Go

1997 Lexus LX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 32 Ratings for the 1996 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Long Lasting

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"As noted in other reviews, this car is will last you forever. Purchased it used in 2001 with 65000. Now it has 136K and is still running strong. It will out tow my friends Expedition. My wife was hit in this vehicle by a new GMC truck a few years ago...Lexus 1, truck 0. Did little to our LX450, but totaled the truck. This thing is a tank. The only downside is MPG...about 13 or 14 MPG with moderate driving."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Wish I could get another newer one!!!

By on Wednesday, December 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,756

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Big engine, RELIABLE, keeps running, FUN TO DRIVE."

Cons: "On the slower side of acceleration."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad first bought this car for me on my 16th birthday, and im now almost 18. This car is so great. Anything from off roading, to steap hillsides, to LOTS of highway driving. I wish they made newer ones, I'd SO buy it! I've had no problems what-so-ever with the engine. I was though, unaware that the oil had to be changed every so miles... oops! Love this car so much!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

TopGun

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best! Class, style and rugged. I have the 6 cyl. I use the power button all the time, except on the highway. With my Valentine One, cruise.....Smooth riding with no road noise. Exceptional roadview and towing compacity. Michelin tires look great and are exceptional in the rain and San Antonio flood zones. Parts water like divine intervention. Water-tight! Plenty of room with fold-up rear seats. Very soft leather. Compliments from all, including Lexus mechanics. Great value!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

In Need Of more Power

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"This SUV feels heavy when trying to get up to speed, the engine sounds like it struggles. While there is a lot of room the SUV´s suspension is a little stiff. It´s reliable but has horrible gas consumption."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

horrible mileage

By on Tuesday, July 1, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Got this vehicle in March 07 at 125000 miles. Now has 138000 miles. Transmission still going strong. Engine is one of the greatest if only it had the gas mileage of a real 6-cylinder. Overall i would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking to buy it. Only 4 starts because of gas mileage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A solid SUV

By on Friday, March 14, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had the LX 450 for almost 10 years and love it . It does eat a lot of gas, but nothing like my new Tundra. The positives of this vehicle could go on. The only negatives I have would be lack of 'get-up and go' and the front cabin space is a bit tight. Outside of those two issues the LX450 is a great SUV!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Luxury SUV

By on Friday, April 8, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought it used with 150k and have never had any problems with it. I was debating between the Land Cruiser/LX450 or a Range Rover. Although more expensive to buy upfront, the overall ownership costs are lower than other same class luxury SUVs like Range Rover. I also have to say that I really don't understand people complaining on here about the MPG rating of this vehicle. The EPA rated it as 13 MPG city and 15 highway. You should have expected to get that mileage. If your MPG are within that range then I think you have no right to complain."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

tough truck

By on Saturday, March 29, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I tried to tell my wife this was a "truck" and she agreed after driving it. She loves it, and we have owned it for 8 years now. Bought it 3 yrs old with 30k miles, now it has 168k miles. The front brakes are probably the weak point, dealer pads were only lasting 20k miles. After market pads are now lasting 40k. Agree with other reviewers - doesn't need repairs often, but they are really expensive when it does. Gas mileage is around 13, with best of about 16 on the road."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 6, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We purchased this car in 2001 with 50,000 miles on it. This thing was loaded and my wife wanted it right then. This has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. We change the fluids and get the recommended service but other than that we have not put another penny into this car. The only problem that I can find is that the V-6 is not very powerful. I tried to tow my boat one time and the last time. My wife plans to drive this car until it reaches 200k."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Weekend Car

By on Friday, April 9, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned it for over 10 years. Due to gas mileage, not an everyday car, but great for moving and weekend trips. Breaks do wear out from moutain descent and few minor problems, but mostly reliable. Due to weight and engine size performance isn't great."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LX near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement