Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Mazda CX-7

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 315 Ratings for the 2007 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

goes Zoom zoom except when it sees a gas station

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,894

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good looking car... rides smooth .."

Cons: "horrible on gas mileage!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"drove highway - 290 miles on a full tank of gas. loves to stop at gas stations!"

Mazda is good quality

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "body style, comfort, happy gas mileage"

Cons: "pearl paint tough touch-up, leather not very soft"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Went to the Honda/Mazda dealer thinking Honda was the way to go, but after driving the CX we were impressed with its more carlike feel combined with SUV cargo space. The paint quality and fit of parts is very good, and who would have believed those skinny environmental tires would produce over 30MPG highway, BETTER than the EPA rating! The only gripe we've had is the slight occasional bog/lag when turning left, dealer says fairly common and not very fixable on the 4-cyl engine."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great car, but blind spots are a serious issue

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sleek, comfortable, reliable"

Cons: "Mediocre gas mileage, HORRIBLE blind spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought my CX-7 Grand Touring used (40,000 miles) and have had no problems with reliability thus far. The gas mileage is good, not great, for what it is, but the car is insanely comfortable. It might be a little loud, but otherwise this is a great car if you do a lot of long-distance highway driving. However, I have noticed that the blind spots are HORRIBLE. The design of the car is very sleek, but some of that comes from forfeiting visibility, especially around the corners of the car. Although I love my CX-7, I don't think I would get another one specifically because of how bad the blind spots are."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great rear storage-Excellent Vehicle-3rd row handy

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellent cost, comfortable driving, 3rd row handy"

Cons: "no center consol, improve on front storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"some road noise at high speeds, avg. GPM 24/?? no trips yet. Leather interior not factory but professionally installed before pickup from dealer . door slots work but could have been longer for envelope to store insurance and registration (for example). Rear storage excellent, even more than had in Tribute (great for wheelchair)."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

good

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I don't own this car

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"good car fast"

Disappointments

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,276

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "Overpriced & Overrated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This Mazda cx7 with Turbo costs way too much in fuel considering other vehicle types on the market in this price range and trim package. Cannot use standard 87 octane gasoline and you can only use synthetic oils. You must also remember to idle the vehicle after each trip prior to turning off the engine. The technologies afforded this touring model are difficult to understand even with the owners manual and quick start guide. Road noise is highly prevalent and the interior finish collects dust daily during normal operation. It's back up camera gives an image that is squatty. Of course, these are my observations and opinions. It would be more fuel efficient for anyone considering to purchase a vehicle and more cost effective to buy an older model vehicle and not on credit. 'Buy an old one. Fix it up and keep it running.'"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice reliable vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good gas milage, sturdy interior, lots of extras"

Cons: "Back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I leased this car for 3 1/2 years and am very happy with it. Not one single problem. When I was shopping I felt like I got the most bells and whistles for the money with this car, and still had a reasonable lease payment. My highway mileage was about 29mpg and locally about 22mpg. The cons would be the comfort of the back seat. I didn't care for it, but I don't have people in the back very often. When I did have passengers, they said it was fine, so maybe it was just me, feeling like I was sitting much lower than the drivers. They have improved the backup camera in the newer models, and that was something I didn't love, but it was ok. It got around in the snow just fine, never a problem. It also had good pick up entering the highway. I will be turning this in soon and would love to get a CX-5. Hope I have the same good luck that I had with this CX-7."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

AWD great in Snow

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Turbo Power is good & Stable in Snow"

Cons: "Expensive to drive, Not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought the AWD model of the '07 CX7 while living in snow country. It was great in the snow, but that's where Great ends with this car. It is now a burden, and cost a ton of money to drive and maintain. Having to use 91 Octane hurts the back, especially with the poor MPG (Avg. 16). The tires cost a fortune to replace and it seems there is always a repair needed when taking it in for an oil change. Have had numerous electrical issues with warning lights, CD not working and power window issues."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

NUMBER 1 VEHICLE IVE EVER OWNED.

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "WONT FIND A BETTER AUTO."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"MY VERY FIRST MAZDA. YOU WONT FIND A BETTER AUTO FOR THE MONEY. I JUST LOVE THIS CAR. GREAT SPEED AND PERFECT RIDE."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Not so great

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looking, comfortable on long trips."

Cons: "Bad turning radius and blind spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Very comfortable interior and a good looking car. But...yes, replaced the turbo at 40,000 miles under warranty luckily. The tires that came on the car were lousy in rain and snow. The blind spots are terrible. And the turning radius makes it difficult to pull into traffic easily and to park it. I lack confidence when driving this vehicle. Our other car is a Mazda 3 and we love it. It has 150,000 miles on it and never a problem."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not so great

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looking, comfortable on long trips."

