Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2000 Lexus RX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 390 Ratings for the 1999 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

I call this car my cream puff

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wish it had better gas mileage. Have only had a electrical problem. Hoping to buy a new one with better gas mileage."

No problems even past 240,000 miles

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After 240,000 miles, I changed the transmission only because I thought it was acting up, even though the transmission shop said no. It turned out to be the spark plug coils! That's the biggest problem so far. There was additionally an electrical issue with the rear light. $600 solved that, at a dealer. The engine is still strong, even though I'm careless with maintenance. It's just been a rock solid car for 15 years. Better than my Land Cruiser even, although that was also mostly hassle free."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

completely satisfied would purchase same car again

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort ride, relibilty"

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we like this car so much that I will have a hard time talking wife into trading."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excelent value for 14 years

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "large truning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"see above"

This is a beautiful well kept lexis

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best for it year"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My lexis is very well kept up, an the miles I have put on is freeway miles, new tires runs very well have never had a issue. But I don't drive much, It is really clean inside an out."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle!

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used and have driven it for 11 years. It is a beautiful car! One of my favorite features is the premium stereo because the sound is just so Nice!! It has an extremely comfortable cabin. I have loved it so much and about 3 years ago started getting that itch for a new car. I looked at all the SUVs used and new and debated giving up a car I still really enjoyed. This year, I chose another Lexus! Once again for the reliability, beauty, and the fabulous drive."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car ever for our family

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 259,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Gas consumming. Only 15-16 miles / gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We own this car for 13 years with 259000 miles on it and still running great. We take so many roadtrip with this car. I wish Lexus still have the same model. The new RX look and feel so fleemsy."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

very good condition

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable utility vehicle in affordable price."

Cons: "High milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"work done in less than 500 miles ago- Timing belt with water pump belt tensioner and pullys, cam and crank seals, drive belts. All four brakes with new rotors. Front struts,ball joints and sway bar link rod. California emission passable. Chrome wheels."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love it the best

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handles well"

Cons: "expensive but worth it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love it. I would buy another one. Reliable. Classy. Comfortable. Excellent in the snow. My only complaint is the wide turning radius when turning around. Over 140000 miles and still going strong!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

i love this vehicle

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "rides nicely"

Cons: "retains alot of interior dust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i would always remain in the lexus family, because I am treated with high standards and the vehicle has excellent maintenance to endure its performance"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great at first but not for long term

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great style and load capacity."

Cons: "Less than 123K miles, better have cash"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought the 2002 Lexus 300 thinking that this premium car from Toyota would last 175K to 250K miles, if I took care of it. For 12 years, I have followed the Lexus guidelines for maintenance taking it to the Lexus dealer. I currently have 123,000 miles on it. I love the way it drives and style. It is also great to haul large loads. In the first years, the only problem I had was with the adhesive label/plastic on doors, fender and back of car. Being a "luxury car" it looked bad and I replaced 3 times at the cost of $800 each time. Then when the car turned 9 years old with only 90,000 miles the real cost began. Blue smoke came from my car. $1500, Oil pan Gasket replaced 2 times, Oil leaking replaced Valve cover and gasket $3200. Now the exhaust is not right and for an additional $2700. I thought I was buying a Toyota Luxury Car that would last. Now I am looking for a cheap car with the expectation of lasting 6 years."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Awesome car!!!

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome car."

Cons: "Gas consumption."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a 2000 Lexus RX300 for over 10 years, bought it used, and is a champ!!! Awesome car! Wish I could replace it with another one. This car keeps on going and holds up on value. Lexus are great cars. The only thing with my car now with 179,000 miles+ is high gas consumption. Its doing about 15 mpg in city which is to be expected because of high mileage, but still a great car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

So very disappointed in this car-all this at 99K!

