Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1996 Lexus LX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 31 Ratings for the 1996 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Nice and comofortable vehicle

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I like the vehicle but, we have many cars"

Most reliable SUV ever made

By on Wednesday, November 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "200000 miles never had a problem"

Cons: "Is lil thirsty lol"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best SUV for winter locking differecial bring you anywhere you want to go at any weather condition I own in for 15 years and beside maintenance never had a problem"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, May 03, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best overall suv on road or offroad, my hobby takes me to no man's land and so does my LX_450 the most reliable vehicle you can own to go to remote areas, were your life depends on your vehicle bringing you back! Gas does not matter to me since I only use my vehicle for adventure!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Luxury SUV

By on Friday, April 08, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought it used with 150k and have never had any problems with it. I was debating between the Land Cruiser/LX450 or a Range Rover. Although more expensive to buy upfront, the overall ownership costs are lower than other same class luxury SUVs like Range Rover. I also have to say that I really don't understand people complaining on here about the MPG rating of this vehicle. The EPA rated it as 13 MPG city and 15 highway. You should have expected to get that mileage. If your MPG are within that range then I think you have no right to complain."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Comfortable & Reliable, but a gas hog

By on Monday, January 31, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Very comfy leather seats, smooth ride, great offroad performance, great in snow & ice. No major problems mechanically. However- I get only 12 or 13 mi to the gallon."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, August 31, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"mechanically good, leather seats are worn. good mileage"

Great By

By on Sunday, August 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This SUV is old school built with class, 52000 miles this suv looks and runs great. I would match it up with any SUV on and off road."

Great Weekend Car

By on Friday, April 09, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned it for over 10 years. Due to gas mileage, not an everyday car, but great for moving and weekend trips. Breaks do wear out from moutain descent and few minor problems, but mostly reliable. Due to weight and engine size performance isn't great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, March 15, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

ZOINKS!

By on Saturday, February 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"AWSOME! Put 33" grapplers on my stock 450. Goes anywhere I want! I hope I never have to sell it! (knocking on wood)."

By on Tuesday, November 24, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, October 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, August 31, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, August 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

In Need Of more Power

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"This SUV feels heavy when trying to get up to speed, the engine sounds like it struggles. While there is a lot of room the SUV´s suspension is a little stiff. It´s reliable but has horrible gas consumption."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

horrible mileage

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Got this vehicle in March 07 at 125000 miles. Now has 138000 miles. Transmission still going strong. Engine is one of the greatest if only it had the gas mileage of a real 6-cylinder. Overall i would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking to buy it. Only 4 starts because of gas mileage."

Excellent vehicle, poor MPG

By on Saturday, April 26, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This truck has amazing capability... but at almost $4.00 a gallon, it's gotta go. I will miss it greatly."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

tough truck

By on Saturday, March 29, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I tried to tell my wife this was a "truck" and she agreed after driving it. She loves it, and we have owned it for 8 years now. Bought it 3 yrs old with 30k miles, now it has 168k miles. The front brakes are probably the weak point, dealer pads were only lasting 20k miles. After market pads are now lasting 40k. Agree with other reviewers - doesn't need repairs often, but they are really expensive when it does. Gas mileage is around 13, with best of about 16 on the road."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

love it

By on Thursday, March 20, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 450 when it was already 10yrs old. I just love it! I wish it had a little more power, but it will go almost anywhere. As far as MPG, I have checked on other models (new and old), and this one is about as good as the rest. I plan on having this one for a long time."

A solid SUV

By on Friday, March 14, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had the LX 450 for almost 10 years and love it . It does eat a lot of gas, but nothing like my new Tundra. The positives of this vehicle could go on. The only negatives I have would be lack of 'get-up and go' and the front cabin space is a bit tight. Outside of those two issues the LX450 is a great SUV!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best except for mpg

By on Thursday, February 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"evrything on this vehicle is superb except for mpg"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Long Lasting

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"As noted in other reviews, this car is will last you forever. Purchased it used in 2001 with 65000. Now it has 136K and is still running strong. It will out tow my friends Expedition. My wife was hit in this vehicle by a new GMC truck a few years ago...Lexus 1, truck 0. Did little to our LX450, but totaled the truck. This thing is a tank. The only downside is MPG...about 13 or 14 MPG with moderate driving."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

solid and tight

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had mine since 115,000 miles and it still runs/drives like new...now has 185,000 miles (has a small oil drip, oh well) and goes off road like no other vehicle (it's a LandCruiser). Love it...just wish the gas milage was a bit better."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 06, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We purchased this car in 2001 with 50,000 miles on it. This thing was loaded and my wife wanted it right then. This has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. We change the fluids and get the recommended service but other than that we have not put another penny into this car. The only problem that I can find is that the V-6 is not very powerful. I tried to tow my boat one time and the last time. My wife plans to drive this car until it reaches 200k."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LX near Honolulu. See local deals