Go

2002 Lexus LX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 118 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Great vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 16, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've been a Land Cruiser fan since a teenager and the LX 470 is about 95% Land Cruiser. I previously owned an LX 450 but sold it to a gentleman that flew down from Canada to buy it. He loves it (we stay in touch). The 470 doesn't have the rugged good looks of the 450 but is handsome in its own right. Much more comfortable and powerful and better in some offroad conditions such as ice and snow due to the more advanced 4wd system and anti-lock brakes. The 470 has taken me through all conditions including icy and snowy roads, muddy dirt trails, heavy rain, and rocky trails that would ruin any "cute ute." Living in Arizona I'm not afraid to take this beast on the trails given its abilities: Body on frame construction? Check. Locking center differential? Check. Skid plates? Check. Good approach, departure, and break over angles? Check. Solid rear axle? Check. Advanced 4wd system with low range gearing? Check. It's all there plus a trick adjustable suspension. Easily the best blend of ability, reliability, and comfort in the SUV world."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice family car for over 11 years

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable, quite, capable"

Cons: "gas mileage, 4 speed auto"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought the car new. very good family car, very comfortable, quite. hydraulic suspensions help a lot driving on the freeway compare to land cruiser (toyota version) Took trip around California, very capable vehicle. Mostly driven in the city. Would buy 2001 model or later, due to 5 speed auto trans. Dealers are not good maintaining the car, tried several Lexus dealers during 11 years period, mostly charged a lot of $$$, but does not consistantly deliver. Looking at 2003 Land Cruiser ($$$$ - toyota version now comes with hydraulic suspension)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love it!! Plan on 500,000 miles from it!!!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 286,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Still rides like new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I've ever owned!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

True Great Luxury SUV

By on Tuesday, June 2, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought it used in September 2007 from a previous owner. This SUV in my opinion is truly a great dependable and comfortable SUV. I have never had any problem with it so far. Wish the third row seat fall flat into floor."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Lexus Supporter

By on Monday, March 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I enjoy the ride from my Lexus LX 470 Sport. I feel safe with the daughter in the back seat. I would highly recommend this vehicle to families or just anyone who enjoys sporty comfort."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Friday, February 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A true luxury SUV. I love my 2006 LX-470. We have 2 kids and the vehicle offers plenty of room on trips to the mountains. Very smooth riding on and off road. Plenty of torque. Quite comfortable on long trips. No cons in my point of view. After owning Jeeps (Wrangler, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee) I can truly appreciate the off-road abilities of this vehicle while still offering the comforts of Lexus and reliability of a Toyota. GREAT vehicle!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Unprecedented quality

By on Monday, February 9, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought the 1999 LX after driving the 1997 LX450 for 3 years. After 10 years of abuse from the elements in the Adirondacks, this thing has never quit. Sure, it might have a few dings on it from its off-road adventures, but the engine still sounds as good as the day it rolled off the assembly line. The only vehicle to surpass this in quality is the new LX570. Even so, I don't think we'll ever get rid of this one. It's been too good of a vehicle to toss in the scrap heap. Maybe we'll see how much further we can get past 240,000 miles. If you're thinking about buying one of these, go ahead and pull the trigger. You won't be disappointed."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Incredibly Reliable

By on Monday, December 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2004 model bought new and just hit 150K miles. Have only had to replace tires and brakes. Have towed boats and trailers, been off-road hunting, on the sand of the Outer Banks fishing, in the mountain snow, crossed streams with water part way up the door, and driven to black tie events in town. Looking forward to another 100K+ miles....."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Lexus LX470

By on Thursday, June 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Most relaible car I've ever owned. I have had no major problems with this 160,000 mile vehicle. Yes it may not get the best milegage in this day and age but what you save on the lack of maintenance and peace of mond is more than worth it. Highly recommend."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this SUV! It drives like a car.

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth drive, built to last."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great SUV, purchased Certified used, with no regrets. I have yet to drive an SUV that drives like this model LX 470 so smooth like a car but 4x4 protection. The SUV is so well balanced with great curves, very pretty!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

lx470

By on Saturday, March 26, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"have for 5 year excellent"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

BEST VEHICLE EVER

By on Sunday, September 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"Owned lexux lx 470 2007, the last year before redesign. IMHO, this is even better than the lx570. It has ample power to do just everything you want except towing heavy heavy boat. But guess what? Not many people need towing anyway. Most reliable SUV truck I've ever owned. I like to keep them for many years to come.:)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT SUV

