Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Lexus SC

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 196 Ratings for the 1992 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

Best vehicle I have owned over past 60 years

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive with manual tranny, great handling."

Cons: "Electric antenna,heated seats, trunk struts, n.g."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car could use a bit more low-end torque but the trade-off is very responsive at high speeds. Usual Toyota Corp defects -- electric antenna, seat heaters and trunk struts-- all have died over 20 years of use. Also, difficult car for a do-it-yourselfer to work on. Changing spark plugs takes hours; changing oil filter requires acrobatics unless you have a lift. Rest of car -- very high quality. I have never regretted buying this car. In the past, I've owned Ford flatheads; Volvo 1800S; Corvette Sting Ray; MGB-GT; 3/4 race Plymouth Fury; etc. The SC300 is at top of the list."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car but alot can go wrong with it.

By on Wednesday, January 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive every option you can ask for in a car"

Cons: "EXPENSIVE TO MAINTAIN"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"92 Lexus sc400 Current mileage 141732 miles The pros- Its fast if u need to it be. Handles great. Has every option u could need from heated seats, to 10disc player in trunk, leather seats. traction control and so on. Cons- 1200.00 for timing belt change and tuneup at 99,000 miles, Radiator- 475.00 at 102000 miles, alternator 585.00. sensor 320.00, The leather seats do not hold up at all. Mine are ripped and cracked and Ive taken care of them. I guess i forget I'm driving a 21yrold car because when everything wrks its a great car and people always comment on it. If you plan on buying one buy one with Low mileage for the extra money or if it has high mileage get receipts of work done. Its very Expensive to fix!!!!!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very reliable and sleek

By on Thursday, December 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to driving handling"

Cons: "Ease for adult to get in back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used not knowing much about the cars and turned out to be a great choice! Very nice smooth handling and a great ride! Does well in snow and ice also."

Best vehicle i have ever owned-Looking for another

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hugs the road--sunroof open feels like convertible"

Cons: "Lexus dealer too expensive to touch my car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely the most reliable fun to drive road hugging car I have ever had. Mine has 215000 yes 215 THOUSAND miles and I would drive it anywhere. 5 Speed Manual Transmission is the rarity but it makes it the best car I have ever owned. Even the fact that when you need a part it is $$$ I still would recommend this car as I have had to purchase so few parts in 19 years. I buy lifetime warrantied parts as I KNOW I am gonna keep this vehicle ( 4th alternator, 6th set of brake rotors)"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I'm picking up my 1997 Lexus SC400 tomorrow

By on Friday, November 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A wonderfully comfortable highway cruiser."

Cons: "Reliability in snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Years ago I traded in my 1995 SC400 and always regretted it. I just purchased a 1997 with 22,500 miles on it. I truly understand the attachment that it's owners have with this vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus SC near Honolulu. See local deals