great. The bluetooth feature is the greatest invention placed in a car, use it all the time. 18mpg city is right on, 21 mpg highway. I suggest if you are considering this type of vehicle get the CX-9. Love it, my only regret was not getting the Grand Touring and getting it sooner."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this SUV!

By on Wednesday, January 23, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This SUV is awesome! It is very spacious, yet stylish. It handles very well and is fun to drive. The only complaint that I have is the gas mileage...maybe 15 or 16 mpg. Other than that, I have no complaints! I would defilitely recommend the CX-9 to anyone!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, January 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, January 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent SUV, super smooth ride, great mileage. I own for 5 months already and I'm absolutely satisfied. Nothing to complain about."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

watch out for the tires.

By on Friday, January 04, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Overall I like the car. There are a few issues which should be addressed: The vehicle came equipped with the 20 inch rims and sport "all season" tires. Not very good for New England's winters. They have abysmal traction in any type of snow. Be prepared to buy winter tires on 18 inch rims. The rear differential was faulty and had to be replaced at 4000 miles. This was claimed to be only the 2nd vehicle with this problem for the 2007 model year. The service department was great and worked with us and provided another awd for us to use."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great new SUV

By on Saturday, December 01, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This vehicle is very cool to drive. I am not impressed with the power seat on the passenger side. It should go up and down. If you are very tall, you really have to bend over to get in on the passenger side or your WILL hit your head. The features are OK. I wish the headlights would come on automatically as well as the door locks when you take off or when the vehicle is put into gear. Over all, I love this vehicle, and will buy another one.."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Monday, November 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very good choice

By on Sunday, November 04, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I drove BMW's for a long time. When my last BMW X3 lease was finished I (at 74) decided to look at other brands which gave me the same or close overall performance. I ended up with the CX-9. I have driven this model for about one year on all kinds of roads and I am very satisfied."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, October 13, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The CX9 overhauls the competition

By on Monday, October 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Mazda CX-9 should be considered a Luxury vehicle and be compared against the MDX, M Class, and Q7s. The vehicle is fantastic all around and outperforms even its luxury competitors. Comes very well equipped for the price too."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Blend of Luxury and Style

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"After checking out all the new crossovers like 2008 Toyota Highlander, 2007 Accura MDX, Audi Q7 , I finally made the right choice by buying this vehicle that performs better than any of its competetors and is decently priced. After my research of three months i bought a Black on Black CX9 GT with Bose and moon roof package. It definately gives you that kick when people turn their heads to see this vehicle."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda CX-9 near Honolulu. See local deals