Cons: "Bad turning radius and blind spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Very comfortable interior and a good looking car. But...yes, replaced the turbo at 40,000 miles under warranty luckily. The tires that came on the car were lousy in rain and snow. The blind spots are terrible. And the turning radius makes it difficult to pull into traffic easily and to park it. I lack confidence when driving this vehicle. Our other car is a Mazda 3 and we love it. It has 150,000 miles on it and never a problem."

Love it for looks, ease of driving and comfort

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Too many negatives for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Experience within the time I bought it till now has been horrible. I went thru two turbo's and now the engine is gone. I followed every instruction in the manual, maintained the car properly and now I just paid my last payment and have no car. The car is in excellent shape but I am scared to buy another engine as the two turbos cost about $4700 and now an engine would be about $8K... The car cost $32K so am going to see if I can find a mechanic to buy it cheap. Am going back to a Honda."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Decent crossover. You get what you pay for.

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Cheap price"

Cons: "You get what you pay for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Drives ok. It's a mid grade crossover. Headlight bulbs constantly need replacing. Very annoying. Nothing major ever failed on vehicle."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Wonderful Suv,perfect size

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive plus great mileage"

Cons: "None,wish they still made it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What a great Suv,it does everything right. Great handling and unbelievable mileage. I have got 32 mpg on the highway and consistently get 26 around town. This car is fun to drive,you will love it.Like Mazda says zoom zoom!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Turbo Problem

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives perfect, smooth ride, beautiful vehicle."

Cons: "Short turbo life. expensive to replace."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Beautiful vehicle. Leather heated seats, Great sound system, etc. Turbo went out with only 100,000 miles on it and had to purchase and replace it. I've heard many reports on this happening to people with even less mileage on vehicle. Very expensive to get repaired. Warranty did not cover. If no problems with turbo I would suggest to any and everyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Have really liked this car

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great looks. Fun to drive."

Cons: "Rides a little hard."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife and I really liked this car from the day we bought it. Has a lot of power and handles well. I think it is one of the best looking cross overs on the road. Got the black with the gray leather interior."

This is a good car, require a good maintenance

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very quick and fun to drive"

Cons: "Require good maintenance and like gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Own this car for 7 years, for a small SUV (crossover) it has a very good performance in all condtions, turbo works fine however like a gas, the most impresive is suspenssion and road handling, it has very sensative and quick response stearing, automatic trans with MT option works well specially in hilly driving allowing the down shift to control speed better (if you are driving with the kids)After 3 sets of Goodyear RSA's I put the Bridgestone tires, it was a good change"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great to drive. Reliable and low maintenance!"

Firm ride, good mpg, no mechanical issues

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Nice mid-sized SUV. Comfortable, easy to maneuver. Excellent MPG."

Love this car!

By on Monday, November 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!"

Cons: "Nothing, everything is great!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently bought this car. I love everything about it! It gets really great mpg, it is comfortable to drive. It rides really smooth and the turbo is a great bonus!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my Mazda CX7

By on Friday, October 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive; love the space"

Cons: "model not being manufactured anymore"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Disappointed the model has been discontinued. Had hoped to trade it in for a new model."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Quality that feels like a Luxury vehicle

By on Monday, October 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Attractive Exterior and Interior, Spacious, Smooth"

Cons: "Front Wheel drive (not full)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Move over Lexus. This SUV is beautiful and worth every penny. We have our first baby expected in May and it feels great to have a safe reliable vehicle. And...I love the look and gadgets."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I highly recommend this car!

By on Wednesday, August 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, reliable, attractive, handles beautifully."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently hit the 100,000 mile mark and 15 oil changes and two air filters later, I have never had a single problem with this car. Even the original brakes are still working perfectly. The car is fast (I love the turbo), corners great, drives great and looks sharp. The interior design is intuitive, the air conditioning is powerful and ice cold. Next I am going to tint the front windows as dark as the back, buy some custom rims, and tint the front headlights."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Monday, July 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love the turbo! Fully loaded, navigation system"

Cons: "Looks matronly, not the best gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my mazda cx7! I got one that is fully loaded and it has everything I want and more! The only thing that I don't like is that the seats aren't very comfortable!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the best cars I owned!

By on Wednesday, July 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Performance, Design, Service"

Cons: "Air isolation while driving on high speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had a great experience with Mazda. The car gave me a great performance based on the 2.3L turbo engine and also super stable on the road. The air isolation while driving on high speeds was fair but not perfect. I loved driving it. Moreover, the service was really excellent and very cooperative."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda CX-7 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details