By on Friday, June 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"THE LEXUS LX470 IS AN OUTSTANDING VEHICLE. THE LX HAS A STRONG ENGINE AND A SMOOTH TRANSMISSION. THE DRIVING EXPERIENCE IS A PURE PLEASURE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS VEHICLE TO EVERYONE. LEXUS MY VEHICLE OF CHOICE."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, May 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a The hardest working truck ever . It will take whatever you can dish out and more . My 01 has never failed except the battery."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bougt it in nov2000, now it has 75000Mi, only one repair (in warranty-oxyg sensor). finally got new brakes and tires (tires were good for another 15-20kmi but was told not to drive them more than 9-10 years).ride is fanastic, log trips are pure joy. if you want a dream car and keep it forever, this is it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AS GOOD AS IT GETS

By on Wednesday, March 4, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2000 model with 115k miles, owned 6 years still luv it, still looks great, safe, luxury,competent, reliable, amazing in the snow would buy again. do yourself a favor and buy one!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Worry-Free Vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 3, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The LX470 has been the most reliable vehicle we've ever owned! Before purchasing the LX470, we owned a BMW 540i and were constantly at the dealership having it serviced for this and that. The only time we have to visit the Lexus dealership is to have a maintenance check or to change the oil! Still looks like new even 5 years later! Best deal ever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best, most solid, trouble free vehicle yet

By on Friday, May 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I wanted the most perfect, safest, mightiest, most comfortable and enviable, long trip vehicle I could get for under $80,000. this was it. I intended to keep it for 3-4 years and 60,000 miles, but it has been reliable enough to keep for 8 years and 130,000 miles. My wife loves it, and doesn't want to give it up. It is mighty and robust and worth the extra cost of gas. If you add up all the good things, the gas problem is minimized to almost a no problem. This is the most satisfying SUV I have been in, driven and drove in. LOVE IT!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Simply The Best

By on Monday, February 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Unquestionably, this is the best SUV on the road. I joke that Lexus invested in the drivetrain, suspension and engine rather than in cupholders. This is our 2nd Lexus SUV / 3rd LandCruiser (one was a Toyota) and we now consider them mandatory for living in the mountains of Colorado. (We also had a Range Rover which was HORRIBLE to maintain - the head finally cracked with only 67K miles! ) The Lexus is quiet, comfortable, safe and confident. If it wasn't for scheduled maintenance, this SUV would have never seen a mechanic. The AWD system is truly a lifesaver. The bigger 4.7 liter engine gets up and over mountain passes easily with a full load. While not as high powered as some US SUV's, I bet this one will be on the road twice as long. It's built better than any auto I have ever owned. No compromises on this one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Yes, I'd Do It Again

By on Tuesday, January 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Lexus quality is everywhere in this SUV...Thanks for the Ride !"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Masterpiece of technology

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The finest (of many vehicles) that I have ever owned or driven. As surefooted and agile as a cat (given it's size), both on the road and off. When there is snow or ice, it is supremely competent. Plenty of power and presence, which I use to blast my way through Chicago traffic. The ultimate road trip vehicle!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best SUV ever!

By on Friday, October 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 284,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quality in every aspect. Country club or cornfield"

Cons: "15MPG."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is 14 years old, with 284K miles. I love it! No rattles. Nice ride. Change oil every 6-7K miles and not a teaspoon of oil used between changes. I do tune-ups at 100K. After I get it detailed about once every year or 2, people ask if I bought a new car. I use this truck as it was meant to be used. A lot of highway miles, but also a lot of cornfield, timber, creek bed, mud and sand miles. The clamshell tailgate is the best as the bottom folds down and gives you something clean to sit on when changing boots in the field. I took out 3d row jumpseats after I was no longer hauling kids. The paint still shines. My wife keeps suggesting I ought to buy a newer truck. The new Lexus LX and GX were made for soccer moms. I can't afford the new LX and don't like its looks. Had a new GX as a 3d car for a while. HATED the tailgate. Got rid of it. This truck is solid as Gibralter and looks great and rides/handles great. If it falls apart tomorrow, it doesn't owe me a dime. Nonetheless, I think I will be inconsolable when I have to part with this truck. I should mention that after all these miles, the leather on drivers seat still looks great with no tears or rips."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

The Best Car. EVER.

By on Thursday, July 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven the LX470 for over 14 years...and this is the best vehicle i have ever owned. We refuse to get rid of her now...She is part of the family. The car has never broken down. ever. It just keeps going. She is in need of some body work and a paint job but we plan to keep her til she is rusted through."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Awesome value in a used car

By on Tuesday, April 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, durable, looks new after 11 years."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2001 a few years old to save on depreciation. I have it serviced at the recommended intervals and have not had one problem. At 11 years old the truck still looks brand new and runs great. Very good quality."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LX near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement