Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2013 Mazda CX-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 151 Ratings for the 2013 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

What is so great about the CX5? Everything!

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, lots of cargo space"

Cons: "smaller towing capacity"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am truly happy with the CX5. It does everything I need it to do. I love how it drives (drives like my Miata), rides, and looks. I have owned it for 1 1/2 years and expect to own it for a very long time. It has out performed the previous Escape by far. Here in Michigan during the winter months my CX5 goes when other non 4 wheel drive vehicles don't. I didn't buy it for the features but I love them. The backup camera is nice, the navigation is awesome, and the blind spot monitor is very nice. I don't use the city stop feature so I cannot comment on that. I have taken it down dirt/mud roads, loaded it with all my camping gear, towed kayaks and a canoe, and bikes, and taken it on road trips. Excellent gas mileage. The only issue I really had was that I could not get the roof top carrier bars to match the vehicle color but they match the interior so its ok."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

cx-5 great driver

By on Wednesday, May 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very fun to drive"

Cons: "i would get darker tint on windows next time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"cx-5 needs more (or larger) storage compartments. electric windows do not work unless ignition is on. best mpg = 37.8 @65 miles/hour on cruise. i love the blind spot detectors and rear camera. i enjoyed driving the "twisties" here in TN."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very surprised!

By on Tuesday, May 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great performance, mileage, handling. Safety!!"

Cons: "Nav is junk!! TomTom. Headlights high beam!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We have had Honda's for over 30 yrs. We test drove all small SUV. This one is the best of them in our opinion! Safer ratings, good milage. The CRV was just cheap, Honda civic! More road noise!Rode chopy! We have the Touring model! They need improving on their NAV! IT's TomTom junk! Google maps on your phone beats it hands down! High beam headlights are poor. We need to see deer, & elk at night!These need to work better! Milage is better out of Calif. 30-33 mpg open road @ 75 miles per hour."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Small SUV

By on Sunday, May 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, handles well, nicely appointed"

Cons: "under powered, low gas mileage, noisy engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One of the first 2013 CX-5's delivered to my dealership, in fact it was still on the boat when I placed my deposit. It has only been in the shop for oil change and inspections. It is a comfortable, useful all around vehicle that is suited well for its purpose. Gas mileage is on the low side of normal, average of 23.9mpg. I can take it on a 100 mile highway trip and average 33mpg after a few weeks of stop and go in the hills of Pa. its back to 23.9. Also, its "almost" impossible to fit a 2x4x8 and still close the hatch. A bit under powered trying to get to highway speed. The 2.5l engine fixes that."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle, fun to drive too!

By on Thursday, May 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Really fun to drive, awesome interior features"

Cons: "The navigation system isn't great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am absolutely thrilled with the CX5. It does everything I need it to do. I love how it drives and it's a gorgeous vehicle. I have owned it for 2 years years and couldn't be happier with it. It has out performed my previous Rav 4 by far. Here in Northeast Wisconsin during the winter months my CX5 gets through the snow with no problem when other vehicles can't. I love all the. The backup camera is awesome, the seat warmers are wonderful, the lumbar support in the seat makes my back really comfortable and the blind spot monitor is fantastic. I have loaded it with camping gear, towed a canoe, and bikes, and taken it on road trips. Excellent gas mileage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda CX-5 near Honolulu. See local deals