Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2009 Mazda B-Series Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 233 Ratings for the 1998 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

hood driving little pick-up

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Always starts, I would drive accross country in this pick-up with great confidence."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best little truck around

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, very dependable"

Cons: "rides better under a load"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had this truck for 7 years, and it's given me great service. Only replaced 4 tires, battery, and brakes since purchase. Great on gas, 26 to 30 mpg., in town & highway."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Ok

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Handles nice, comfortable, decently built."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage. Very poor."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

A 99 with NO rust....wow

"Truck now has 118,xxx miles. It's a 99 with 4.0 engine. Overall, the truck is ok. My biggest gripe I guess is the gas mileage...only about 16mpg overall. With gas so high in price, and not really needing a pickup any more, I think it's time to sell it. Need to get something that gets more like 30mpg."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

A 99 with NO rust....wow

good dependable truck new throwout bearing

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good gas mileage dependable every day driver"

Cons: "a little small inside for more than three people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"there was a problem with throw out bearing no other problems while I have owned it good gas mileage oil change on time changed transmission oil also"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good dependable truck new throwout bearing

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good gas mileage dependable every day driver"

Cons: "a little small inside for more than three people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"there was a problem with throw out bearing no other problems while I have owned it good gas mileage oil change on time changed transmission oil also"

It's a great midsize truck...

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Just a great all a round mid size truck."

Cons: "probably the mpg, gets 20mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the B-4000 new in 2004. Since then other than maintance it's been a great truck. At 100,000 I had to replace waterpump and the thermostat housing on the motor. Still runs like a top and looks fantastic,best vehicle I ever bought."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This truck takes a beating and keeps running.

By on Thursday, October 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Small, fuel economy, style"

Cons: "People who own bigger trucks that guzzle gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've put this truck through many situations that would damage other 2WD pick-ups and it keeps going. I love this truck. This is a great around town and light construction truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A work truck and daily driver!

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Radio is easy to replace if desired. Easy to clean"

Cons: "Rug can be stained easily, big V6 engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Before paint restoration and bumper fix.

"I've had this truck for 2 years now, and so far, it;s not been the truck's fault of what's happened. I've gotten paint on it, ran over a stump, and been hit i nthe rear by a lto of big Suburbans trying to get onto the freeway. However, with regular maintenance, and caution [depending on where you live] this truck will give you that gas mileage you want with a great tow capability. Not extreme as the half-ton, but still pretty good! smooth [with good shocks]. The brakes go out after 50,000 miles or so, so I replaced them and it was easy [the pads]. The transmission needs to be flushed every 60,000 miles or so. I also use the high mileage oil change when I'm in, and it seems to work great! I've got a K&N air filter [lifetime warranty] so no more replacing! The front bumper is made of hard plastic. That's a downside, but it's easy to fix and put back on [Zipties!]. I'm getting that replaced soon [the back 'bumper' is metal which is great!]. Overall, Lucy [as I've named her] has towed, hauled people, goods, and been on dirt roads. BUT, don;t go into the mud. Yeeeeeeah, that 4-wheel drive Ford Ranger may go through it, but this truck DOES NOT go through mud, especially with rear-wheel drive. (I've been stuck enough to know.)"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Before paint restoration and bumper fix.

Great truck for the price

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "v6 acceleration, handling"

Cons: "mpg, leg room for people at 6' or taller"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned this model since 2006 and it's been good to me. I've only had to do one major repair and the rest has been odds and ends. only reason I don't give it a solid 10 is due to the engine throwing a rod just after I had paid it off. Despite this, it still is a great truck that I would recommend. I've had it 8 years almost and only had to spend 2000 in repairs."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good vehicle

By on Monday, July 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 258,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good fuel economy"

Cons: "no horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"if your looking at this truck on hear some of the information listed is wrong, they list this truck as being able to seat five passengers but it only seats three max, and the truck only has a 16.7 gallon fuel tank not a 19.5 gallon tank, also i get 30 mpg on highway not 24, the person who wrote this information down did not write the correct info down. i know this for a fact because i own the truck and have driven 500 miles on a single tank of gas nonstop"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

good vehicle

By on Monday, July 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 258,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good fuel economy"

Cons: "no horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"if your looking at this truck on hear some of the information listed is wrong, they list this truck as being able to seat five passengers but it only seats three max, and the truck only has a 16.7 gallon fuel tank not a 19.5 gallon tank, also i get 30 mpg on highway not 24, the person who wrote this information down did not write the correct info down. i know this for a fact because i own the truck and have driven 500 miles on a single tank of gas nonstop"

reliable-- takes abuse-- never worry about break

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability style cool factor"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best vehicle i ever had, by far. routine maintenace and it runs forever.215k miles, going strong"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Dam fine truck, looks new in & out!

By on Tuesday, April 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Under Kelly Blue Book..fun to drive"

Cons: "no power windows no cruise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

ready to work!

