Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Lexus SC

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 199 Ratings for the 1992 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

Great cruiser on highway and in the city

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, well built"

Cons: "Boring bone stock."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The SC or Toyota Soarer are one of Toyota's greatest looking cars, and since the platform is shared withe the Supra, performance parts are readily available. it is a smooth, comfortable car, but it lacks any charisma that most car enthusiasts look for."

GREAT VEHICLE, VERY RELIABLE

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,502

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance of vehile is great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Very Clean

"I have owned this vehicle for three years. All Service records are up to date. Factory parts still installed. Nakamichi radio with cd changer."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very Clean

I've owned my 1992 SC400 since 95 she's AWESOME

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,350

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Beautiful Sporty Car extremely well built"

Cons: "needs struts, front windshield, stero & CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car is a 1992 SC400 Coupe with the original Premium Package. I purchased her in 1995 & she's been an absolute dream from day one! She's a strong, reliable car. She needs some work today, all struts need replacing, heat & air panel control options aren't visible, the heat & air do work, Nakamichi system no longer works, CD no longer works, windshied is cracked, window tint needs replacing, drivers door interior panel needs replacing, passenger interior door handle clip needs replacing, hood & front bumper need touch-up paint, drivers seat & upper rear seat leather around speakers has sun damage & wear & tear. Oil changes & tune-ups have been done regularly. With some maintenance this car is a owners dream to own & operate. She gets around 20/21 MPG. The LEXUS automobile is rated at 500,000 miles with regular maintenance. After my first year of owning my Lexus I felt safe driving it, comfortable in my daily driving & on long trips. This vehicle due to it's superb workmanship makes you feel confident & secure in every facet of owning the car!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned over past 60 years

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive with manual tranny, great handling."

Cons: "Electric antenna,heated seats, trunk struts, n.g."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car could use a bit more low-end torque but the trade-off is very responsive at high speeds. Usual Toyota Corp defects -- electric antenna, seat heaters and trunk struts-- all have died over 20 years of use. Also, difficult car for a do-it-yourselfer to work on. Changing spark plugs takes hours; changing oil filter requires acrobatics unless you have a lift. Rest of car -- very high quality. I have never regretted buying this car. In the past, I've owned Ford flatheads; Volvo 1800S; Corvette Sting Ray; MGB-GT; 3/4 race Plymouth Fury; etc. The SC300 is at top of the list."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice car but alot can go wrong with it.

By on Wednesday, January 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive every option you can ask for in a car"

Cons: "EXPENSIVE TO MAINTAIN"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"92 Lexus sc400 Current mileage 141732 miles The pros- Its fast if u need to it be. Handles great. Has every option u could need from heated seats, to 10disc player in trunk, leather seats. traction control and so on. Cons- 1200.00 for timing belt change and tuneup at 99,000 miles, Radiator- 475.00 at 102000 miles, alternator 585.00. sensor 320.00, The leather seats do not hold up at all. Mine are ripped and cracked and Ive taken care of them. I guess i forget I'm driving a 21yrold car because when everything wrks its a great car and people always comment on it. If you plan on buying one buy one with Low mileage for the extra money or if it has high mileage get receipts of work done. Its very Expensive to fix!!!!!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus SC near Honolulu. See local deals