Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Lexus RX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 408 Ratings for the 1999 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best car I ever owned. Still in great shape.

By on Tuesday, May 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"after 150,000 miles I have purchased a new windshield, timing belt and 1 set of tires. I have spent less than $1500.00 on it in 15years."

Milage says it all!!

By on Thursday, April 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, pretty, comfortable, great in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am an infusion nurse and live in the Adirondacks of upstate NY. My career requires me to travel in all weather and road conditions. I bought this car with 75,000 miles on it. It now has 318,000 miles and is still running well and looking great! We do add oil now and then, but it does NOT leak or blow smoke. I average 50,000 miles/yr and will purchase another used Lexus gladly!"

very reliable

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i would rate this car at a solid 10"

15 years old, people still think it's new

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,501

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, reliable, luxurious, solid, quiet"

Cons: "16 mpg avg, very wide turning radius, blind spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"gorgeous car, brought up my babies in this! soooo comfortable and loved the 11 out of 15 years i drove it. still feels as good today as it ever did. buying a brand new one, but will be sad to say goodbye... i felt confident driving it. just the right size, could even squeeze into compact parking space on occasion. as for driving pleasure, i like not feeling the road, if you want sporty suspension it may not be for you!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great car, looks and feels, drives great

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price in 2002, great car"

Cons: "2002 mileage per gallon not good,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car keeps on going, no mechanical issues that can't be expected with age. No complaints! Only reason to replace is to get safety features that were not offered in 2002 plus to get better gas mileage. Can't afford a new Lexus today."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my Lexus!

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,295

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It has never had major problems."

Cons: "Maintenance is expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I would love to keep my Lexus but normal maintenance is very expensive and I would like something with all the new bells & whistles that isn't as expensive to maintain. I owe more than what it's worth at this time so I guess I better just keep it and continue to pay the expensive maintenance."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love my Lexus

By on Sunday, February 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive, comfortabnle on long trips, perfor"

Cons: "not enough cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is the best car I ever had and if I could afford another, believe me, I would have a newer model. This SUV is like a little tank in the snow. I live in the east, so we get hammered with a lot of snow and I have never had any trouble getting where I want to go, and that means a lot to me. I love driving it, no matter where I go. It is very comfortable. I had to drive from FL to PA non-stop, except for gas, etc. and would not want to have any other car. I have had my Lexus for 6 yrs. and never had to do anything, but usual maintenance on it. Get a Lexus!!!!!"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great vehicle durable

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 253,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durability, comfort, styling."

Cons: "Expensive to purchase."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this new in 2001, very few problems until 190,000 miles when the transmision failed ( not due to lack of maintence) This was a known problem in 2000, 2001, and 2002. Most transmision failures were occuring around 100K miles. My choice to replace the transmission was based upon the reliability of the vehicle overal. The price to replace with a factory refurbished unit (4K) was far less money then what I would spend on a used vehicle that had no knowledge or history on. My choice and a good one at that. I would recommend Lexus RX given my experience with my 2001 RX 300 and my 2008 RX 350. Both vehicles like all that I have owned over the years have synthetic motor oil changed every 5k miles."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best value ever!

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "greeeeat value"

Cons: "'External System not connected'"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"YEAAAAH"

Very reliable

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable great to drive"

Cons: "Turning is a little less likable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A great car I've had this car since 2008 wonderful driving reliable I just had an accident and I am debating on getting another one or having this repaired ,we will see."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I rate this car a 10

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great performing vechicle"

Cons: "Servicing is very expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this car for 15 years and it is still going. It as 215 thousands miles and it still rolling. It has a few mechanic problems, but nothing serious."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Riding and Dependable Car

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun car to Drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a California Car and I am the second owner. Well maintained with oil changes every 5,000 miles and serviced by qualified technicians. Has New Battery, New Tires. We are selling our car because we have moved to a community that has golf cart access and we don't need the extra car."

2 people out of 12 found this review helpful

210k miles and still running strong

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Hopefully hold on to for another few years. Change oil with Mobil one every 10 k miles"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!!

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car. Handles well on the road and is a dream to drive/ride in for a 7+ hour drive. Only drawback is the very short turning ratio when getting around in a parking lot, etc. Does not turn very sharp at all. Heat/AC work great. Is rather expensive on repair/replacement parts but those seem to be minimal. Small enough to park easily, you set up higher than most sedan type cars making it easier to see and easier to get in and out of. Roomy cargo area."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

great ride

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "keeps on going"

Cons: "little stuff costs a bit more to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"200k and still running"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Will not die

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So dependable. Great in deep snow."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this as a winter vehicle 6 years ago. It always starts. In northern Minnesota with - 40 degree Temps that says a lot. No rusting. We really salt our roads. That said, I just spent my first dollar on a service bill. It was time for a timing belt change. I debated on buying a newer Lexus but decided I knew this car was incredible. $500 for belt and brakes will keep me driving this RX300 for two more years."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN TO DRIVE"

Cons: "middle console, not enough room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

just turned 100,000 miles last month at 12 years of age

"this will be the last car I will ever own and I LOVE IT. I bought it used with 30,000 miles in 2005 still had FULL WARRANTY. LOVE IT!!"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

just turned 100,000 miles last month at 12 years of age

best value

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, good cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"14 years of use with absolutely no problems, except At about 5 yrs. the ignition key bent, stuck in "park" and could not be removed. Car had to be loaded onto a wrecker and taken 100 miles to dealer. A great inconvenience."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I call this car my cream puff

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wish it had better gas mileage. Have only had a electrical problem. Hoping to buy a new one with better gas mileage."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

No problems even past 240,000 miles

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After 240,000 miles, I changed the transmission only because I thought it was acting up, even though the transmission shop said no. It turned out to be the spark plug coils! That's the biggest problem so far. There was additionally an electrical issue with the rear light. $600 solved that, at a dealer. The engine is still strong, even though I'm careless with maintenance. It's just been a rock solid car for 15 years. Better than my Land Cruiser even, although that was also mostly hassle free."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

completely satisfied would purchase same car again

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort ride, relibilty"

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we like this car so much that I will have a hard time talking wife into trading."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excelent value for 14 years

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "large truning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"see above"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

This is a beautiful well kept lexis

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best for it year"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My lexis is very well kept up, an the miles I have put on is freeway miles, new tires runs very well have never had a issue. But I don't drive much, It is really clean inside an out."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle!

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used and have driven it for 11 years. It is a beautiful car! One of my favorite features is the premium stereo because the sound is just so Nice!! It has an extremely comfortable cabin. I have loved it so much and about 3 years ago started getting that itch for a new car. I looked at all the SUVs used and new and debated giving up a car I still really enjoyed. This year, I chose another Lexus! Once again for the reliability, beauty, and the fabulous drive."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car ever for our family

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 259,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Gas consumming. Only 15-16 miles / gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We own this car for 13 years with 259000 miles on it and still running great. We take so many roadtrip with this car. I wish Lexus still have the same model. The new RX look and feel so fleemsy."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus RX near Honolulu. See local deals