Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2005 Lexus LX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 106 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Awesome value in a used car

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, durable, looks new after 11 years."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2001 a few years old to save on depreciation. I have it serviced at the recommended intervals and have not had one problem. At 11 years old the truck still looks brand new and runs great. Very good quality."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Top 10 SUV from the past 15yrs

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "same handling in any condition, turning radius"

Cons: "Brakes/Rotors are hard-core - need srvc bit more"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"169K with basically routine maintenance only. Would not abandon it unless there were transmission or major engine issues. With maintenance reviews of other SUV's from 1999 it would cost approximately 7K more to have bought this car in 1999 vs. other SUV's available at the time. Quality...planning to go another 40K before I buy another. Note: This is pre-LATCH system for car seats, which is a bit of a pain (takes 10min to get it right vs. 30sec)."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice family car for over 11 years

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable, quite, capable"

Cons: "gas mileage, 4 speed auto"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought the car new. very good family car, very comfortable, quite. hydraulic suspensions help a lot driving on the freeway compare to land cruiser (toyota version) Took trip around California, very capable vehicle. Mostly driven in the city. Would buy 2001 model or later, due to 5 speed auto trans. Dealers are not good maintaining the car, tried several Lexus dealers during 11 years period, mostly charged a lot of $$$, but does not consistantly deliver. Looking at 2003 Land Cruiser ($$$$ - toyota version now comes with hydraulic suspension)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Drives like a sedan; steady as a rock.

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great comfort feel; steady, predictable, reliable."

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this LX470 since it had 5k miles. Has been completely reliable, drives as well or better than a sedan. Great visability. Never has leaked a drop of oil or other fluids. Awesome vehicle!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love it!! Plan on 500,000 miles from it!!!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 286,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Still rides like new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I've ever owned!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

So happy to drive it everyday

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very roomy and comfotable. Smooth ride"

Cons: "average about 14 mpg mostly driving around town"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Completely reliable. Just routine maintenance to date. Very comfortable for drivers and passengers with a smooth ride. Huge trunk for anything you need"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By far the BEST!!!!!!

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, dependability, safety."

Cons: "Gas mileage is average, but worth it!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So comfortable, everything is easy to use or access, lot's of room, dependable, powerful. I live in the mountians and have lot's of snow and I've never had any problems with handling or dependability. Comfortable letting my wife or daughter drive any time of year."

I love this SUV! It drives like a car.

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth drive, built to last."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great SUV, purchased Certified used, with no regrets. I have yet to drive an SUV that drives like this model LX 470 so smooth like a car but 4x4 protection. The SUV is so well balanced with great curves, very pretty!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lives well beyond it's reputation

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best value for money"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Incredibly well designed car that wraps around the driver and passengers like a comfortable warm blanket. Drive for 350 miles and neither the car nor the passengers break a sweat. Built like a tank and yet comfortable ride. I've already bought another new one."

My 4th land cruiser....solid

By on Sunday, December 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Poor fuel Econ"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A tremendous car. I've owned 4 land cruisers/LX470's. I generally, change the oil at 10-12,000 miles, and treat them poorly. Have never had the slightest problem. After, 600,000 miles (over the 4), I can't recommend them highly enough. It is a shame you can't get a diesel variant in the US, or this would be the ultimate SUV."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LX near Honolulu. See local deals