Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2008 Mazda CX-7

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 327 Ratings for the 2007 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

I lease this vehicle and have approximately 21,000

By on Sunday, July 22, 2012

I don't own this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Stands up to the ZOOM ZOOM name!!!!"

Cons: "All listed in my review."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Before I begin, believe me, I am an overall Mazda Zoom Zoom lover. The vehicle is beautiful and is indeed a nice ride. I have some suggestions for the powers that be. I had a Mazda 3 prior that had fog lights, however the CX-7 does not have that option, and should be standard for all vehicles. I have been told by the sales reps that daytime running lights is NOT an option for any Mazda vehicles and I thing it should be, which would save me a few dollars with the insurance company. Also, the AC level is not up to par and should be reevaluated. The interior has a very low grade look to it. I love the heated front seats, which should also be an option for the rear seats. The CX-7 has the space for the sun glass holder, yet it is just left there as an empty shell. This option is built into the CX-9. It would also be nice to have the mute button for the radio same as my Mazda 3 had. Believe me, I love Mazda through and through, I just had a few suggestions to improve the fleet."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Only thing good is its fun to drive

By on Thursday, July 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Too many to list!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"54,000 miles and here are the problems. Ticking at start up and while cold. Air conditioner not cold. These are the third set of tires! Mpg is not good. Replaced fuel sensor and the CD player does not work. Service much below par."

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

overall very satisfied

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable front and back. like the storage"

Cons: "large blind spot on right."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"have the four cyl version. very good for highway driving, except if windows get put down loud noise."

Best Car I ever bough

By on Monday, July 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great price, easy to drive and handle, very roomy"

Cons: "No moon roof on mine, no child locks,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove this car from Iowa to Oregon which is like 1800 miles and I had no problems with it. I got great gas mileage while driving and I had my car packed to the roof. I loved this car since I test drove it. It doesnt have as much a blind spot as others I have test driven and It was decently priced. The only think I wish it did was lock the doors once you start driving and I wish it had a mooon roof but thats what I get for getting the cheapest one. If I trade it in, its gonna be for the same make and model but just newer. I am forever a Mazda lover. I have had this car for a year and love all of it. The only down side is that I wish it could have had more towing power."

Worst vehicle ever!

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "total money pit and dont expect mazda to help.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"As long as you don't mind 10/mph to the gallon, replacing the turbo, transmission, VVT, and timing belt sometimes multiple times than this is the car for you.. paid 17k for it used and have had 14k in repairs and it still runs terrible.. stay away.. you've been warned."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good car for those transitioning from cars to SUVs

By on Saturday, April 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Weak engine for the size of the car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car in December 2011. I've had it for 4 months now. It is a nice car, although I have to say the engine is a little too weak for it. It sounds just like mom's old Protege. I guess when you but an SUV you are expecting a little more manly sound under the hood. But I can't complaint too much because I'm getting good mileage in the city (about 21 MPG). Not much highway driving done yet. So far I've had no mechanical issues. The interior scratches easily, and I chose black exterior that also scratches easily. This is my first black car and my last one. Every little scratch shows in white! Inside it is very comfortable. The ride is smooth and fairly quiet. The bluetooth feature is awesome, I'm never again buying a car that doesn't have it. I also added the optional mirror with homelink, a must to keep the interior clean of loose accessories. If I could go back and make my selection again I would definitely add a cold weather package. Here in Chicago during the winter is nice when your mirrors stay dry even when it is snowing. I did not get the 4x4 and I have to say so far I do not regreat it. The car handles well in the snow as is and the fuel efficiency of this model is nice. Overall I'm satisfied with the car. My previous vehicle was a car (Passat) and I think my next one will also be a car. I guess I like cars better than SUVs, and aside from the occacional snow I do not really need an SUV."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Awful blind spot if you are short!!!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I really love my CX-7 however there is one major thing I wish I realized before I bought the car. I am very short (under 5 feet) and the drivers side mirror is directly in my view when taking left hand turns, or even looking in that direction. With the seat at it's highest or lowest it is an awful blind spot for me and I wish I realized this when I test drove it. I have never had this problem with any other vehicle I have owned."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

It is a great car, I love to drive this car.

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Wonderful car, great value, a wonderful car to drive. Zoom Zoom lives up to the words."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very haapy drive

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, fun to drive"

Cons: "hated dealing with service department"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We live in the D.C. area and drive in heavy traffic. Great highway driver. Good gas mileage (compared to '04 Murano traded-in. Great looks (Black Cherry/beige leather)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By far one of the best cars I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, extensive options list"

Cons: "Poor fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for just over a year and, apart from some somewhat glitchy electronics, there are no issues to date. When we bought this car, we actually went to look at a Subaru Forester. The price on the Mazda, however, beat it. It was a leftover from the previous model year and had many more options than the mid-level Forester. It's the S Grand Touring model with AWD, which comes standard with leather, heated mirrors and seats, blind spot monitoring system, auto-dimming rearview mirror with homelink, rain sensing wipers, a six disk in-dash CD/MP3 changer, navigation, smart key, rear-view camera, and the list goes on. We also added a Whispbar roof rack and cargo box that have thus far not affected the fuel economy. My only complaints are that the keys have freaked out a couple of times and has either not locked the car, unlocked the car, or allowed us to start the car. Other than that, we had to have the stereo head unit replaced under the warranty as it was constantly fading in and out."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful value for the price

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "rear seat room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"quite surprised with over all comfort and quality. purchased with 15k miles after one owner and am very pleased. gas mileage so far isnt impressive but acceptable and rear seat a bit small for 3 adults. no surprises yet."

