Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2006 Lexus LX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 118 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best cars I've owned

By on Thursday, June 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very roomy"

Cons: "Pricing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"GOOD DRIVING SUV"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Ever Reliable

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent ride, reliably formidable behemoth."

Cons: "Not recommended for MPG worrier."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was the second owner when I bought this SUV. I own a 1995 Land Cruiser that's why I bought Toyota's luxury equivalent. Never had any real problem with this vehicle, takes me to work and brings me home even when the 'check engine' light comes on (usually switch problems, nothing really major, so far). I know about it's mileage so I don't really mind (if you're buying this type of vehicle, you should know off hand) unless you'll get the hybrid type. I have loaded in about 150K miles and still rides smooth and quiet. California to Mt. Rushmore, Rockies in Colorado, high altitude in Utah and back to sunny California, no sweat. Same with my Landcruiser, and I still have both trucks! I'm checking who'll give in first, my trucks or my joy in driving them. And I'm getting ready to buy another LX thereby handing down the Landcruiser to my teenage son. Watch out Landcruiser, you'll be in for a rough ride."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car. Love it! I have owned it for 15 years. I have never kept a car for this long ever. It has been so reliable and safe. I was able to drive this car down a mountain when everyone else was stuck and snowed in. Super safe in bad weather. So solid that it lifted the AAA tow truck off the ground and they had to get a flat bed to tow me. Tons of room. I have two golden retrievers, skis, golf clubs you name it. I can make it all fit."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Overpriced, expensive repairs

By on Sunday, September 19, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this vehicle certified used in 2001. It's been back and forth to the dealership numerous times since. Repairs performed include replacement of Nakamichi stereo unit, replaced catylitic converter due to rattles, replaced ignition cylinder, replaced starter, exhaust manifold was loose, throttle sensor replaced, and the tilt wheel motor replaced. Now the ABS system is going out ($3,500 repair) and the hood pistons won't hold the hood open. This is the 2nd Lexus I've owned (LS400) and the last. Both were nice inside and drove good, but not reliable and very expensive to fix. My 03 dodge truck with 235,000 miles has been much more reliable."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

03 Lx 470 120k

By on Sunday, January 03, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Big disappointment. Pros- gas mileage ain't bad. Real comfortable. Going strong w/ little problems @ 120k. I hardly keep up w/ maitenence and still no problems. I guess it has a forgiving engine. My interior has been through he11 and it still looks good. Truck feels solid when you shut the door. Cons- Truck is a brake party. Shakes all the times, and chews through brakes. Truck is way under powered. And the steering is horrible. Feels like it is going to flip over whenever a turn gets tight. If you are tired you better pull over, if you don't you might just drift off a cliff. Mark Levinson speakers have no bump. Radio has trouble getting reception even in NYC. Lexus maitenence is lazy, and charge you for it."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Family Tank / Mechanical Money Pit

By on Sunday, January 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Does everything, goes everywhere, tows too"

Cons: "Battery dying and gas mileage, it aint a hybrid :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We bought a used 07 and absolutely enjoy everything about it BUT... On random occasions it would just die. So on a 4 hour drive across the desert or on a mountain trip its not very relaxing to not know if you'll make it when you have family. So within the 5 years we've bought 3 new batteries, new alternator, recall part changed by dealer and several trips to dealer and they couldn't find or duplicate the problem or when the did duplicate they couldn't find issue until recently and it MIGHT be the DVD Player. Other than that, no other problems, great family car."

By far the BEST!!!!!!

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, dependability, safety."

Cons: "Gas mileage is average, but worth it!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So comfortable, everything is easy to use or access, lot's of room, dependable, powerful. I live in the mountians and have lot's of snow and I've never had any problems with handling or dependability. Comfortable letting my wife or daughter drive any time of year."

