Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2006 Lexus LX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 117 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Drives like a sedan; steady as a rock.

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great comfort feel; steady, predictable, reliable."

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this LX470 since it had 5k miles. Has been completely reliable, drives as well or better than a sedan. Great visability. Never has leaked a drop of oil or other fluids. Awesome vehicle!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

So happy to drive it everyday

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very roomy and comfotable. Smooth ride"

Cons: "average about 14 mpg mostly driving around town"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Completely reliable. Just routine maintenance to date. Very comfortable for drivers and passengers with a smooth ride. Huge trunk for anything you need"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Overpriced, expensive repairs

By on Sunday, September 19, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this vehicle certified used in 2001. It's been back and forth to the dealership numerous times since. Repairs performed include replacement of Nakamichi stereo unit, replaced catylitic converter due to rattles, replaced ignition cylinder, replaced starter, exhaust manifold was loose, throttle sensor replaced, and the tilt wheel motor replaced. Now the ABS system is going out ($3,500 repair) and the hood pistons won't hold the hood open. This is the 2nd Lexus I've owned (LS400) and the last. Both were nice inside and drove good, but not reliable and very expensive to fix. My 03 dodge truck with 235,000 miles has been much more reliable."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

03 Lx 470 120k

By on Sunday, January 03, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Big disappointment. Pros- gas mileage ain't bad. Real comfortable. Going strong w/ little problems @ 120k. I hardly keep up w/ maitenence and still no problems. I guess it has a forgiving engine. My interior has been through he11 and it still looks good. Truck feels solid when you shut the door. Cons- Truck is a brake party. Shakes all the times, and chews through brakes. Truck is way under powered. And the steering is horrible. Feels like it is going to flip over whenever a turn gets tight. If you are tired you better pull over, if you don't you might just drift off a cliff. Mark Levinson speakers have no bump. Radio has trouble getting reception even in NYC. Lexus maitenence is lazy, and charge you for it."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Family Tank / Mechanical Money Pit

By on Sunday, January 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Does everything, goes everywhere, tows too"

Cons: "Battery dying and gas mileage, it aint a hybrid :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We bought a used 07 and absolutely enjoy everything about it BUT... On random occasions it would just die. So on a 4 hour drive across the desert or on a mountain trip its not very relaxing to not know if you'll make it when you have family. So within the 5 years we've bought 3 new batteries, new alternator, recall part changed by dealer and several trips to dealer and they couldn't find or duplicate the problem or when the did duplicate they couldn't find issue until recently and it MIGHT be the DVD Player. Other than that, no other problems, great family car."

By far the BEST!!!!!!

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, dependability, safety."

Cons: "Gas mileage is average, but worth it!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So comfortable, everything is easy to use or access, lot's of room, dependable, powerful. I live in the mountians and have lot's of snow and I've never had any problems with handling or dependability. Comfortable letting my wife or daughter drive any time of year."

By on Friday, August 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Unbelievably solid good running dependable car.

By on Monday, May 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "TO DRIVE IT IS TO LOVE IT. I'm going to move."

Cons: "Will need 4 tires in about 8-10,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS CAR HAS GOOD OUTSIDE PAINT, it is good for another 80,000 miles easy. Has two take out seats in cargo making it a 7 seater. Tape deck and CD player work well. Excellent air Conditioning. HAS NEVER BEEN USED IN WINTER MONTHS. LAST NINE YEARS IT WAS ONLY USED Five MONTHS every SUMMER IN SARATOGA SPRINGS."

Lives well beyond it's reputation

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best value for money"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Incredibly well designed car that wraps around the driver and passengers like a comfortable warm blanket. Drive for 350 miles and neither the car nor the passengers break a sweat. Built like a tank and yet comfortable ride. I've already bought another new one."

My 4th land cruiser....solid

By on Sunday, December 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Poor fuel Econ"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A tremendous car. I've owned 4 land cruisers/LX470's. I generally, change the oil at 10-12,000 miles, and treat them poorly. Have never had the slightest problem. After, 600,000 miles (over the 4), I can't recommend them highly enough. It is a shame you can't get a diesel variant in the US, or this would be the ultimate SUV."

Great car

By on Saturday, December 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Amazing top of the line vehicle. Obviously do not purchase for the fuel economy because it realistically gets 12mpg, highway or city. Constantly putting gas in this thing!!! Kids love it and in fact we took a trip a couple of weeks ago with 5 adults and 4 kids. Technically that was one too many because it only seats 8 but with two of the kids being 6, it worked great. Love everything about it except the fuel economy but you don't buy a car like this for good fuel economy."

Best SUV on the market

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Honestly, The best vehicle we have ever owned. If I dont trade up to a newer one. I can see myself keeping it to 280000"

The best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is good"

Cons: "Mile per gallon... it will be good to have V6 too"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car.... I owned it for over 9 years.. run great... I wish all car made with the same quailty, preformance...."

I love my LX470

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "more for your money. dependable. quality."

Cons: "can only turn rear air on or off, can't control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There should be controls for the rear air on the dashboard to control fan speed and temperature"

Keeps on running!

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1998 Original owner, 228,000 miles Pros: Luxary sedan ride in a great SUV. Snow, ice, and mud won't stop it. Reliable, runs well, rides like new, interior is still comfortable, this car holds its value. Cons: Mileage, starter in the engine valley Mileage consistantly 16.8 at 228,000. Tires wear well - 50K between replacement. Brakes wear well using OEM parts in combined highway and heavy daily traffic. Very few repair issues. After 175K, put away ~ $120 a month, and you wont have any major suprises."

Reliable luxury w/muscle

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury muscle value"

Cons: "Could be bit more roomier, more stable at high spe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Trouble free, does what I need it to do (off road and towing wise), Comfortable luxury for travel, holds value after 5 years, couldn't be happier!"

best vehicle owned

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive."

Cons: "eats lots of gasoline"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this SUV for the over 10 years and still runs like new. Maintenance has been current since day 1. I wish Lexus didn't change the body of the car. Love Love this car. Great for long drives and lots of room for kids. I even used it to haul furniture in the back. So much room. I was going to buy the new model 2012 but didn't like the smaller size. You will be satisfied with this model."

Greatest Car

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Low coat to own and high quality. My car has 83000 miles on it, but it still runs like a brand new car. Never need to repair anything."

By on Monday, March 28, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love this Suv

By on Thursday, March 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have owned this Suv for 11 years. It has seen our family grow with safety and comfort. Bad gas mileage but safety of our family was always #1 priority. No need to get a new one yet as this is only a baby."

excellent

By on Tuesday, March 08, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"reliability and dependability."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LX near Honolulu. See local deals