Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2003 Lexus RX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 405 Ratings for the 1999 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

By far, the best car purchase I ever made.

By on Tuesday, October 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and effortless to drive-smooth and quiet"

Cons: "Steering Radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought my Lexus, I test drove all of them, BMW, Acura, Mazda, Nissan, Toyota, Mercedes and the rest. It was not until I sat in the RX300... After purchasing, the years went on and I could not have been more pleased - and why not. - The body design was still in style. - The interior and exterior still were like new. - No mechanical problems at all... it ran great! - Gas mileage was even holding true. - No car payment! Now it is 12 years later and the little things are starting to go, door locks, shorts in the electrical, leather is worn, and not quite in style like it was. That said, know that my RX300 still runs like a champ and has no signs of letting up. Best Car Purchase I Ever Made!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, September 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very likely"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very little repair on this suv very dependable"

Awesome Car!

By on Thursday, September 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride, luxury feel"

Cons: "only 5 passengers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this car for 9 yrs. Bought it 2 yrs. used. Except for normal maintenance over the years,(brakes, new tires, new battery) this car has been worth every penny we spent on it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2001 RX 300

By on Thursday, August 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Wow, what a car."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this vehicle in 2005 and I have loved it for 8 years. This is my office. Most of the mileage was for business. This car handles like a dream in all circumstances and weather. Rides like your favorite easy chair and now that I am retiring I might buy a new one this time!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Saturday, August 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is comfortable and reliable. It's been a excellent value for us as a family car. It currently has 225K miles, and its still going strong. We folded the seats flat to haul things, and it fits two car seats and a school-aged child without too much fighting. All in all, we enjoy the car's convenience and hope to continue driving it for a long time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car, so comfortable

By on Friday, August 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "So reliable and comfortable."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our second RX300. Both have been great cars. We are looking for a third one now. This model does not have the audio controls on the steering wheel like my 07 Tundra, and I miss that. Plenty of power, comfortable ride, great for long drives across country. Works great in the snow here in Idaho."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love!

By on Monday, August 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle! I love the way it looks and performs! Its long lasting and reliable! I drive it an hour to work everyday and take it on long vacations. This is a wonderful vehicle and I love it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My first Lexus RX 300.

By on Thursday, August 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love it so much it is perfect for personal drive and wonderful travel any where .. I just want new one same kind RX"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned and will own another one

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I moved to Florida a year ago and was very happy with my Lexus until I got convertible fever!! In a perfect work I would keep my RX and buy a new Lexus IS. Unfortunately Lyme disease has me on a limited income but I can dream!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

i like the way it drives,had it for 14 years love

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the pick-up it has for speed.very reliable,its lets you know when you need to change something on it.every thing great about it not over price$$,....very good tear and wear."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWENED

By on Saturday, June 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN TO DRIVE; PRICED TO SELL"

Cons: "NO CUP HOLDERS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

CLASSIC DESIGN

"2ND OWNER, NEW ALTERNATOR, BATTERY, TUNEUP, TIMING BELT. GREAT FOR AROUND TOWN DRIVING AND ON THE ROAD. EASY PARKING."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

CLASSIC DESIGN

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Thursday, May 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Long lasting, reliable, comfortable, great mileage"

Cons: "Too wide a steering radius."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new off the lot in July of 2000. Paid cash. It still drives like a dream. The AC is the coldest anywhre, and we here in Miami know how important that is. The stereo is even better than in my 2007 Lexus LS 460! I hate to give this car up but my wife deserves a new car. The only complaint is that the turning radius is a little large. We will see how much that has improved during the test drives. Will try the newest RX, plus the BMW X3, the Audi Q5 and what ever else she wants. Sorry to see it go, but hopefully the new model will also last us 13 years!"

OK..But long for my Santa Fe

By on Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Look good, comfortable seats"

Cons: "Gas mileage, do it your-self maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"My Wife loves this SUV, and admit it has been reliable. But V6 gas mailage, driving motions, and ease of maintenance goes to my old Santa Fe. Sorry Toyota fans, do it your self oil changes on the 3.0 engine is something for a monkey. Poor place to put an oil filter, right over the exhaust manifold. Better check out your spare tire well, it may be full of water. The foam seals around the tail lights shrink, causing rain to leak in. Driving down the highway, the RX has alot of annoying up and down motions that the Santa Fe didn't have. Anyway this is my Wifes SUV, and she likes it, so thats all that matters."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned

By on Monday, April 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury options are still operational & looks great"

Cons: "Small gas tank"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I call my 2000 RX 300 my baby and for 13 years she has been a dream to drive and is still in excellent condition inside and out. I just had to replace brakes and the water pump but I was willing to spend the money since this was really the only expense I have had to do in the 13 years that I owned this car, with the exception of batteries and tires. I have no desire to ever get rid of this car since she runs great and everything is still operational including the heated seats. With all the luxury features that this vehicle has it is no wonder the reviews are so favorable for this car."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

i would recommend this car with no reservations

By on Monday, April 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort, convenience, reliability"

Cons: "cost of repairs if and when needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had my RX300 for 14 years and have had very few issues. the issues i have had are due to my less than optimal maintainence schedule. it drives well, gets decent milage for an SUV. its a work horse and it has traversed a wide range of terrian."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Loved this Lexi for 14++ years

By on Sunday, April 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Bad cup holder broke after a year"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned premium cars before ...nothing can compare to the reliability and beauty of a 1999 RX 300....nicest interior around ...body atill does not look outdated!! Fyi car still looks new.."