By on Friday, August 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

My Third Perfect LX 470

By on Thursday, July 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "PERFECT, RELIABLE, DOE IT ALL - TOUGH & CLASSY"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a Land Crusier prior to purchasing my first LX470. I currently own my third LX 470 so since 1999 I have driving the same platform built by Toyota/Lexus. I have been looking for my fourth LX 470 replacement in the used market but just can't find a low mileage 2007/08 model year. This vehicle is so versatile it has been comfortable performing in every role I have asked of it over 16 years. I just can't love this truck enough- it is an awesome luxury vehicle, daily driver, 1000 mile + road trips with the family loaded down, towing 5-6000 lbs trailers, regularly hauling materials out the tailgate, 4 wheeling in the mountains or beach, comfortable for 6-8 adults and children, great foul weather vehicle. There is no roll this vehicle has not stepped up to perform for me over the years. If you complete your regular maintenance even as she gets older this car will never let you down while on the road. It is so reliable I am passing my second one with over 200k miles and never have had a warranty issue other than normal scheduled maintenance up until recently at 190k I had to have an air sensor an my speedo fixed. Most people think the car is only a few years old because the paint on these cars is flawless if maintained and the interior wears fantastically again if you maintain your vehicle properly. I wish I could get another one exactly like the one I own. I am not certain I like the styling and specs of the new 570 platform so I am in a wait and see on the decision to replace my current LX."

Lives well beyond it's reputation

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best value for money"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Incredibly well designed car that wraps around the driver and passengers like a comfortable warm blanket. Drive for 350 miles and neither the car nor the passengers break a sweat. Built like a tank and yet comfortable ride. I've already bought another new one."

My 4th land cruiser....solid

By on Sunday, December 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Poor fuel Econ"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A tremendous car. I've owned 4 land cruisers/LX470's. I generally, change the oil at 10-12,000 miles, and treat them poorly. Have never had the slightest problem. After, 600,000 miles (over the 4), I can't recommend them highly enough. It is a shame you can't get a diesel variant in the US, or this would be the ultimate SUV."

Great car

By on Saturday, December 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Amazing top of the line vehicle. Obviously do not purchase for the fuel economy because it realistically gets 12mpg, highway or city. Constantly putting gas in this thing!!! Kids love it and in fact we took a trip a couple of weeks ago with 5 adults and 4 kids. Technically that was one too many because it only seats 8 but with two of the kids being 6, it worked great. Love everything about it except the fuel economy but you don't buy a car like this for good fuel economy."

Best SUV on the market

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Honestly, The best vehicle we have ever owned. If I dont trade up to a newer one. I can see myself keeping it to 280000"

The best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is good"

Cons: "Mile per gallon... it will be good to have V6 too"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car.... I owned it for over 9 years.. run great... I wish all car made with the same quailty, preformance...."

I love my LX470

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "more for your money. dependable. quality."

Cons: "can only turn rear air on or off, can't control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There should be controls for the rear air on the dashboard to control fan speed and temperature"

Keeps on running!

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1998 Original owner, 228,000 miles Pros: Luxary sedan ride in a great SUV. Snow, ice, and mud won't stop it. Reliable, runs well, rides like new, interior is still comfortable, this car holds its value. Cons: Mileage, starter in the engine valley Mileage consistantly 16.8 at 228,000. Tires wear well - 50K between replacement. Brakes wear well using OEM parts in combined highway and heavy daily traffic. Very few repair issues. After 175K, put away ~ $120 a month, and you wont have any major suprises."

Reliable luxury w/muscle

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury muscle value"

Cons: "Could be bit more roomier, more stable at high spe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Trouble free, does what I need it to do (off road and towing wise), Comfortable luxury for travel, holds value after 5 years, couldn't be happier!"

best vehicle owned

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive."

Cons: "eats lots of gasoline"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this SUV for the over 10 years and still runs like new. Maintenance has been current since day 1. I wish Lexus didn't change the body of the car. Love Love this car. Great for long drives and lots of room for kids. I even used it to haul furniture in the back. So much room. I was going to buy the new model 2012 but didn't like the smaller size. You will be satisfied with this model."

Greatest Car

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Low coat to own and high quality. My car has 83000 miles on it, but it still runs like a brand new car. Never need to repair anything."

By on Monday, March 28, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love this Suv

By on Thursday, March 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have owned this Suv for 11 years. It has seen our family grow with safety and comfort. Bad gas mileage but safety of our family was always #1 priority. No need to get a new one yet as this is only a baby."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LX near Honolulu. See local deals