Wonderful value for the price

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "rear seat room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"quite surprised with over all comfort and quality. purchased with 15k miles after one owner and am very pleased. gas mileage so far isnt impressive but acceptable and rear seat a bit small for 3 adults. no surprises yet."

Fun Car, Handles Great... Falls Apart.. JUNK

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Sporty, Looks Awesome"

Cons: "Breaks, Cheap Parts, Multiple Recalls, Money Eater"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Well... We bought this car for our small family of 3, it is really fun to drive and it's sporty! Great car! Or so we thought, unfortunately we found out once this car is out of warranty everything breaks! :( The engine itself makes strange ticking noise, our A/C went out, the car has "died" randomly, the engine smokes from the tailpipes, turbo dies... All of these issues we found out were common problems which mazda issued recalls for... Unfortunatly once your car is out of warranty Mazda will not repair any of the recalled issues - a real bummer. (Go do some research on the CX-7 and reviews, you will find many people HATE this car solely due to the fact that the CX7's are plagued with MAJOR mechanical problems, especially the 2007 CX7's. All that said, I wish I hadn't paid what I did for this car... Fun to drive - Zoom Zoom! But a pain in the wallet, unfortunately I will never own or keep a Mazda that does not have an active warranty after I rid myself of this car - due to my problems with this car and Mazda not honoring known recalls... Anyway steer clear of this car unless you have deep pockets or the previous owner has already done work to correct the known issues."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent performance, fast, stylish

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fast, fun to drive, good power, roomy, utility goo"

Cons: "could be quieter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great acceleration; Good ride; stylish; average interior road noise; local dealer could be better; low cost maintenance; good creature comforts."

It's okay

By on Sunday, February 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliable engine, good cabin size"

Cons: "no AUX input, no V6, poor mileage, high octane req"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"In March 2011, I bought a used CX-7, after my previous car was totaled in an accident. I knew that I needed something bigger so I opted for the crossover styling of the CX-7. The interior features seem somewhat cheap. It's reliable, which is good. I wish it had an AUX port for my iPod. I do not like the fact hat you are required to use high grade fuel. I also do not like the low gase mileage. The engine is a 4 cylinder and it only gets about 19 miles per gallon. My previous car was a V6 and got about 25 miles per gallon."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,396

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great speed, reliable"

Cons: "have to use premium gas only"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my cx-7 new in 2007 and I love it. I have not had any major problems with other than a recall on something. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone. It is very reliable. The only bad thing about it is you have to use premium gas"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

bad turbo timing chain with recall notice

By on Thursday, February 02, 2012

I owned and sold this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "TOO MANY TO LIST SEE MAZDA CX7 ON LINE ABOUT OTHER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Mazda had a recall on 2 items turbo leaking oil mine 1 qt every 500 miles also the timing components we recieved the notice 2 weeks ago it was only good to 70000 miles. They would not help in any way!!!! I maintain records for every oil change fillup ect. I called Mazda corprate"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Overall a good car. Some minor annoyances.

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Keyless entry is really fussy sometimes. The ABS on this car is really not good."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Powerful

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Powerful Engine Comfortable Smart Design Reliable"

nice vehicle, but paid too much

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "looks nice inside and out"

Cons: "gadgets are not easy to access"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"interior leather is nice, but there is alot of plastic in this vehicle. i have always drove toyota's and regret that i downgraded to a mazda. i wanted an all wheel drive and thought this was all i could afford. i should have shopped around because i could have gotten a nicer vehicle for the price i paid for the cx 7"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Never had a single problem, mileage right on

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable, reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No complaints at all"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this crossover!

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have no complaints regarding this vehicle. Drives well in the snow, decent mileage, and comfortable ("

worst vehicle

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,100

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Nice leather and navigation"

Cons: "Mostly everything but the pros I wrote"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"bumpy,no pickup,hard to manage over 60mph"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, quick, comfortable"

Cons: "Have to use premium gas because it's got the turbo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car a few years ago when I was pregnant with my daughter. It has been a great car and I love it because it is super quick and very peppy. It's also a very good looking car. My husband has been trying to get me to trade it in and lease a vehicle to get rid of the loan but I just can't seem to part with this car. The only thing I don't care for is it doesn't have some features like my 2005 Ford explorer had, such as the temperature readings, doesn't tell me how many miles til empty for the gas and it only has one adapter outlet. Really wish I had two. Other than that the seats are super soft and comfortable and it's just spacious enough for everything I do with it. Overall I love my car and plan on having it for a few years longer."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Maintenance Costs have been ridiculous!

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great driving vehicle. sporty and comfortable"

Cons: "low mileage and too many breakdowns!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I own a 2007 Cx-7. At 30,000 miles the AC Compressor burnt up. Was told this is common in this vehicle. At 38,000 I am having to replace the timing belt at $1500 /_ Very unhappy with my car at this time. I am looking into trading ASAP. Very disappointed and will not buy another Mazda product."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda CX-7 near Honolulu. See local deals