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,263

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good on tires, great driving position, comfortable"

Cons: "too many ailments to name! Unreliable & expensive!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car a little before retirement, and thought it would last for years and years, as I always keep up all maintenance and have a habit of actually overdoing anything a car might need sometimes before recommended. Always kept in garage never outside. I did all the research before I bought this car and spent months looking for it. Was supposed to be trouble free according to everything I could find, as are other Lexus cars. I have been completely disappointed in this area. I bought the car when it had 15,000 miles on it at age 3 and now it is 14 years old and only has 99k on it, so I know the car's history. It has had to have several sensors at about $300 each. Just had the rear main seal replaced at $1300. Is leaking on the rear of valve cover gasket, had front differential leaks and rear differential leak, as well as has vibration due to (they tell me) leaking gel motor supports. Had problems with power window motor on drivers' side. The automatic door lock key came apart and the cost to replace was ungodly. Latest event: Leaking transmission fluid! Cost to repair will be $900 to 1500. Every time I get ready to go on vacation, it has a new ailment. People are brainwashed that these are great vehicles, but I would never recommend one to a friend, and I will never buy another one! The good thing that I can think of which was better than expected is that I put Michelin tires on it in 2004; they had 84,000 miles on them and were still as smooth as silk and still had tread, but I was afraid and replaced them, as it had been over ten years! I love the way this car rides and how comfortable it is on a trip; I have driven over ten hours at a time and arrived barely tired."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Rebuilt transmission at 140,000.

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good MN winter car. Good AWD."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage. Expensive transmission repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Great in the snow. Smoothe on the road. Great heat and A/C. Wonderful sound system. Expensive transmission rebuild at 140,000 and I'm aware of 2 others with same problem. Comfortable interior. No problems with rust. 16 mpg city, 21 mpg hiway. Most difficult vehicle I've ever changed oil on. Use Moble One. Does not use a drop of oil between changes. Very wide turning radius. Quiet, smoothe engine. Bought in 2009 with 97,000 miles."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is the best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun to drive, looks great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still driving this car after 15 years! I still love my car. I don't want to give it up. Dependable, fun to drive and still looks great too!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is the best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun to drive, looks great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still driving this car after 15 years! I still love my car. I don't want to give it up. Dependable, fun to drive and still looks great too!"

Just ok

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "smooth drivetrain, ride. comfortable seats."

Cons: "poor gas mileage, poor interior ergonomics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"RX300 AWD. Purch 12/2011 w/ 110.6K miles. Now 4/2014 with 157.7K miles. The car was pretty clean when we bought it. Putting about 20K per year on the car. First 2 years - no problems except O2 sensor #1 had to be replaced. Pros-silky smooth engine/trans, very smooth ride, perfect steering wheel, comfortable seats for long drives. Have driven it on many long distance trips (Raleigh-Chicago, Raleigh-SanAntonio, Dallas-Raliegh, Dallas-Chicago) Runs like a swiss watch. Cons-lots of wind noise around A pillars, does not like cross-winds, terrible ergonomics on radio and climate controls - the buttons and knobs are identical for both. Info screen washes out on sunny days-can't read it. No compass, no steering wheel controls for radio or cruise control. Disappointing gas mileage - 17 around town; never more than 20.5 pure highway. Short gearing is probably the biggest contributor to poor MPG-abt 2950 at 70MPH, and side mirrors the size of small flat screen TVs. Very expensive to repair. $1200 for timing belt/water pump. (timing belt on a $40K vehicle is unacceptable, Lexus/Toyota!) Needed knock sensor, valve cover gaskets-$2200. Two catalytic converters-$900. The little V6 is low and jammed against firewall; very labor intensive to work on the engine. With recent repair costs over past 4 months, not sure I'd buy another one."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Just ok

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "smooth drivetrain, ride. comfortable seats."

