Go

1999 Mazda 626

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 356 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next

Reliable

By on Saturday, October 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good value for the price we paid"

Cons: "average amenities, average comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've owned our 2000 Mazda 9626 for 10 years. We bought it used with 15k miles on it. It has mostly minor repairs done to it, except when a repair shop didn't replace the oil plug after an oil change and fried the engine, so it has a newer engine in it (they replaced at their cost). Once it hit about 100k miles, we noticed a rough vibration when it's at a stop and the air conditioner is going, but we put it in neutral and the vibration stops so we're assuming it's a motor mount problem these cars are known for, but we're told it's a inexpensive fix as long as it's addressed sooner than later. Overall, it's been a reliable vehicle, comfortable enough to drive in. We plan on selling it to our niece as we move on to another newer car so she can have a reliable vehicle as her 2nd stepping stone car. Highly recommend this car unless you need a lot of sitting room in the back and storage, although trunk is good sized."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Wouldn't Buy Again.

By on Thursday, November 18, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

"Car only has 114,000 miles and it's on it's third transmission. Air conditioner went out at 50,000 miles. Unreliable car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2001 mazda 626 V6

By on Wednesday, August 25, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is my first Mazda I've owned. And I gotta say, I'm impressed. It may look small, but it has a lot of power. I can easily blow away other V6's and it can hold its own against some V8s. Exellent fuel response time, great in cornering, and good on fuel. It's a great all around car. The interior is quite roomy and I'm not a small guy (6'2" and 220lbs).The trunk is huge for a car this size too. I would definately recommend this car to any one. The only down side is more expensive parts and the small engine compartment makes it hard to work on."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Worst transmission ever

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought this vehicle brand new! The 1998-2002 Mazda transmissions did not have cooling fans on them. They will heat up the fluid which in turn burns up the transmissions. I have gone through 2 transmissions and I drive mostly highway miles!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great all around sedan

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1999 626 new and have never had any issues -- it rides and handles very well and has a balanced overall styling. Split rear seats and large cutout trunk allow for lots of cargo possibilities. The oscillating center air vents are unique and practical. I have a manual 5-speed, which is a lot of fun to drive and it gets excellent gas mileage (25 plus). Solidly built and never any mechanical issues, I recommend this vehicle for anyone who wants a good value and an attractive, peppy, fun to drive vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda 626 near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement