Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1999 Lexus SC

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 205 Ratings for the 1992 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

A past look into a future classic...

By on Sunday, June 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "residual value, great overall"

Cons: "no sport susp, repl. parts, mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Describing this car is difficult, because out of all the cars I've ever driven or owned- this is by far my favorite. Not just because it looks like it's still brand new by standards of style or because of its' great construction; this car just encompasses the total driving experience. Lexus designed this coupe to be a balance of performance, luxury and convenience. They succeeded beyond any measurable expectation. I recently had an opportunity to read a Car and Driver comparo between a '95 BMW E3, 300ZX, Acura Legend and an SC400 (the SC300's big brother). Though the car came in second behind the M3 at the time, fast forward 17 years and compare them now. I've owned the 300Z (how do you like upwards of $150/labor hour to work on them in some places and very expensive replacement parts), the Legend (great car, always in the shop- also expensive to replace) and driven the M3 (just look at Top Gear's experience some time to get an average view of the ownership of this car). 17 years on, it looks great, runs even better and still has enough kick to make it feel special. Though most newer cars could spank me off the line, there's an X-Factor here that new models lack. Even the higher end Mercs, Beemers and Lexes. My only advice to you: take care of this car once you have it and do your research before you buy it. There are wonderful resources (ie ClubLexus) as to what foibles to look for when buying and what to avoid. Mechanic's specials on these models can run major bucks, even if you do the work yourself. Be wary of cars that look like they've been abused- trust me, I speak from experience. But as far as a total package, WOW. This baby is soundproofed with a DynaMat like material (or maybe it is actually DynaMat) so very little road noise comes through. The seats are very comfortable, and great for short hops or long drives. The stereo still sounds awesome 15 years later, and the technically minded can get MP3 output with a few dollars in parts and an hour in labor. Many of the repairs can be done by someone moderately technically inclined. As far as years ahead of it's time: the headlights are an art form in and of themselves, and the steering wheel tilts up and away so egress is very easy! Driving one of these gives you an idea of why Lexus was so dangerous to the Germans in the '90s, and why Hyundai and Kia have supplanted them today. Bottom line: Lexus strived for excellence, and surpassed it. These cars stand the test of time, and we'll see examples of them one day on Barrett-Jackson. And with the number of good original examples diminishing over the years, it'll be something you'll enjoy driving and looking at years later."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Fantastic Automobile

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my SC400 for the last 6 1/2 years and have had nothing but pleasure from this unbelievable vehicle. I am currently looking for another one and will find one soon to "soup up". Even in preowned condition, these cars last forever if taken care of well (a friend has one for over 13 years and has 397,000 miles on it and it is STILL going strong). Proud owner and still get looks on the road!"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Love My Lex

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had a 1992 Lexus SC300 for over 8 years now. It has been an awesome car. When i tell people its a 92 their jaws drop because it looks like a new model. Lexus was so far ahead of the curve at that time its almost hilarious if you look at a 92 BMW. Anyone considering one of these would be happy!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best car ive ever owned

By on Monday, August 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive, powerful, solid build"

Cons: "not enough to bother!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"there are so few bad things i can say about this car...the common problem areas are the LCD display for the climate control, the needle lights on the gauges, and the door panels' affixment. other than those few relatively minor annoyances, this has been the best car ive ever owned. only time it's put me on the side of the road was when the radiator busted, but age will do that to any radiator, and i believe it was the original, and that happened in 2010 i believe. handles great, plenty of power, and not terrible fuel economy for the 220hp inline 6. i have over 215k miles on mine, and it runs perfectly smooth, and the auto trans shifts beautifully. you really get what you pay for when you buy lexus, id recommend this car and other lexus to anyone."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Used CAR Value Ever

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"ok listen lots of us are partial for various reasons but mine are simple the first one i had was a 97 with 120k on it drove and smelled brand new second 94 with 115 on it the same, and now i just bought a 92 with 78k orig miles 1 owner it is flawless i was in the car buis for years and have had and driven almost eveything there is, and the sc400 has sold me for life, power ,luxury, and endless choices of styling, allthough i have left mine showroom orig, and wouldent trade it for a new 430. it is just one of those special cars in history, also it would have been a toyota supra until they changed everything and created lexus note all the simularities, anyway drive one and make you own conclusions one thing for sure you wont be dissapointed in any of them that were well cared for. by the way i got what was new a 50 k cash car, and i paid 6 k cash and own it and it looks new so go figure on the value part ;-) happy lexus owner in lasvegas sc 400 for me!!!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus SC near Honolulu. See local deals