Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2007 Lotus Elise

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 8 Ratings for the 2005 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10

This is a race car, not a Luxury Sports Car

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The best handling car you will ever drive"

Cons: "This is not a comfort commuter car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

This is a true race car, not a luxury sports car.

"If you want to drive the best handling car on the road, this is your machine ! With the Toyota engine and drive train, you will not find a more reliable sports car. This car attracts people. They love it. This is the most photographed car I have ever owned. Tires - to get the grip, the Yokohama tires are very soft. The rear tires last about 6,000 miles and fronts last about 12,000 miles. This depends on how you drive, but I know you will love taking a city street corner at 60 and the car does not break loose. It goes 0-60 in 4.4 sec. This car is nothing but driving fun."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This is a true race car, not a luxury sports car.

Best handling sports car in the world

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Maserati handling at a VW price-Super fun to drive"

Cons: "No cup holders:+D--no extras--just fun"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Fantastic view.

"After 4 Porsche's I could not believe that there was a better handling car. I have driven may others but the Lotus sticks to the road like it is glued and corners like it is on tracks. Lotus has carried the ground effects machine that it designed for race cars to this model. I am 6'3" at 220 lbs. Tight fit but comfortable with plenty of head room with soft or hard top. Getting in and out took a bit of practice, but that is true for any sports car in its class"

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Fantastic view.

Decent 2nd or 3rd car

By on Sunday, March 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Drive control, turning, gas mileage, looks"

Cons: "Getting in/out, cheap parts, not very comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"1st, This is not really a daily driver car. If you are single, 25, average height and weight, with a girlfriend who is under 150 lbs, maybe. 2nd, most women (and I have had several in the car - relatives and the like) find this car to be BRUTAL to ride in. It attracts them like flies, no doubt, but honestly, this is a harsh car. 3rd, it is rudimentary at best. There is no adjusting the steering wheel, there is no adjusting the passenger seat, there is no adjustment of the upper torso part of the driver's own seat - just fore and aft - that's it. 4th, this car is an eye-catcher and that is no lie. Having owned corvettes, Porsche 911 and ridden in a Lamborghini Gallardo and Mercieliago (sic), nothing gets the looks like a LOTUS ELISE - not even the Evora. 5th, great gas mileage, but tiny tank. It gets 20-22 city and 26-30 on the highway. 7th, entering and exiting the car SUCKS! If you disagree you don't own this car. It is terrible to exit, a 1/10 and if you are overweight, forget this car entirely. Entering is okay, you can slide in, but this is where the ladies hate this car. 8th, cheaply made parts tend to break. The plastic inside is cheap, no storage space (save 2 bags in the trunk) and not even a glove box. 9th, music is terrible regardless if you dump $2000 into a system - the car is LOUD. The engine roars behind your head and you feel every bump, even the year of that penny you just rode over is easy to feel. 10th, driving control and turning is where this car excels, but does it outweigh everything else? Maybe. It is a go-cart sized car, literally waist high if you are 6' tall. The car needs to be really revved to make power and you will get killed by even a regular Mustang GT on a straightaway. Cornering is its best asset, bar none. So, overall, it is a terrible daily driver, period. It will get you from Dallas to Houston maybe on a tankful, but you won't like getting there if its bumpy. HARSH ride is being nice, after all, you are sitting in an aluminum tub surrounded by fiberglass. There is no comfort here. The seats are terribly uncomfortable over 75 miles and if you have a bad back, it will get worse with this car. Is it worth all this? Yes, if you buy one used around $30,000 and the ECU shows it hasn't been abused. Most of these cars are tracked, so be wary. Avoid LOW LOW mileage Elise's - lots of engine problems with seals. I'd buy one with 90,000 before one with 12,000 if it is a few years old. These cars are meant to be driven, but not beat on. I would recommend this car as a collector car, to be driven sparingly (3-5k miles a year). If you want a commuter, this is not for you. It can be embarrassing getting in and out at times. Drinking coffee or talking on the phone? Not in an Elise. No cup holders and no real room for error. Use 2 hands on this little beast."

21 people out of 22 found this review helpful

The most enjoyable vehicle I've owned

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great styling"

Cons: "Hard to get into/out of, interior doesn't hold up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is difficult to get ina and out of, and some of the materials used in the interior have not held up well considering the age of the vehicle, but the Elise is by far the most fun of any car I've owned. If you want a car that is quiet, comfortable and easy to get around in - this is not yoe vehicle. If you want a car that has a great HP/weight ratio, handles and brakes like a $300k exotic and makes you feel like you are driving a F1 racer every day - this is your car."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Street legal race car

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing unless you are fat and can't fit in it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2011 Elise R is the best car I have driven in my entire life. I had before porsches, BMW, audits and a mustang gt500 and those care are like driving crown Victoria's next to the Elise. The information this car send to the driver is amazing! Super fast acceleration for only 192hp, the BEST handling than any car out there including ferraris and lamborghini, and I know this because I was a test driver for this two companies when I lived in Italy. The only issue is the small cabin but that is what lotus is all about, low weight, superior handling and great acceleration. The Toyota engine is not a Celica engine, it is just the bones/shell, it is all lotus engineering. Until you drive an Elise you'll understand it, and if you are able to get those revs all the way close to the redline you will hear a sound that releases the monster that Elise is all about. It gives you the chills! It is like you are inside a race car video game."

19 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lotus Elise near Honolulu. See local deals