"I'm the 3rd owner..1st owner had it 1 month and traded..2nd owner had it 10 years and traded..I've owned it 1 year and added a lot of stuff..New tires,tonneau cover, flowmaster dual exhaust, new stuff under the front end..Spent all its life in Florida & Georgia. I'm 72 years of age and downsizing to 1 car."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

ready to work!

Definately Got My Money's Worth

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck as a left-over, and it had also been a demo model, so I got a good deal on it. It has never broken down. I learned to drive a stick on an '86 B2200, and I owned a '97 B2300 before this one. They have all been great little trucks. The only bad thing is that it's not 4WD. My mechanic has never seen a car with a better/hotter heater. I'm sorry that these and the Rangers aren't made any more."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

undervalued pickup

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,888

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "pretty looking solid built truck"

Cons: "with 19 mpg could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is a great compact truck. With same specs as the ranger and a more beautiful exterior I don't understand why the ranger sells for more money. I would choose my baby b3000 4x4 any day over the less attractive ford ranger."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

1998 Mazda B2500

By on Sunday, July 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, good gas mileage, great value"

Cons: "doesn't have a blue oval on the hood"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad bought the truck used but the previous owner only had a few months. He loved it the whole time and used it a lot. It has done heavy hauling and the transmission survived years of backing a camper up a steep driveway repeatetly as he tried to fit in in the small garage. It has always gotten great gas mileage and has only had one major repair. the steering arm bent when the truck went way too fast over a huge pothole. i learned stick on it and now drive it. I love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Getting ready to sell to my son ...

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, maintenance costs and mpg"

Cons: "a bit sluggish accelerating with the AC running"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

This was when it was new in 2004 and it hasn't changed!

"but this has been the best pickup i have ever owned. Averaging over 28 mpg since I bought it new in 2004: I'm impressed!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This was when it was new in 2004 and it hasn't changed!

Great little pickup

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, very reliable"

Cons: "poor gas milage in city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great little truck, could use a little more gas milage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best small truck on the road..

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my Mazda new in 2003 and have had absolutely zero problems with it. Very reliable truck"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good basic truck/transportation

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Living in a townhouse, this truck is all I need for home needs. It'll carry or tow 1,400 lbs. I use it to commute to work, 25 miles each way with over 3 dozen traffic lights. This truck gives me 27 mpg on my commute. Its a base model, 4 cyl, manual shift with a/c. Its not refined, but its reliable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

RELIABLE TRUCK

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GREAT PRICE FOR THE TRUCK"

Cons: "EXACT SAME AS THE FORD RANGER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

JUST INSTALLED NEW CHROME FINISHED NERF BARS

"RELIABLE TRUCK, BUT IF YOU ARE IN IT FOR THE POWER AND TOWING, GO WITH THE MAZDA B4000 4.0 LITRE BECAUSE IT CAN HAUL MORE WEIGHT DUE TO ITS INCREASE IN HORSEPOWER"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

JUST INSTALLED NEW CHROME FINISHED NERF BARS

great strong truck

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best truck for its class"

Cons: "not very common, but uses ford ranger parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is the cadillac of a ford ranger. I get 20mpg and am able to tow a large sailboat trailer, about 15mpg with trailer. Truck has great ground clearance without a custom lift. No engine problems, has nice features and looks good"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck I've ever owned

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck 2 years ago from the original owner with 183,000 miles on it. He said the only thing he had to ever replace on it was the brakes, tires, spark plugs, alternator and starter. I have now owned the truck for 2 years and have put close to 50,000 miles on it. The only thing I've replaced is the cat, brakes, o2 sensors and tires. That is not bad at all for a truck that is 14 years old with 224000 miles on it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Reliable truck

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable, comfortable"

Cons: "Not a lot of space inside the cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a lift and oversized tires on this truck and with this look I get so many compliments all the time! Makes me enjoy driving this, especially as a girl and its a "mans truck". The water pump has been leaking but I keep putting in coolant and it hasn't let me down yet. The interior is a little small but comfortable and "Intimate". Mine was the Troy Lee Designs edition and while the leather interior is awesome, the flames on the outside are a bit much. Maybe for a teen or young 20s but I feel I personally have outgrown it. Other than that I love this truck and will miss it tons when I go to sell"

Edison, NJ built Mazda still trouble free!

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Unbelievably reliable workhorse."

Cons: "No power windows, mirrors, or locks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck right after 9/11 because the price was right. Added a class 2 Reese hitch to tow my boat. Truck is very truckish, with no power mirrors, windows, or locks. This is the only downside to this vehicle. Have used synthetic oil since the first oil change and self-maintain this truck by the book. Back to the dealer only once for a recalled cruise control fusible link. Just replaced the original battery after 10 years and four months. Excellent service and overall value. This one's a keeper."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda B-Series Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details