Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2002 Lexus LX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 113 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Lives well beyond it's reputation

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best value for money"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Incredibly well designed car that wraps around the driver and passengers like a comfortable warm blanket. Drive for 350 miles and neither the car nor the passengers break a sweat. Built like a tank and yet comfortable ride. I've already bought another new one."

My 4th land cruiser....solid

By on Sunday, December 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Poor fuel Econ"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A tremendous car. I've owned 4 land cruisers/LX470's. I generally, change the oil at 10-12,000 miles, and treat them poorly. Have never had the slightest problem. After, 600,000 miles (over the 4), I can't recommend them highly enough. It is a shame you can't get a diesel variant in the US, or this would be the ultimate SUV."

Great car

By on Saturday, December 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Amazing top of the line vehicle. Obviously do not purchase for the fuel economy because it realistically gets 12mpg, highway or city. Constantly putting gas in this thing!!! Kids love it and in fact we took a trip a couple of weeks ago with 5 adults and 4 kids. Technically that was one too many because it only seats 8 but with two of the kids being 6, it worked great. Love everything about it except the fuel economy but you don't buy a car like this for good fuel economy."

Best SUV on the market

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Honestly, The best vehicle we have ever owned. If I dont trade up to a newer one. I can see myself keeping it to 280000"

The best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is good"

Cons: "Mile per gallon... it will be good to have V6 too"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car.... I owned it for over 9 years.. run great... I wish all car made with the same quailty, preformance...."

I love my LX470

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "more for your money. dependable. quality."

Cons: "can only turn rear air on or off, can't control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There should be controls for the rear air on the dashboard to control fan speed and temperature"

Keeps on running!

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1998 Original owner, 228,000 miles Pros: Luxary sedan ride in a great SUV. Snow, ice, and mud won't stop it. Reliable, runs well, rides like new, interior is still comfortable, this car holds its value. Cons: Mileage, starter in the engine valley Mileage consistantly 16.8 at 228,000. Tires wear well - 50K between replacement. Brakes wear well using OEM parts in combined highway and heavy daily traffic. Very few repair issues. After 175K, put away ~ $120 a month, and you wont have any major suprises."

Reliable luxury w/muscle

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury muscle value"

Cons: "Could be bit more roomier, more stable at high spe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Trouble free, does what I need it to do (off road and towing wise), Comfortable luxury for travel, holds value after 5 years, couldn't be happier!"

best vehicle owned

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive."

Cons: "eats lots of gasoline"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this SUV for the over 10 years and still runs like new. Maintenance has been current since day 1. I wish Lexus didn't change the body of the car. Love Love this car. Great for long drives and lots of room for kids. I even used it to haul furniture in the back. So much room. I was going to buy the new model 2012 but didn't like the smaller size. You will be satisfied with this model."

BUY ONE!!!! They are tanks!

By on Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,750

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great quality, very dependable."

Cons: "Gas mileage is not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned three! Loved them all! No problems or issues! They still drive like new even after they have 100,000 miles! Amazing in the snow!!! Comfortable on long trips! Have owned Infiniti, BMW, and Land Rover. This vehicle blows all of them away!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best SUV! Can't wait to buy a new one.

By on Monday, October 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can seat 7 comfortably with cargo space."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my Lexus LX470 for almost 12 years. I've never owned a car this long, but I haven't been able to convince my husband to buy me a new one. It is the most reliable car we have ever owned!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Greatest Car

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Low coat to own and high quality. My car has 83000 miles on it, but it still runs like a brand new car. Never need to repair anything."

200k miles - runs like it's brand new

By on Monday, August 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable. With 200k miles it runs like it's new."

Cons: "bad gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my lx470. It's a 1999 with 190k miles on it. I've owned it for 7 yrs. No problems at all. Just regular oil changes, etc. It still runs like it's brand new and I still get comments all the time from people who think it's new and love the looks/fit and finish. It's truly an amazing SUV."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Last One Over The Pass

By on Thursday, April 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"On a couple of occasions I have been the last car to travel over Berthoud Pass before it was closed due to deep snow and whiteout conditions. My LX would go with no problem passing dozens of stuck, abandoned cars and trucks. The LX was so good it left me wondering why others were having so much trouble. The gearing is perfect for mountain driving. The low gears will climb a tree. The air suspension is awesome for towing, loading bikes, kayaks, or just allowing my aging Golden Retriever to jump in the back. 130K miles and no problems outside regular maintenance. It's built like a tank and weighs about as much as one, too. There's nowhere this thing can't go - Moab, Vail, Winter Park, etc., The LX goes."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

By on Monday, March 28, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

lx470

By on Saturday, March 26, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"have for 5 year excellent"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this Suv

By on Thursday, March 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have owned this Suv for 11 years. It has seen our family grow with safety and comfort. Bad gas mileage but safety of our family was always #1 priority. No need to get a new one yet as this is only a baby."

excellent

By on Tuesday, March 08, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"reliability and dependability."

Nice Truck

By on Saturday, February 26, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"We purchased this truck used with 99K miles on it. Had two issues with it in the 5 years, 30K we owned it: ignition broke and the auto suspension raised up the car all the way and wouldn't come down. Both times it had to be towed to the dealership. Nice riding truck, strong engine, good in snow, nice features for the year. In the 5 yrs we owned it, we traded it in for $5K less than paid for. Good resale value!!!"

By on Monday, February 14, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"had this car for over 10 years, thing has been amazing. it has gotten me thru mud, deep snow, rain, you name it, without fail. comfortable ride and sits multiple passengers comfortably. truck now has 130,000 miles and still drives amazing."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

THE BEST

By on Monday, January 31, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A VERY SOLID LEXUS!! OUR 2ND LX AND THAT'S ALL WE'LL EVER HAVE."

Best SUV on the planet

By on Monday, October 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Our family has put hundreds of thousands of miles on several LX470s and they are without a doubt the BEST SUV built. Comfort, drive, and ride cannot be beat by any others period."

Overpriced, expensive repairs

By on Sunday, September 19, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this vehicle certified used in 2001. It's been back and forth to the dealership numerous times since. Repairs performed include replacement of Nakamichi stereo unit, replaced catylitic converter due to rattles, replaced ignition cylinder, replaced starter, exhaust manifold was loose, throttle sensor replaced, and the tilt wheel motor replaced. Now the ABS system is going out ($3,500 repair) and the hood pistons won't hold the hood open. This is the 2nd Lexus I've owned (LS400) and the last. Both were nice inside and drove good, but not reliable and very expensive to fix. My 03 dodge truck with 235,000 miles has been much more reliable."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, September 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Doc Tom

By on Monday, August 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the best Toyota product I have ever had the pleasure of owning. I bought it used (very low miles) have enjoyed it thoroughly. By the way, I also own a 1984 FJ60 Landcruiser which I bought new. Just wanted something a bit more up to date and comfortable for those unpredictable Colorado winters. And yes, I have had it off pavement a few times now. Never a problem. You just can't beat the hydraulics for versatility. If I have one niggle, it's the gas mileage. I read a review, after I bought it, that said I should have opted for the 2003 or later because of the additional gearing. I have to concur on that point as it always seems to want another gear on the highway. However, I still love it."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LX near Honolulu. See local deals