My 4th Lexus and my favorite

By on Saturday, March 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I worked real estate many years and always leased a nice vehicle including 3 Lexus sedans until I was severely rear ended in my 400. That is when I moved to the Lexus RX300 because it was easy to get in and out with my double knee injury. I started with a lease and had equity at the end so I bought it - and because I loved it. It is quiet, extremely comfortable, handles great (I have maneuvered out of a few situations on the freeway and avoided accidents)it looks good and I get compliments all the time on how new it looks. This is the first vehicle I have owned this long and I still love driving it. I also appreciate the "trunk" space, the flexibility of the rear seats folding down as well as moving forward when needed. I would recommend this vehicle to everyone. I have owned many nice vehicles including an MG, Vet, 2 T-Birds, mustang, cadillac, Fords, Chevys, VW, Toyotas, and this is my overall favorite. Love the drink holders too."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car for every day use plus sand and snow

By on Tuesday, March 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Day in day out reliability"

Cons: "Not "aggressive" looking, or fully off-road worthy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I live in Baja Ca MX in an area where there are few paved roads. I drive on dirt and gravel roads 50% of the time, off road and sand 25% and paved roads 25%. With the proper tires, this SUV is perfect for down here. I'd trade it for a four door Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, but that's about it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great service, would hate to get rid of it.

By on Sunday, March 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I may keep this car until it becomes an antique, and then some more."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome old luxury vehicle!

By on Monday, February 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, amazing suspension, luxurious."

Cons: "Vague steering."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Still looking brand new even after 10 years and 100,000 miles!

"Brakes quick, feels safe, has decent acceleration, very roomy, still performs great and looks new at 106,000 miles. Interior is very high quality, leather is comfortable. Sufficient cargo space and in-cabin storage. Suspension feels like you're riding on a cloud. Lexus did a good job on this one. Only con is the loose and vague steering can be disconcerting at times."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Still looking brand new even after 10 years and 100,000 miles!

luv my car

By on Friday, February 22, 2013

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "no cup holders in rear, heated seats uncontrolled"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car at 168,000. which actually surprised myself and my family when i took the chance at buying a car with that many miles on it. glad i did. this car has been so good to me even when i was not so good to her. she continued to start for me everyday without fail. she has been very dependable for other members of my family who has needed her as well. all she asked for was her oil changes on time and to stick with one brand of gas. once she hit 200k, i began using premium gas and she purrs like a kitten. Keep in mind that this was Lexus' 1st year making this model so some of the features was not quite worked out yet, like the dual heated seats are not individually controlled. And it is lacking rear cupholders in the armrests, etc. My very 1st(college) vehicle was a toyota.and i believe my very last one (retirement) willbe one! (Lexus)"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Sunday, February 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, fit and finish"

Cons: "Extremely wide turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this RX 300 since April of 2006. Since then, I have had to replace an alternator and a door locking mechanism. The vehicle is comfortable to drive and feels very stable on the interstate. Love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Friday, January 18, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Needed $1200 maintenance at 90,000mi

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Too many to list"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car! It was great and I loved to drive it. I wouldn't have gotten rid of it if it hadn't been for the maintenance at 90,000mi"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Go LEXUS

By on Saturday, January 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "its quiet and smooth as long as taken care of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

look how nice

"this car is so relible ive had it for alittle more than ten yrs with over 140000 miles and it still drives like new,many people mistake this car for the new one,cuz it drives and looks so nice,I recommend this car to anyone who what a nice luxury car for a lower price."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

look how nice

I LOVE MY CAR!!!

By on Tuesday, January 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plush, reliable, cutest rear end! Safe in rain!"

Cons: "Turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from a private owner in 2004 when it only had 10K miles on it & was still under warranty (for one more year). I haven't had a minutes trouble with it & just wish I could wave my magic wand & convert it to the newer, sleeker body style RX350. I plan to buy another one just like it very soon. The only negative with my car is its turning radius. Not so good due to the AWD but it's just awesome in rainy weather. I've never felt so secure. Lexus has corrected this "problem" & I understand that the new RX's turn on a dime now. You can't go wrong with the LEXUS RX!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus RX near Honolulu. See local deals