Cons: "poor gas mileage, poor interior ergonomics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"RX300 AWD. Purch 12/2011 w/ 110.6K miles. Now 4/2014 with 157.7K miles. The car was pretty clean when we bought it. Putting about 20K per year on the car. First 2 years - no problems except O2 sensor #1 had to be replaced. Pros-silky smooth engine/trans, very smooth ride, perfect steering wheel, comfortable seats for long drives. Have driven it on many long distance trips (Raleigh-Chicago, Raleigh-SanAntonio, Dallas-Raliegh, Dallas-Chicago) Runs like a swiss watch. Cons-lots of wind noise around A pillars, does not like cross-winds, terrible ergonomics on radio and climate controls - the buttons and knobs are identical for both. Info screen washes out on sunny days-can't read it. No compass, no steering wheel controls for radio or cruise control. Disappointing gas mileage - 17 around town; never more than 20.5 pure highway. Short gearing is probably the biggest contributor to poor MPG-abt 2950 at 70MPH, and side mirrors the size of small flat screen TVs. Very expensive to repair. $1200 for timing belt/water pump. (timing belt on a $40K vehicle is unacceptable, Lexus/Toyota!) Needed knock sensor, valve cover gaskets-$2200. Two catalytic converters-$900. The little V6 is low and jammed against firewall; very labor intensive to work on the engine. With recent repair costs over past 4 months, not sure I'd buy another one."

Most reliable and trouble free car ever!

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is now 14 years old. It has never had a major problem. It has never failed to start, all of the systems still work at 100%. It has the same feel and power as it did when I first got it. The styling is such, that even though it may not look like a brand-new model, it looks like a newer car. I will keep it as long as possible. My fear is that if something happens, that it is totaled or stolen, I won't get its real value. It's worth a brand-new car. I have 120,000 miles on it. The dealer says I should expect 200,000 at the minimum. It doesn't burn a drop of oil, and the air-conditioning still will freeze you out. I have heard that this is considered the best SUV model Lexus has made. I cannot imagine a more reliable sturdy car."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Stay Away if you can't help it.

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, Interior design, fancy, good price."

Cons: "Transmission, gas, transfer case"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have owned this car for 2 years now and I love the interior, the handling, and enjoyed it for sometime. If you do not know this car is KNOWN by many to have transmission failures even with regular maintenance. Some report transmission problem before hitting 100k miles. I had it fixed and again it will need fixing. Gas is not that good but not horrible. Around 19MPH if you driving on freeway alot."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Went to Atlanta car show...new RX 350 is $45G plus

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality and minimal upkeep costs."

Cons: "Wish I had bought two in 1999."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 15 yr old RX 300 runs like a champ..only wish would be better turning radius, but overall is a most reliable and excellent transportation. Toyota's first RX was a gem."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliability should be a 20...Excellent Vehicle

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Seriously, I have only had this car in the shop for regular maintenance. Giving to my daughter and her family after 11 years of driving."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most reliable car.

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 221,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car. I bought it new and it has been the best investment and so reliable. I feel I have gotten my moneys worth. Having said that, I don't plan to buy another Lexus for two reasons: the gas mileage has not improved significantly since 2001 and for the high price they could have worked on improving this feature. Also, I don't like the look of the new Lexus. It looks and feels bigger. After owning this vehicle for 13 years I'm ready for a change."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great ride, nice features, super reliable

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "expensive dealer service."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"12 years of ownership...looks as good as new except alloy wheels. Recommend spending extra for chrome wheels. Really has been a great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

reliable,comfortable awd suv

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability,quality,awd-excellent traction"

Cons: "premium gas ,typical suv-poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"bought as 3 year old with only 32,000 miles-like new.now 14 years old with 168,000.well maintained-oil changed every 5k,trans fluid every 30k.no engine nor trans problem. basically no major work.only tires,brakes,rotors and couple oxygen sensors & ignition coil.have noticed last year slight engine oil leak-add maybe half quart a month.Body,paint interior leather good condition-driver seat rip fixed couple years ago.Only real complaint is car runs better on premium gas and gas mileage 17-24 mpg."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus RX near Honolulu. See local deals